Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public
Frankfort, KY

3 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Franklin County High School 2

Posted October 03, 2009
- a student
Although it is a public school, Franklin County can challenge you just as much as any of the private schools my friends attend. It allows you opportunities to excel, and many students have taken these opportunties. In 2009, two students were accepted to Harvard which is unprecedented in a community such as ours. Each year we have several National Merit semifinalists, and for a small community school, I think this makes our school any amazing school.

Franklin County High School 1

Posted April 14, 2007
- a parent
The academic programs are good but not great, and the teachers aren't willing to allow the students to get a good education. Music, art, and sports as well as extracurricular activities are good for students, but not as good as they should be among the other schools in Frankfort, or Franklin County,Ky. There's not really any use for parent involvment because no one follows through on the good things, or what the students are interested in.


Franklin County High School 4

Posted December 13, 2006
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Franklin County High School 3

Posted March 16, 2006
- a former student
FCHS is a high school that allows those who want to succeed to have the proper tools. If a student actually tries in their classes, attends every class and participates, they will shine through. Every single teacher does not have the desire to teach, but this is mostly do to their past experinces of dealing with students who are not willing to put forth any effort or dealing with the parents of those children. There are extraordinary teachers at this school who will go the extra mile for those who want to learn and succeed. Student wise there is a variety of different social groups, ethnicities, intelligence levels and monetary backgrounds. The teens that require extra discipline are attended to, but this tends to hold back the abilities of the good teens to do their daily and extracurricular activities.

Franklin County High School 3

Posted May 03, 2005
- a parent
I have found Franklin County High School to be lacking in numerous areas. The education is sub par and the faculty, with the exception of a few wonderful people, have proven to care very little about academics or the kids at the school. Far too much emphasis is given to sports and the coaches are given too much power.


Franklin County High School 1

Posted March 01, 2005
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Franklin County High School 0
no rating

Posted September 07, 2004
- a parent
I personally have not heard anything positive about this school. I think that the lack of support for the Track and Field team is awful. My daughter participated as an eight grader and I did not notice much support from the 'higher up' associated with Franklin County. Also, I would like to note that I have not seen alot being done to promote diversity within this school. What is being done to increase that? Could you please tell me what is being offered to the African American community or other nationalities for that matter? Where can I get the assurance that my child will receive a better than good education? What support systems are available? Education (scholarship) counselors? Life skills coaches, etc. I need to know that if my child needs assistance or support, in/for anything that she will receive the best that Franklin County has to offer!

Franklin County High School 2

Posted May 23, 2004
- a student
Money culture at this school is ridiculous. With students coming here from subdivisions such as Two Creeks and Country Club Heights, the 'Cash is King' mentality seems to dominate the social world. The student body is fairly homogenous, although the number of international students adds to diversity. The teachers there are average at best. The academic programs are weak do to limited board funding. Strong emphasis on the arts, excellent band and choir programs. FCHS doesn't do as well as Western Hills though on standardized testing and other measures such as the number of Governor's Scholars and National Merit Finalists/Semifinalists.


Franklin County High School 5

Posted April 19, 2004
- a parent
Franklin County High School provides a comprehensive curriculum with courses of interest to all types and abilities of students. The teachers are top-notch: caring and capable. And the students leave well-prepared for the next step, whether that's the workplace, vocational/technical education, or college.

Franklin County High School 1

Posted April 12, 2004
- a student
Teachers at FCHS are more concerned with getting along with the students instead of teaching! There is too much favoratism, discipline is favored among students. We are not rewarded for our efforts, so we do not strive to succeed. FCHS needs to lay off the 'we're the best', and strive for whats best for the students, not the school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Franklin County High School
1100 East Main St, Frankfort, KY  40601
(502) 695-6750
Last modified Franklin County High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Franklin County High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top