Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Anne Mason Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 17, 2013

Anne Mason is an absolutely wonderful school. The staff are very professional and friendly. I feel like my granddaughter had the absolute most perfect first teacher in kindergarten. She has learned so much that it is amazing. Ms. Prather and Ms. Carnell are wonderful with the kids. They watch them very closely and in this day and time that's needed. The school is very well maintained. It is always neat and clean. I was surprised that the school was ten years old. I'm glad my granddaughter got to go there. I hope she has as wonderful of a teacher as she did this year.


Posted August 1, 2011

My child attended first through fifth grade at AME and was very fortunate to have very caring, supportive teachers and a principal that always puts kids first. I was able to talk frequently with the principal and always left feeling as though my concerns were heard and would be dealt with. I can only hope that he continues to have the same kind of supportive people in his life as he did at AME.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2010

Anne Mason is a great school. I have a 2nd and 5th grader who attends. The teachers are very dedicated to their students. I am pleased with their performance as well as my kids. I would by far recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2010

The teachers are dedicated to their students at AME. I wish I could say the same for the administration. The principal of a school is someone you should be able to trust. I hope that there are some changes in this area in the near future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

awesome teachers and it's my neighborhood elementary
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2009

We love AME. This school is the best thing that has happened to our whole family not just my child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2009

My son attends Anne Mason Elem. This is his 3rd year there, he is now a 4th grader. I have nothing bad to say about the school and staff. The staff has always been super nice and always friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2009

AME is a school is one of the best in the county. They are continually making improvements to their school to benefit the students. Two of my children have attended Anne Mason (one currently) and one will soon start Kindergarten. Most of the teachers have worked hard to meet the needs of my students. My gifted child was always encouraged to excel, however, my spec. edu. child was not always accomodated by each teacher. Overall, this is a great school, however, I am concerned that the county still does not have a full-day kindergarten program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2009

So far so good. I've dealt with the issues another rater had, ie. my child moved twice after the school year started. im certainly not in to politics so I keep a safe distance from knowing the teachers personally. But academically I think the school has high goals for the children. One think I particularly like is the daily behavior report. The school has a color card system. Be good, stay on green - be bad and your card gets flipped and reported on the daily calendar sent home. i expect my child to behave well every day so its a great communication tool. Homework? I still hate it. Seems like 1-2 hrs/night for a 1st grader is a bit much. daily homework sheets plus 1-3 books to read per night. Its tough to get it all done sometimes. But I guess we have summers off. Overall -4 stars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2008

I don't agree with the September 3rd issue of leadership. That's what leaders do, take issues and make changes to benefit the group as a whole. If a child has the ability to adapt better than others; than that will be the child that's moved I'm sure. My child is doing well at this school and it's from the hard work that is done at home to compliment what the school has done first. If my child isn't up on the grades, then it should start at home to fix it. I spend 1 - 2 hours a day with my child on education. The grades are A's and some B s. Is it the school or is it time well spent? Be a parent first, and then ask for help from the teacher, there are some really great teachers at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2008

I agree the teachers seem very interested in the success of the kids, but i can't say the same for the leadership of the school. VERY unimpressed with the principal. This is the second year my daughter has started school and been moved into a different classroom after she was already settled in. It is beginning to have crowding issues already for a new school. The technology seems up to date, but like any school, I think parent involvement and voice is absolutely essential for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2008

Anne Mason Elementary is a great school. I have seen the dedication of the teachers and the commitment of the school to help the children succeed. It is at the top in academics, and it also has excellent extracurricular activities. My children thrive in this school and they love their teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

I agree with the Oct 7 post.... average at best. Just because a school is new and maybe a little 'nicer' than other schools in the area, doesn't mean it's 'better'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2007

just an average school at best
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2007

My grandson is in fourth grade and our family thinks Anne Mason is a wonderful school. We love the young teachers and the security is excellent. I wish I had had a school like this one.


Posted June 19, 2007

My daughter just finished Kindergarten at Anne Mason Elementary and I have to say that I am pleased with the attention the children are given. I do feel that there is a great amount of emphasis on testing and that at times the kids aren't really allowed to be kids, but overall I feel the school is definitely the very best in academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2007

Anne Mason Elementary is an excellent schhol. I am a parent of three children in the school and I cannot tell you how devoted the teachers are to the students of the school. All of the employees of the school share a common vision for the good of the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2005

The school is wonderful,great teachers,especially the preschool teachers. I never thought my child would love school this much.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 54% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
52%
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 49% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
49%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 47% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
55%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 59% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 36% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
36%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students37%
Female34%
Male39%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White39%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Students with disabilities15%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students48%
Female46%
Male49%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White51%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disabilities39%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students58%
Female68%
Male47%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities18%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students42%
Female42%
Male41%
African American25%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White45%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students47%
Female49%
Male45%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White51%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Students with disabilities18%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students71%
Female76%
Male65%
African American42%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students48%
Female51%
Male46%
African American36%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilities35%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students48%
Female52%
Male44%
African American36%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White51%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities30%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Social Studies

All Students56%
Female59%
Male53%
African American64%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students42%
Female54%
Male28%
African American36%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White42%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Students with disabilities30%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2011.

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2011.

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
83%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 81%
Black 10% 11%
Hispanic 6% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 44%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

350 Champion Way
Georgetown, KY 40324
Phone: (502) 570-3050

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St John School
Georgetown, KY







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT