Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Henderson County High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 1980 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 17, 2011

There are many fights, children act like 4 year olds and get upset when they are told to shut up so the teacher can teach, they show up drunik and many act high. Students smoke in the bathrooms and when they are caught they get a warning, this school is suppose to have a zero tolerance for tobacco. You get there a minute late due to rain and you have to wait 15 minutes for all the other people who were late to sign in, just let me go learn. In 4th block children are starved because they have last lunch. Some teacher stare at girls butts and some yell at there students when they dont understand, so they just yell instead of teaching us. Awful school, i am no were near informed for college!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 1, 2010

HCHS, in my opinion, is a terrible school. There are fights constantly, the pregnacy rate for the class of 2010 are through the roof, and in no way does this school help you prepare for college.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 29, 2009

County High has always been the best school I have attended although I left my jr. Year I wished that I had stayedthere and firthered my education bt thigs happen when you're a kid. Now I getthe chance to have my very own daughter attend ad so far she tells me each and everyday how much she loves being there and meeting a new erson each day. I have grown up in Hendo all my life now I get the chance to share my school experince at County Hih with my own daughter. To me that makes me proud to know she will always be looked after since its such a bigger school than when I attended bck in 1987, so she is getting the studies she needs and more. I wantto thank the adminstrative staff and all theteachers for all the hard work they do each day with a student!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2009

I attend hchs and agree that there probally are some minor problems but overall is a good social experience with caring teachers and many activities always going on to keep a kid busy. I just came from a private school and have found some of the curriculum more challenging there than at my old school taking honors classes
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 28, 2009

I think County is a really good school for students to attend. The students learn, make good grades, and can also attend the Academy.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 10, 2008

Years ago this was an excellent shool. Today the school is entirely too focused on petty and minimal problems than education and large problems. I will be glad when my last child is out and we no longer have to attend this high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2008

Like most schools HCHS had good and bad points. I think that in this case, the educators (meaning administration) seem to forget that the children are also people who should be treated like human beings. During freshman orientation last year the initial speaker was extremely rude when addressing the audience. If he is rude when the parents are around what does he do when the parents are not around. There are teachers who threaten, intimidate and bully the students. This is not ver conducive to their learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2007

HCHS is a mediocre high school at best. The schools are about 2 years behind most other schools in terms of academics. After attending HCHS, your child will in no way be prepared for college. Like I stated allready, the academics are weak at HCHS.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 14, 2004

I have a son who graduated in 2003,a step daughter who graduated in 2004,and now a son who is a freshman here.I graduated in 1980 from this school. I rate this school best in Western Kentucky,although there have been so many changes since I have been a student here,they have been for the better. The teachers are highly skilled and work hard at helping the students through their high school years. I would recommmend this school to anyone,without doubt. My biggest concern was with my oldest son,he didn't even try,but they knew that he could do better. They rose his confidence,to where he graduated,not with honors,but did graduate. Thank you HCHS!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 51% in 2013.

506 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 36% in 2013.

472 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

432 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students62%
Female69%
Male55%
African American42%
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracial39%
Native Americann/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students43%
Female46%
Male40%
African American18%
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
Multiracial25%
Native Americann/a
White47%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Students with disabilities11%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Writing

All Students67%
Female75%
Male59%
African American44%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 46% in 2011.

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2011.

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2011.

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
42%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 41% in 2011.

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
44%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 41% in 2011.

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 36% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
8%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 36% in 2013.

481 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
38%
English II

The state average for English II was 56% in 2013.

472 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
61%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 51% in 2013.

443 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
46%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

All Students43%
Femalen/a
Male41%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White40%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students35%
Female34%
Male36%
African American10%
Asiann/a
Hispanic21%
Multiracial7%
Native Americann/a
White39%
Economically disadvantaged19%
Students with disabilities10%
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students59%
Female63%
Male53%
African American30%
Asiann/a
Hispanic36%
Multiracial47%
Native Americann/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities12%
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Students61%
Female53%
Male69%
African American17%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities28%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
49%
of schools in the state are Average
29%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20141What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20142What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


College readiness rating 20143What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

1 This rating is based on 2012-13 K-PREP and EOC results from the Kentucky Department of Education.

2 This rating is based 2012-13 median growth percentiles from the Kentucky Department of Education.

3 This rating is based on average composite ACT scores and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 81%
Black 9% 11%
Hispanic 2% 4%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2424 Zion Rd
Henderson, KY 42420
Phone: (270) 831-8800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Valley High School
Owensboro, KY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT