Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
37 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 54 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Boone County High School 1

Posted April 18, 2016
- a student
This school is disgusting, the teachers are almost all terrible, the lunch food is horrid, and this is the filthiest institution I've ever been in.

Boone County High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 26, 2015
- a parent
Ms. Sutton is an excellent teacher and leader. Also Mrs. Barnhill is wonderful as well.


Boone County High School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted November 26, 2015
- a parent
I have had three kids in Boone County Schools, one of which attends Boone County High and one who graduated from there. Both of my high schoolers greatly dislike BCHS. There are a few good teachers there, especially the AP history teacher Ms. Sutton is particularly excellent. She single handedly made my son love history. Also the choir director is fantastic. Unfortunately, other teachers and staff seem to only be there for a paycheck. They don't seem to care whether the work is done or not and are certainly not invested in there students future. Sports regularly takes precedence over academics. There is little to no school pride for academic excellence, instead focusing mostly on athletics. This pertains to social media coverage as well. Their forensics team made it to state last year I believe but there was no school pride shown towards it. Also, the choir did excellent as well but no mention of it, but I seem to get a tweet every time the volleyball team wins. The school is dirty. I regularly hear of mice and roaches from my kids. A good portion of the lockers are messed up and no longer function. They are also too small for my kids to wear a winter coat. They have to be put in a locker as wearing coats in school is not allowed for security reasons. This is especially problematic when some of the classrooms require a walk outside to get to. The school is also desperately in need of renovation, especially for the auditorium. The gym is fantastic, go figure. The rest of the school is in bad shape. It's especially apparent when BCHS is compared to Cooper or Ryle. Fights are a common occurrence and nothing seems to be done about it. A lot of behavior can be attributed to parent's teaching there kids to respect authority, but the school plays a part in this as well. Bullying also seems to be a problem at BCHS, and nothing is done about it. I know kids are going to be kids but some of the stories I've heard are ridiculous. BCHS is bad enough that we're seriously thinking about asking for a special pass to have our kids go to Cooper instead. I'm more than willing to drive them everyday if need be to be sure they get the education they deserve in a clean and safe environment, and we just don't feel that BCHS is capable of doing that.

Boone County High School 1

Posted November 26, 2015
- a parent
I have had three kids in Boone County Schools, one of which attends Boone County High and one who graduated from there. Both of my high schoolers greatly dislike BCHS. There are a few good teachers there, especially the AP history teacher Ms. Sutton is particularly excellent. She single handedly made my son love history. Also the choir director is fantastic. Unfortunately, other teachers and staff seem to only be there for a paycheck. They don't seem to care whether the work is done or not and are certainly not invested in there students future. Sports regularly takes precedence over academics. There is little to no school pride for academic excellence, instead focusing mostly on athletics. This pertains to social media coverage as well. Their forensics team made it to state last year I believe but there was no school pride shown towards it. Also, the choir did excellent as well but no mention of it, but I seem to get a tweet every time the volleyball team wins. The school is dirty. I regularly hear of mice and roaches from my kids. A good portion of the lockers are messed up and no longer function. They are also too small for my kids to wear a winter coat. They have to be put in a locker as wearing coats in school is not allowed for security reasons. This is especially problematic when some of the classrooms require a walk outside to get to. The school is also desperately in need of renovation, especially for the auditorium. The gym is fantastic, go figure. The rest of the school is in bad shape. It's especially apparent when BCHS is compared to Cooper or Ryle. Fights are a common occurrence and nothing seems to be done about it. A lot of behavior can be attributed to parent's teaching there kids to respect authority, but the school plays a part in this as well. Bullying also seems to be a problem at BCHS, and nothing is done about it. I know kids are going to be kids but some of the stories I've heard are ridiculous. BCHS is bad enough that we're seriously thinking about asking for a special pass to have our kids go to Cooper instead. I'm more than willing to drive them everyday if need be to be sure they get the education they deserve in a clean and safe environment, and we just don't feel that BCHS is capable of doing that.

Boone County High School 1

Posted June 30, 2015
- a student
Honestly, I believe this schools may be one of the worst. Not because we have poor education (although there are a few teachers who need to work on their teaching abilities) But because of the treatment of certain groups of students. With groups such as sports players, I've noticed they are regarded highly but with other students, Such as kids who i guess you could called the people who don't fit into a specific group, are treated with such disrespect it's ridiculous. At this school there is little to no action when it comes to bullying. There are fights near everyday and virtually nothing is done. There are no programs or repercussions or anything, only punishments that are akin to a slap on the wrist. Quite frankly, I am sincerely glad i will be graduating this year. I am glad to leave this institution called a proper "school", which is indeed very much not a correct title.


Boone County High School 3

Posted August 14, 2014
- a community member
This is my first year at this school (2014) and I like the teachers but I find the school to be really nasty

Boone County High School 1

Posted April 23, 2014
- a community member
Its not even worth a star this school is the most disgusting and pathetic excuse for a school I have not learned anything I check my seat before I sit down just to make sure there's not a freaking bug in it everyone you ask will agree that this school is never clean not once have I seen a janitor cleaning and I've been here 2 years. If you get stuck having to go to Boone you're doomed its a dead end school that's why I'm getting out while I still have a chance to have a future.

Boone County High School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
Our family has always had "HUGE" team spirit for the Rebels. I graduated in the 80's from BCHS. My oldest son graduated in 2012. Currently our middle child is attending Boone. All of the staff and teachers have been exceptional to say the least, with very good communication by calling/email/meetings....etc. Boone County always offer several different programs to help/serve students as well as parents. Our motto is to know that we are not special, that we must work to make ourselves special and always reach for the stars......as we do!! Thank you to ALL at Boone County, we love you very much!!


Boone County High School 2

Posted March 07, 2014
- a parent
There is a serious problem at this school with anti-Muslim prejudice and discrimination. Some teachers and administrators are nice, but some are very discriminatory. This is unacceptable as there is a new demographic in the Northern Kentucky area and there are many recent Muslim immigrants as well as the children of converted Muslims. They deserve the same consideration as the middle class white students. 30 years ago there was a problem with teacher-admin discrimination against black students. Does the fact that some of the Muslim students are black have anything to do with the problem?

Boone County High School 1

Posted April 03, 2013
- a student
Boone County high school is only focused on punishment and sports, its dirty and the teachers do not teach anything. No extra credit opportunities are giving to those who need it/ deserve it. and I have yet to meet a staff member who is not abusing their authority. Also the failure rate is increasingly going up. Freshman Academy is not what it is made out to be. Yes if you work you can manage a good grade, but we should not all be Busing our buts to barley pass with a D- if you attend the schookl more that 3/4ths of the students agree.

Nearby schools

Boone County High School
7056 Burlington Pk, Florence, KY  41042
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 54 reviews. (859) 282-5655
Last modified Boone County High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top