Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Beechwood Elementary School 1

Posted July 18, 2014
- a parent
The school is an old boys/girls network. The Elementary Administration is horrible. Horrible from Vice Principal up to the Superintendent. They run the school like a class reunion and pout/mope anytime real positive change happens. My child hasn't had a year where the teacher hasn't been on maternity leave due to the practice of hiring young, inexperienced Beechwood alumni over qualified and experienced teachers with proven track records to a point of giving interview questions to friends in advance of the interviews. If you send your kids here, be sure to get in the right social circle, and I don't mean the children. You must be part of the Admin/Parent 'in crowd'. In addition to the other comments, the priorities for the school are 1. Football 2. Elementary Admin/Parent history i.e Beechwood grad 3. Size of bank account (check not saving) 4. Child participation in extracurricular activities and finally education. Very disappointing.

Beechwood Elementary School 3

Posted May 07, 2012
- a parent
Beechwood is a very "fit the mold" kind of school. The children of parents with more money get the most attention. This school has no patience for children who need more help with behavior or academics issues. The school does subtle things to push those kids out of the district. If you do not "fit the mold" you will not have an easy time at this school. However, that is more reason to go here, because this school needs to change their approach to children and end their discrimination to those who don't fit into their mainstream world.. If you are strong and are willing to advocate for your child, then please do so at this school. With all that being said, some of the staff are really great:, you'll know who they are:) Also, keep in mind that the higher test scores and great schools scores does not mean this will be the best school for your child. It is easier to get high test scores when the school embraces children that they don't have to put much effort into helping, and push out the rest. If you know how test scores work in the school system, then you will know it is much more difficult for a school to get the highest test scores when they have so many students who need help.


Beechwood Elementary School 5

Posted April 06, 2010
- a parent
My husband and I made a move to Ft. Mitchell this year in order to have our children attend Beechwood. I could not be happier with our decision! Our daughter is in 2nd grade and doing extremely well. Parents are very involved, which is awesome. The teachers and staff have been great and the acedemics have been very impressive!

Beechwood Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted November 07, 2008
- a parent
Beechwood is ran by those with all the money. They continue to put sports before education, play favorites and sweep problems under the rug. Now they are flexing their muscles and tearing down homes for a parking lot! Shame on you Beechwood!

Beechwood Elementary School 1

Posted September 22, 2008
- a parent
You are so right. I believe that the school lives off the fact that the parents in the community are hands on parents that take good care of their kids. The repercussions from the parent involvement are that it makes the school look good. The School is very overrated in my opinion. The Special Education Program is very disappointing too. They don't have the funds to help your children the way a bigger county school can. If your son plays football, go to Beechwood; otherwise, do yourself and child a favor and do your homework before choosing Beechwood.


Beechwood Elementary School 1

Posted September 11, 2008
- a parent
After hearing for so many years what a fabulous school system Ft. Mitchell has, I was very disappointed with my son's K-class. His reading scores actually regressed while there! I made a change after such a lackluster year and found a better program for my child, who finished the first grade with a third grade reading level. It just wasn't happening at Beechwood!

Beechwood Elementary School 5

Posted February 07, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Beechwood Elementary School 4

Posted January 28, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Beechwood Elementary School 5

Posted January 18, 2008
- a community member
One of the best if not THE BEST school in Northern KY.

Beechwood Elementary School 5

Posted December 07, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Beechwood Elementary School
54 Beechwood Rd, Fort Mitchell, KY  41017
(859) 331-1220
Last modified Beechwood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Beechwood Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top