Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

A M Yealey Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 18, 2014

A. M. Yealey is a great school with hard working teachers and staff members that really care about the whole child. The students are challenged according to their levels and teachers prepare students with college readiness skills.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 11, 2013

I have had NUMEROUS incidents where the school office staff has lost emergency paperwork and or pick up lists. They are rude when you point out that a mistake was made and they are not very helpful when trying to call for school info such as specific events or dates ect. Would not reccommend this school to anyone. The school board knows whats going on and hopefully they will help to improve things around there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2012

This is the BEST school i have ever went too. I am now at Ockerman Middle School. They are a pretty good but Yealey hits the top notch. I would recommend it the staff and students are so well.


Posted September 13, 2011

This is my child's first year and Yealey and already, this experience has been great! His school teacher this year is AWESOME! She updates us on our child's progress in a timely manner and makes us truly feel like a part of our child's learning team. As a parent, I truly believe that the Yealey Teachers and Staff have my child's best interest in mind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2010

I agree with other reviewers concerning teacher and staff apathy. Teachers seem to be only concerned with passing, not improving, problem students. We actually had teacher tell us that our daughter was "at least one I don't have to teach much" because she performs above average. I think I want teachers who are excited about teaching all students. PTA cliquey - I work a full time job, I don't have time to volunteer to do copies just so the teachers will listen to me about my child, but too many of us believe that is what it takes. The school has a raging bullying problem. Not only has my child been threatened in class that she will be harmed if she does not do others work but the teacher actually makes her assist students. Several moms all claim the same but teachers wont listen and we cant get principal
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

If you would like a school where as a parent you can be involved in your child's education, this is not the school for you. The staff talk to you however they would like and the administration does not do anything about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2010

I also agree with the other posting. The faculty is aloud to talk to you any way they would like and if you are not apart of the clique then you are not welcomed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2010

how awsome is this school so nice to students and handles any issues with parents or children i would rate this school over ten like ten million
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

Don't like it that the principal and some teachers haven't wanted there to be alot of parent involvement. Alot of parents have pulled away from the school because of this and it is a darn shame! We are way below the other elementary schools in our area when it comes to the number of volunteers and volunteer hours. If you want to be involved with your childs school this is not the place to put your kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2008

We love this school and we're looking forward to putting our second child through.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2007

Fourth grade teaching faculty not the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2005

This will be our third year at Yealey Elementary. Yealey is by far one of the best elementary schools in Boone County! You feel the positive vibes as soon as you walk into the school. The principal is great! She does her best to get to know each parent and student. The teachers are highly skilled and take their jobs very seriously. We have many, many parents that are extremely involved and volunteer continuously! The best part is the teachers and the parents work together as a team to help our students achieve! You just can't find a better school - Yealey rocks!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 54% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 49% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 47% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
55%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 59% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
61%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 36% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
41%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students52%
Female51%
Male53%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students56%
Female67%
Male45%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students60%
Female72%
Male50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities15%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students53%
Female54%
Male52%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities23%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students53%
Female64%
Male43%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities8%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students67%
Female70%
Male65%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities46%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students58%
Female60%
Male57%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities20%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students62%
Female60%
Male63%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities30%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Social Studies

All Students66%
Female58%
Male71%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities30%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students39%
Female56%
Male26%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White37%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilities10%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2011.

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2011.

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
87%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
55%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
49%
of schools in the state are Average
29%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20141What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20142What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 K-PREP and EOC results from the Kentucky Department of Education.

2 This rating is based 2012-13 median growth percentiles from the Kentucky Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 81%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 1%
Black 4% 11%
Hispanic 3% 4%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 32%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10 Yealey Dr
Florence, KY 41042
Phone: (859) 282-3333

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Heritage Academy
Florence, KY



St Paul School
Florence, KY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT