Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fairdale High School Mca

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 1 student

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 8, 2013

I go to Fairdale High School, in Louisville Ky, and I am a junior. Though Fairdale may not have a good rep because of past violence and bad test scores, our principal, Brad Weston, is changing everything about our school. No longer are there fights everyday, they are now far and few. No more are there bad test scores, because he has created a more strict curriculum based upon how the students learn. The teachers seem to care more and so does the faculty. I've heard many people put my school down, and it genuinely bothers me because they do not know the changes Mr. Weston has made, nor do they know how we all, as a school, strive to make Fairdale top again. My advice to new students is to not become lazy and to be prepared for some serious learning. Fairdale will no longer be a name that people scrunch their faces at. Fairdale will be a school the students will be proud to graduate from; how do I know this? Simple, because I'm both excited and proud to be graduating from Fairdale.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 14, 2010

my son is a sophmore at Fairdale an my step son is a freshman.My youngest son will also attend as a freshman next year. They are both involoved ins sports at fairdale with grade point averages of a 4.0 an 4.2. The faculty and coachs are very wonderful at Fairdale. Did I mention that I also attended Fairdale? I graduated in 1994. Thanks to all the wonderful teachers at Fairdale. You are all doing a great job with our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

This school continues to break bridges every year. An accredited advanced placement school, students are being greatly prepared for further advancement and success in college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2009

I go to Fairdale High and out of school I hear alot of people say some messed up things about it, but I say it is a good school and my children are going here for high school too.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 11, 2009

I go to Fairdale and have had heared alot of people say fairdale is just a bunch of rednecks. Well people heard wrong Fairdale is a great school we strive to become better everday. The teachers are funny and awsome they all have a fun side to them. When you need help or just need to talk to someone all the staff can lend you a hand. I personaly love fairdale and it is a great school to be at.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 23, 2008

People always underestimate Fairdale. They say it is not academically successful, and the kids have no manners. As a student at Fairdale I don t see how the school received a 2 out of 10 ranking. Last year we had eight governor scholars which is a big accomplishment, and this year we hope to have more. Overall judgment of Fairdale is wrong; there are hardly any fights, racial conflicts, and/or bullying. I hear people say that Fairdale is a bad school and it is not good enough for my kid. These are false statements. People don t give us a chance. Just wait a couple years and Fairdale will be a Top Dog for academic success. We are Getting the Advance Placement program and we are already a Magnet Career Academy.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 19, 2007

Fairdale actually feels like a small town school on par with what you would see in a modern day making of the movie 'Hoosiers'. I played ball there, and saw parents in the stands who had not had children in the school in 30 years, thus is the community feel of FHS. The teachers usually start at Fairdale early in their careers and stay until the end of those careers. I went my freshman year to the big Traditional High School in Louisville, and encountered nothing but cliques and indifference from the staff the staff there unless your family was one of the powers that be in Louisville. Upon entering Fairdale for my sophomore year, I encountered nothing but small town values and an earnest interest in doing for the good for the student to help the community. I recommend being a Bulldog to anyone...
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 22, 2005

I was lucky I was in honors classes, so I think the teachers did try a little harder with us. But some teachers are just there to do a job and others don't care. But ONE teacher that stands out the most is MR.PHELPS he is the best teacher anyone could ever have he will help you in anyway possible.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 5, 2005

This is probably one of the best kept secrets in the state! It is the best school for your child. My son goes there and he started out at another school in the area that didn't compare. the parental involment and caring attitudes are second to none. It is the last of the true community schools and the warmth is felt the second you walk through the dorrs. My son was welcomed with open arms and has been treated with nothing but respect and care. The other Jeff co. school he attended as a freshman was not as caring or as accademicaly challenging. You can tell a great school when the teachers actualy stay there. This is the case at this school. I rank it #1 in the county.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 51% in 2013.

286 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
24%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 36% in 2013.

248 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
30%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

217 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
32%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students32%
Female31%
Male33%
African American18%
Asiann/a
Hispanic16%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White37%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilities8%
English language learners4%

Writing

All Students19%
Female24%
Male16%
African American15%
Asiann/a
Hispanic15%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White22%
Economically disadvantaged19%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learners5%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Writing

All Students49%
Female62%
Male40%
African American22%
Asiann/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities15%
English language learners12%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 46% in 2011.

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
26%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2011.

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
40%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2011.

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
27%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 41% in 2011.

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
21%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 41% in 2011.

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 36% in 2013.

246 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
36%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 36% in 2013.

211 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
17%
English II

The state average for English II was 56% in 2013.

244 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
38%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 51% in 2013.

184 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
22%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

All Students32%
Female33%
Male32%
African American23%
Asiann/a
Hispanic27%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White36%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learners13%

Biology I

All Students43%
Female46%
Male41%
African American9%
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White51%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities28%
English language learners8%

English II

All Students40%
Female44%
Male37%
African American24%
Asiann/a
Hispanic28%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White46%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Students with disabilities5%
English language learners6%

U.S. History

All Students38%
Female34%
Male41%
African American20%
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White44%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learners0%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
49%
of schools in the state are Average
29%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20141What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20142What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


College readiness rating 20143What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

1 This rating is based on 2012-13 K-PREP and EOC results from the Kentucky Department of Education.

2 This rating is based 2012-13 median growth percentiles from the Kentucky Department of Education.

3 This rating is based on average composite ACT scores and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 81%
Black 20% 11%
Hispanic 10% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 68%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1001 Fairdale Rd
Fairdale, KY 40118
Phone: (502) 485-8248

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



De Sales High School
Louisville, KY


Southern High School
Louisville, KY



Pitt Academy
Louisville, KY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT