Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Mary Queen Of Heaven School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Erlanger

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $91,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $720.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 17, 2009

I went to MQH from K-8th grade. I remember always feeling at home, and I always knew everyone by name. The education I received there has carried me through high school and allowed me to get into the college of my choice. MQH also provided me with a chance to participate in athletics, take computer classes, learn how to use a library, and of course, attend mass weekly. MQH provides a very unique school community in which I thrived, and it is a place I know I can always go back to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 7, 2009

I attended MQH K-8. It prepared me very well for high school and that carried over to college. Aside from academics, I was also involved in sports, Scouts and religious aspects of the school. The teachers were always caring, and the small size made it like a family. I loved my time at Mary Queen.


Posted January 5, 2009

We have had 4 children graduate from MQH. All have gone on to St Henry High School where they have excelled because of the wonderful education they received. MQH has a special atmosphere in which the children feel encouraged to do their best, to try new things, to volunteer, to broaden their interests and to explore & embrace their faith. The school has really upgraded technology so it is easier for students to learn by different teaching methods. Our children look back fondly at the years spent at MQH.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2008

Twelve years ago we joined the Mary, Queen of Heave 'family', and it has been a blessing ever since! Both of our children attended MQH. We were parishioners of another parish and when it was time for our oldest to begin first grade, they had no room. We looked at many schools and came across MQH. The very first time we walked through the doors we were greeted with warm, friendly and caring people. Our children have learned so much about their faith, and have turned out to be honor students. This can not happen without a strong foundation in education. We feel MQH has given our children every opportunity to excel both academically and socially. The past several years many advancements have taken place throughout the school in the forms of Technology, Science, and individual classrooms, which helps students be even more prepared to enter high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2008

Both of my children attended MQH School from preschool through eighth grade. They loved it there. It was like their second home and second family. When my children were just starting out in school I was so touched by how the older students would look after the little ones. It was very comforting to know they were surrounded, not only by a caring staff, but also by many genuinely nice students. The smallness of the school allowed for much personal attention, as well as opportunities my children might have been excluded from in a larger school. They were involved in scouting programs, athletics, academic team, music, mini bank, and the regional and state science fairs. The education they received in their Catholic faith was exceptional. I am always impressed by the knowledge they have of their faith, and I know MQH School had a great deal to do with that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2008

Mary, Queen of Heaven School has become a family for us. Teachers know each student personally and adjust instruction to meet each child's needs. Our little school has made so many advancements in the areas of technology, fine arts, and science, and our staff and administration are always looking for new and exciting tools and methods. Students look out for one another, and families feel invested in the school's success. I can't imagine being part of any other community, and I know my child will be a better person after receiving an education at MQH.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2008

I have had four children go through MQH over the past 12 years. While at MQH, they won awards in Religion competitions, were actively involved in sports, scouts, dance, choir, and other academic competitions. Those who have graduated have done very well in high school. Discipline is a balance of a traditional referral system and mutual respect. Just this year, this little school won First Place out of 30 counties in the NKU Regional Science Fair. But beyond the discipline, scholastics, and extracurriculars, MQH is family. People come from as far away as Indiana and Gallatin county for the small, family atmosphere. The middle school act as big brothers and big sisters to the little ones, everyone has a prayer partner in the school, the parents are very involved. Most families are actively involved in our summer festival and famous fish fry. Any school can educate; MQH does it with love.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2006

We transferred our two children to Mary Queen of Heaven School this past year with great hopes, but were sadly disappointed! We were told one thing at the open house and got something different. From drastic staff changes to textbook and curriculum changes, we were shown one thing and when the school year started, what we got was totally different. The academics were not challenging my fifth grader made straight A's easily and was bored! I thought a small class would be a plus, but the discipline was poor so it made no difference. Most importantly to me the religious education was weak. These are the three reasons we pay tuition to send our children to Catholic school academics, discipline, and catechesis! Sorry, but this school might as well have been the corner public school. We are not re- enrolling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2005

I love our little school. My children have been here for 6 years. Having bigger classes and more 'stuff' is not what makes a great school. It is all the parents, children, faculty, and the whole Parish community in all that make up this great school. Everyone greets you with a smile and treats you like you are someone and not just another number. We do offer art, music, athletics, and dance. We are excited about the upcoming year.With the new preschool and library equipment, it is going to be even nicer than it was. We offer guitar and I do believe, we will have piano lessons again. If you like the small student/teacher ratio and the 'family' feel, you will love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2004

I attended MQH K-6. It was a great school, however, there was not much variety in the classes and not enough activities. After 6th grade, I transferred to a public jr high where I joined several clubs and extracurricular activities and made great memories while doing so. I enjoyed my time at MQH, but looking back, it sheltered me of the real world. There wasn't a variety of students from different backgrounds so when I transferred to a public school, the diversity was a complete shock. I recommend MQH to students wanting a good, solid, Catholic education, but if you need more activities and clubs, MQH isn't the right school for you.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 27, 2004

Our son went to mqh 3rd, 4th and 5th... This is a great school for a youngesters catholic education. However the classes were very small for 6-8th. And the school does not offer much for a jr. High student, as far as academically or socially.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 81%
Hispanic 4% 4%
Black 2% 11%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Covington
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1130 Donaldson Highway
Erlanger, KY 41018
Phone: (859) 371-8100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





St Henry School
Elsmere, KY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT