Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Henry School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Elsmere

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $91,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $720.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 1, 2012

We are extremely happy with our decision to go to St. Henry. We love the principal. She is approachable and outgoing and knows each student by name. (and their siblings who do not attend). Our children are very happy there. Our family has met a lot of friends and has gotten involved with a lot of activities. It is a wonderful school and great atmosphere. I highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2009

Let me tell you,I am a student at SHS I'm in the eighth grade and shs is horrible the teachers are rude, the kids are ruder and its awful. if you plan on your child having a happy K-8experience dont go through shs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 24, 2009

All 4 of my children attended St. Henry School from Kindergarten through 8th grade. The education they received from the teachers at St. Henry allowed them to begin high school fully prepared. I believe that St. Henry is a great school and would recommend to anyone who asks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2009

I have had the pleasant opportunity to send three children to St. Henry School. All three of them did very well academically. They were challenged by their teachers and held accountable for their behavior. They have gone to St. Henry District High School and are doing very well. While at St. Henry School they participated in many extra curricular activities that helped them make many good friends with whom they still remain close. I would recommend St. Henry School to anyone wanting a strong academic curriculum in a Christian environment for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2009

St. Henry has been an excellent beginning to our children's education. We couldn't ask for more caring teachers. All three of our children have different personalities and academic strengths. St. Henry has been able to meet the needs of each of them at their own levels. Through their accelerated programs my children have been given the opportunity to advance academically and gain confidence in their own abilities. The academics are just one aspect. We would not trade the religious education our children are receiving for anything. They learn not only by classroom instruction but by example. St. Henry is a strong academic shool with deep rooted christian values. An excellent choice for anyone seeking a great education for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2008

Let me preface this by saying that our son is pretty smart. St. Henry is not a good school for smart children. The teacher that we had was unresponsive to our needs and did not communicate with us ie. she moved my son up to a third grade math class without contacting us at all. The kids bullied my son and she did not tell us about it. St. Henry tuition at $4200 a year is not worth the money Mary Queen of Heaven is $1000 less. If you have an average child and don't mind blowing the money St. Henry is great, if you expect the teacher student ratio to provide special attention look elsewhere. The smartboards are neat, but the ciriculum leaves something to be desired... challenge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2008

We have been at St. Henry for seven years now and have had a wonderful experience. Our children's teachers communicated well with us concerning any issues. The school has also improved it's technology department every year since we have been there. I would recommend this school to anyone who wants a quality parochial education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2007

When I enrolled my daughter at St. Henry, it was the most horrible experience I could imagine for my family. My daughter was constantly bullied, and I contacted the teachers a number of times, and was always assured that it would be handled, but it continued for the 3 years that we stuck it out.As a parent I felt that I was even treated like I had the plague. On several occasions I would try to speak to other parents waiting to pick up their kids after school, and I was ignored. The Principal would look me right in the eye when I would say hello to him, and he would not even crack a smile.We were new to the school, and treated so terribly, that we pulled our daughter out. She was only in the 5th grade and showing signs of depression, and her grades were suffering.Horrible, Rude, Ignorant People.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 81%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 1%
Black 4% 11%
Hispanic 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Covington
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3825 Dixie Highway
Elsmere, KY 41018
Phone: (859) 342-2551

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT