Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Boone County High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 14, 2014

This is my first year at this school (2014) and I like the teachers but I find the school to be really nasty


Posted April 23, 2014

Its not even worth a star this school is the most disgusting and pathetic excuse for a school I have not learned anything I check my seat before I sit down just to make sure there's not a freaking bug in it everyone you ask will agree that this school is never clean not once have I seen a janitor cleaning and I've been here 2 years. If you get stuck having to go to Boone you're doomed its a dead end school that's why I'm getting out while I still have a chance to have a future.


Posted April 2, 2014

Our family has always had "HUGE" team spirit for the Rebels. I graduated in the 80's from BCHS. My oldest son graduated in 2012. Currently our middle child is attending Boone. All of the staff and teachers have been exceptional to say the least, with very good communication by calling/email/meetings....etc. Boone County always offer several different programs to help/serve students as well as parents. Our motto is to know that we are not special, that we must work to make ourselves special and always reach for the stars......as we do!! Thank you to ALL at Boone County, we love you very much!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2014

There is a serious problem at this school with anti-Muslim prejudice and discrimination. Some teachers and administrators are nice, but some are very discriminatory. This is unacceptable as there is a new demographic in the Northern Kentucky area and there are many recent Muslim immigrants as well as the children of converted Muslims. They deserve the same consideration as the middle class white students. 30 years ago there was a problem with teacher-admin discrimination against black students. Does the fact that some of the Muslim students are black have anything to do with the problem?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2013

Boone County high school is only focused on punishment and sports, its dirty and the teachers do not teach anything. No extra credit opportunities are giving to those who need it/ deserve it. and I have yet to meet a staff member who is not abusing their authority. Also the failure rate is increasingly going up. Freshman Academy is not what it is made out to be. Yes if you work you can manage a good grade, but we should not all be Busing our buts to barley pass with a D- if you attend the schookl more that 3/4ths of the students agree.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 14, 2012

Boone county high school is one of the best. The staff is very concerned with my sons progress and I have never had any issues with getting in contact with any member of the staff be it a teacher, counselor or principal. My son is currently in the 11th grade and we are very involved with his education and meet twice a year to make sure he is on track to graduate and meet his goals. I have never been made to felt uncomfortable or treated badly because of my involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2012

BCHS is an amazing school. BCHS has so much to offer as long as the student is willing to put fourth the effort to actually try. I took many advanced courses my senior year that helped me greatly in college I've met numerous people who didn't have half the opportunities that BCHS provided (course wise) provided for me. The teachers are great and willing to help- need to get to know them. My only complaint has always been the student body acting immature, making it difficult to enjoy class. I find a few of the rules such as being in the hall 1 second after the bell resulting in a penalty as being a bit meticulous. Either way, it is a good school-make the best of your education and you'll go far.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 4, 2011

Boone County is a terrible school. There are only a few select teachers that will teach and make the students strive to become something greater. Most of the teachers that have tenure fell as if they no longer are required to do work, they are more like ornaments. The school is dirty, and has problems with pest including cockroaches and mice. At one point we played a game to see when the cockroach in a classroom would die. The school focuses most of it's money into sports, when much of that money should be spent on adding classrooms. the administration has no control,
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 17, 2010

As new transplants, I am happy my daughter has integrated fully and is enjoying BCHS; her teachers especially! HOWEVER-I am very disappointed in one member of the guidance staff who unfortunately is assigned to my daughter's grade level. During the summer, I made every effort to ensure there were no glitches with enrollment. I was told the Counselor would call to schedule an enrollment meeting. The guidance counselor never returned my calls and ignored my husband when he went to the school ( too busy ). It wasn t until I contacted the Principal the afternoon before school started that anything was done-then she told the principal she had left me a message! My daughter did not get to start on the first day-because after finally getting her enrolled-the counselor took a lunch break and sent someone else to tell us she could not find a student to take her to her classes. This counselor seemed uncaring, disinterested, and appeared to resent my persistence. I did not tell her that I am certified Guidance Counselor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

i loved my few months at Boone i made great friends and my teachers were very helpful **previous student (transfered out)


Posted September 9, 2009

I liked going to boone county it has great teachers and principals
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 26, 2009

As a BCHS teacher, I care about the well being of my students, intellectually, mentally and physically. I can tell you with no uncertainty, the same holds true for my teacher peers. The BCHS student population is as diverse as it is intelligent and creative. They are (with few exceptions) courteous and respectful. While some students require more time and motivation than others, most are ready and willing to become participants in their own learning. The students of BCHS desire the same things from life as the rest of us: They want to be respected, valued for their talents and potential, and treated fairly. At BCHS, we challenge students to consider their (and other's) ways of thinking, to consider the way in which they value and evaluate, to ferret out and identify personal connections with the curriculum. I am proud of my students. I am proud to be BCHS teacher.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 16, 2009

I lived in Florence ky most my life i think its an ok school , most of teachers are nice and they try to keep you on track they are kinda strict,they dont accept any bullying tolerated thats good, the food could be better, more heathy with better options i think they should have other sports beside basketball , volley ball etc.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 29, 2008

Boone County is a GREAT high school with a fantastic caring staff and friendly students. I could not be happier with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2008

Can't see any teaching being done for all the corruption and disrespect with not only each other but the teachers as well. Fighting is not only upsetting but affecting the learning atmosphere. All the daily corruptions are swept under the rug and on to the next class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2007

My son is a soph/jr, he doesn't have enough credits to officially be a Jr. In the 8th grade he went to Holmes Jr/Sr High School. He was on the A/B honor roll. My goal was to get him into Boone because I assumed it was a better school, in every aspect. He failed 9th grade. I also agree that there needs to be more parent involvement, but everytime I have been to the school, for any reason, I was made to feel unwelcome, like I shouldn't be there. I feel my son would have gotten a better education at Holmes. But now we're in the home stretch...our only goal now is for him to graduate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2006

I am also a parent of TWO seniors and one sophomore and my husband graduated there. The principle's job IS to be seen and to be accessible at all times. The goal should be education, not discipline so the comment about asst. principles is out of order. This is a school to 'get by' not one for preparation of life. Boone County needs a voucher system for private schools because my tax dollars aren't serving us well. My answer is not to go elsewhere but rather to ensure what I pay for is utilized in the best interest of educating our future leaders.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2005

This school is what I would call an average school. I've been to schools in Vermont and Indiana, so I've seen several different systems and have been involved with more than one kind of administration. Boone's problematic administration is not rooted within it's principal so much as the lack of parent involvement. About one out of 10 student's Mum and Dad go to any sort of meeting at school. Most teacher's are not even present at parents night because they know they'll only be visited by one or two parents, if any at all. The administration has nothing to hold itself to because nobody cares enough to wonder how their kid's day went. Fights occur somewhat often, and the attidude of the students encourages it. Faculty has a policy where combatants are simply thrown out rather than councilled, and thusly the problem is 'swept under the rug' rather than fixed.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 29, 2005

While I agree with the two reviews that say you get out of school what you put in it, I agree with the students point of view more. I have no confidence in the administration at all. I've had several problems with different principals and have only see the head principal once and she only spoke about 2 words. My daughter does not complain about the other students, it's the the principals and some of the teachers (not all). Two in particular are complete idiots. They don't teach, they have no control over their classes and my daughter learned nothing. And by all means, don't call the office and speak to a principal about a problem. Nothing will be done and they will make you feel like you have no business calling. Change the administration and the school could be saved. Don't, and there's no hope.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2005

It makes me mad to see what some people write about our school on here, as a student i am at school every day and really enjoy it as well as many other students. The sports teams are good and the principals try hard to keep us safe. I have noticed many of the students that do not enjoy themselves at school are the ones that do not care and that do not to try to get involved or make friends, if you dont even try or seem interested at all then that is no ones problem but yourself you get out of it what you put it no one can make you have fun and get involved if you wont even give it a try.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 51% in 2013.

322 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 36% in 2013.

308 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

313 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students50%
Female60%
Male41%
African American29%
Asiann/a
Hispanic6%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students36%
Female42%
Male31%
African American29%
Asiann/a
Hispanic13%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White39%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilities10%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Writing

All Students63%
Female74%
Male53%
African American47%
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities16%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 46% in 2011.

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2011.

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2011.

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
53%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 41% in 2011.

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
55%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 41% in 2011.

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
37%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 36% in 2013.

288 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
42%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 36% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
57%
English II

The state average for English II was 56% in 2013.

321 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
59%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 51% in 2013.

334 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

All Students31%
Female24%
Male37%
African American27%
Asiann/a
Hispanic21%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White32%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Students with disabilities8%
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students56%
Female68%
Male46%
African American42%
Asiann/a
Hispanic21%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities23%
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Students68%
Female66%
Male71%
African American71%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
49%
of schools in the state are Average
29%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20141What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20142What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


College readiness rating 20143What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

1 This rating is based on 2012-13 K-PREP and EOC results from the Kentucky Department of Education.

2 This rating is based 2012-13 median growth percentiles from the Kentucky Department of Education.

3 This rating is based on average composite ACT scores and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 81%
Black 7% 11%
Hispanic 6% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 37%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7056 Burlington Pk
Florence, KY 41042
Phone: (859) 282-5655

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Alternative Center
Florence, KY


Heritage Academy
Florence, KY


Lloyd High School
Erlanger, KY




Dixie Heights High School
Fort Mitchell, KY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT