Advertisement
Advertisement

The Frankfort Christian Academy

Private | PK-12 | 299 students

Our school is best known for our sound Biblical teaching and academics.
 
 

 
 

Living in Frankfort

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $116,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $587.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 8, 2014

TFCA is a fantastic, growing school with a Biblical focus. I have one sone in Kindergarten and another in pre-school. The attention each one of them receives from their teachers is important to me as they begin their journey in education. As they both started school at the beginning of the year it was awesome receiving personal emails from their teachers that included pictures and updates. It helped put my mind at ease knowing they were learning, safe, and having fun! TFCA has a great faculty and administrative team. What really impresses me is their desire to not only be good in the present but their desire to be excellent in the future. There is such great vision at TFCA and I am glad my boys get to be a part of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2014

A wonderful school with caring teachers and administrators that not only focus on my child's academic well being, but also his spiritual well being. My child has attended since Kindergarten and is currently in the sixth grade. I can't imagine him attending anywhere else. I have also been blessed to work here for the past three years.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 7, 2014

TFCA is an amazing school and I don't want my girls anywhere else. From the cheerful, thorough janitor, to the quirky, smart and caring office staff, every single employee is top notch in every category. Most employees have students enrolled. All of them treat kids and parents like they are part of the family. The teachers are phenomenal. Every one of them is a caring, amazing, genuine person who goes out of their way for each and every one of the students; including advanced reading/math assignments when your student is ahead of the class, making assignments fun in a way unique to each kid's individual personality, and always an open door for parent concerns. The principal is kind, firm, personable and does everything in her power and more to advance the school building, enrollment, education and advancement opportunities for the students--in revolutionary and out of the box ways. The prize money would help the school attain funds needed to make necessary repairs and expand classroom space for the many new students anticipated next year. The positive & family-oriented pulse of TFCA embraces families enrolled there and gives both families and students the very best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2013

Top notch school. Great principal & administrative leadership and teachers who not only care about the students, but teachers who have a passion for teaching. My daughter enrolled at TFCA in PK4 and is now a sophomore in high school. It's the best decision we ever made. We credit TFCA for building moral character and for providing a challenging academic environment as well. I
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2013

TFCA is made up of a truly amazing group of students, teachers, and staff. In the midst of outstanding academics is an atmosphere of love and joy that only exists in the light of Jesus. It has been my honor to work among some of the best teachers I've ever encountered, and a blessing to serve along side incredible parents whose number one priority is to raise up their children in the Lord.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 8, 2013

We are very pleased with the progress our children have made at TFCA. The classes have been challenging for the most part and a lot of effort is being made to really Individualize education. Teachers really care about students and reinforce the Christian values we are teaching at home. The school is making a lot of technological improvements and offering some great extra-curricular opportunities for students of all ages.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2009

Great school. OIne teacher gives way too much honework and way too many quizzes / tests thinking that their student only has one class one teacher and can devote 100% of their time to one subject., beyond that the school is very advanced and your student can expect to be working very hard in order to keep up with their class. No a school for average / below average capabilitiy. Very demanding. Lots of homework.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2008

Excellent christian learning environment with caring teachers and administrators.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 85%
Asian 3% N/A
Black 3% 11%
Hispanic 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Rock band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Kim Burgess
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (502) 695-8725

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Archery
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Archery, Dance Team
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Rock band
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA)
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1349A US 421 South
Frankfort, KY 40601
Website: Click here
Phone: (502) 695-0744

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Good Shepherd School
Frankfort, KY




The Academy
Frankfort, KY



Elkhorn Middle School
Frankfort, KY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT