Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Frankfort, KY

5 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Capital Day School 4

Posted November 02, 2014
- a parent
My son attended Capital Day School, and had a remarkable experience. After firth attending public school, CDS brought him out of his shell and he became vibrant and alive! Capital Day School's small teacher to student ratio, caring staff members, attention to academic excellence, and opportunities for extracurricular involvement all contributed to his success! Capital Day School will give your child the individualized education they deserve!

Capital Day School 2

Posted March 07, 2013
- a parent
There is more concentrated effort, but the school is behind the times with languages, drama, music, art. German is preferred as a scientific language and has been for about 100 years. Spanish is useless globally as the language of business is English and Chinese. Drama, art is useless for a child's future and can be leaned by one class every 2 weeks. There is insufficient focus on computers, IT, software, programming - only one teacher. All students should have a lap top and use in school for all classes. By dealing with passe fine arts and limiting focus on the future: math, science, technology; languages: Chinese, German, Russian, Arabic the school is living in the past. When was the last time you heard French being spoken. When you attended a business meeting in Mexico the business was conducted in English, just like Chile, Costa Rica, Argentina, etc. Parents need to think in a world view and that is clearly not apparent by the reviews. Compared to the average Ky school Capital is superior. It just needs updating and modernization and focus on a global perspective.


Capital Day School 5

Posted November 01, 2011
- a parent
Capital Day School is the school for your children if you want a quality education. This school has excellent teachers and caring staff members. With a low student to teacher ratio, your child with enjoy a challenging curriculum with the focus on being educated, not just passing tests. Capital Day School offers not only core classes, but enrichment classes such as Art, P.E., Technology and Music - they even still have recess. Your child will be well prepared to take advanced classes once graduating from CDS. From preschool age 3 to 8th grade, you will want to keep your child at Capital Day.

Capital Day School 0
no rating

Posted April 21, 2010
- a parent
My children have been attending Capital Day School since preschool. I am always impressed but the information that my children teach me. The small class size in addition to the loving, nurturing environment make this school a great investment in my children's future.

Capital Day School 5

Posted April 21, 2010
- a parent
Capital Day School provides an environment of academic excellence where students learn a great deal of self-discipline, compassion for others and respect. The teachers are diligent in working with students to ensure that each individual is challenged to his/her highest ability. It is a warm and caring environment where students feel safe and can focus their efforts on their studies.


Capital Day School 5

Posted February 05, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Capital Day School 5

Posted September 18, 2005
- a parent
My daughter graduated from Capital Day School after attending since Kindergarten. We were extremely pleased with the quality of the educational experience. It is a wonderful school with a caring faculty. My son is still there, and we are very pleased with his experience as well.

Capital Day School 5

Posted September 10, 2005
- a former student
I recently graduated from Capital Day, and I believe it has given me a great head start on high school and beyond. Every teacher is outstanding; the academic program is rigorous, yet rewarding. Students and parents are very active in extra-curricular activities. Four sports are offered for boys & girls, and many other clubs are available as well. The academic team recently won fifth place in quick recall at the state competition!


Capital Day School 5

Posted February 19, 2005
- a parent
I believe this school has given both of my daughters a very strong foundation in their education. They have learned to think for themselves. My oldest had some problems, but the teachers worked with her and realized she is a visual and very creative student. She is doing very well in high school taking honors and AP classes. Patsy Ekers

Capital Day School 5

Posted September 01, 2004
- a parent
I love it! The children that CDS helps to develope are above average members of the community. Small class size, Parents, Teachers staff and students rally get to know each other. It is a challenge academically for the children. Though this is not a religious school the children grow up with morals, faith and confidence to believe in themselves as well as what they believe.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Capital Day School
120 Deepwood Drive, Frankfort, KY  40601
(502) 227-7121
Last modified Capital Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Capital Day School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top