Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Eastern Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 3, 2012

We had a second grader with a teacher who could not properly correct papers, all subjects included. I had to REGRADE everything my child brought home, and show my child how to do everything she was supposed to be learning in school. NO SMART BOARDS. This school cant compete with ANY school. NO extra curricular activities sent home other than a 1000 dollar YMCA membership. And DON'T make the teacher mad, she will exclude you from class parties and parent days completely ignoring your emails. If you want to talk to the principal, he will cross his arms, lean back in his chair, and stick up for her, saying he "believes" she did everything she could. Is your child feeling distracted by noise in the classroom?? Tell this second grade teacher, and she will ask how can you expect her to control 22 children at the same time.SERIOUSLY. Then she will SINGLE out YOUR child and make her move her desk from the class, instead of simply controlling HER classroom. Because when 21 children are having fun, why does just ONE have the right to an education? This school was a major disappointment. We left the state becase of it. WISH I could post teachers name.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2012

I believe this school is great. Great teachers and principal. Some reviewers say the teachers have poor communication with parents. As a whole, that is not true. Individual teachers may, but not the whole school. The only lacking aspect is extra-curricular activities. There are no spelling bees, science fairs or very many clubs/teams. They have the academic team, performing arts club, and percussion ensemble and that is it. I don't think it is the primary responsibility of the elementary school to challenge advanced/gifted students. There may be 1-2 children that fall into that category in the classroom. But, there are 25-26 more students in the class that are on track. The teacher has to spend the majority of her time on the required elements for that grade level. I would put it into the parent's hands to provide the student with additional learning opportunities outside the classroom. We need to remember that parents are teachers too. School should not be the only source of your children's learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2012

Being parents who are highly involved, know educational laws and rights, and have previously attended highly effective schools, we were beyond disappointed with the efficacy of Eastern Elementary. Specifically moving to this school based upon reviews and local recommendations (in spite of the building condition and lack of formal welcoming procedure), we soon found that they fail miserably with professional communication/ organization and with stimulating advanced students. When such issues were addressed (not to mention numerous other areas of unethical practices), the principal defended the mediocre efforts of school personnel at the expense of the children's benefit; in other words, there was no interest in improvement. Consequently, we withdrew.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2011

We moved from Lexington 21/2 years ago and I loved this school from the start. They remembered my daughter from the day we came to visit the school; we came from a school where the principal never knew my daugheter. I have one child that is a high acheiver and one that is not and they have done a great job with both.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2010

The school has a great atmosphere for the kids overall, but where they fail miserably is with children who are ahead. My boys have both really liked going to school there, but academically, the school and the principal have failed them both. Because they were both ahead, the teachers have simply set them to the side and not worked with them, so my boys never learned how to study or apply themselves academically and my oldest is struggling now that he is being challenged for the first time ever in middle school. The principal is a wonderful leader for the kids, but when it comes to being an advocate for the kids, he backs his teachers every time, regardless of how it effects the children. Advanced children need to learn how to learn as well, but the teachers do not know how to, or don't care to teach them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2009

I agree with the comment on the condition of the building. I am unhappy with that aspect, but Eastern has proven that staff and parents make the difference!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2009

This school is wonderful for children. Children are placed first in all aspects. I rate it high on the list.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2009

I was NOT pleased with the staff of Eastern Elementary. Don t expect any of them to go out of their way to help your child, or for that matter to just do what teachers should do for their students. After moving we found it extremely difficult to get the staff to help the new school with records.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2009

I love the atmosphere at Eastern Elementary! This school puts children first and it shows. Way to go Eastern!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2009

This is our second year at Eastern and we are very happy with the school. My only concern is the age and condition of the building. It is a shame that we continue to pour money into sports, but allow the buildings our children must enter each day to be in such poor condition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2009

I LOVE this School; we moved from Bourbon County last october and i have seen wonderful results with both of my daughters. they were welcomed with open arms and so were we :)
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 54% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 49% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 47% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
62%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 59% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 36% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
36%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students61%
Female54%
Male70%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities38%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students60%
Female57%
Male63%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities57%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students74%
Female78%
Male71%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities39%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students68%
Female60%
Male74%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students65%
Female67%
Male63%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities28%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students81%
Female85%
Male79%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities39%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students63%
Female55%
Male73%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities40%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students59%
Female55%
Male64%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Social Studies

All Students68%
Female62%
Male75%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities40%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students36%
Female41%
Male30%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White40%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Students with disabilities20%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2011.

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2011.

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
88%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
49%
of schools in the state are Average
29%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20141What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20142What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 K-PREP and EOC results from the Kentucky Department of Education.

2 This rating is based 2012-13 median growth percentiles from the Kentucky Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 81%
Hispanic 7% 4%
Black 5% 11%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 38%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3407 Newtown Rd
Georgetown, KY 40324
Phone: (502) 863-0275

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St John School
Georgetown, KY







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT