Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public
Hopkinsville, KY
Students enrolled: 1,217

2 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Christian County High School 4

Posted August 30, 2013
- a parent
My kids both graduated from CCHS and have gone on to a be successful in college! We were lucky to have had Mr. Stevenson for 1 year and like others, I agree, he is fantastic and contagious!!! My #1 issue with this school is is the same as people in general regarding Hopkinsville - stop bad mouthing it and do your part to make it better! AND, open your eyes and ears, Hopkinsville is not a bad place to live - it has a lot going for it!! Same as CCHS.... there's bad and good alike. I know a lot of the teachers at CCHS and they're fantastic and would do anything to help their students succeed! Parents and nonparents alike - be positive, talk up the great things going on in this town and at this school and do your part to make the less than glamorous things better!

Christian County High School 5

Posted August 28, 2013
- a student
I am currently a senior at CCHS. In the past 2 years, Mr. Stevenson has made a tremendous turn around in our school. As a Freshmen I was afraid for my safety and discipline was a huge problem. Now since we have a new principal, our test scores are speaking for us. The 2014 class currently has the highest ACT scores in the history of our school. I no longer fear for my safety or worry about anything more than my school work. Our principal has also pulled in much needed funding for us. The school board themselves, do not care for our school much so we do not get as much funding as the other school. However, he has managed to put together Senior trips and field trips for all grades. He rewards us for our good test scores and even more for our outstanding test scores. This school has really turned around!


Christian County High School 1

Posted June 29, 2010
- a teacher
Lack of leadership, little to no discipline, and a increaed lack of rigor in the curriculum and it's implementation.

Christian County High School 0
no rating

Posted May 13, 2010
- a parent
I think CCHS has made a lot or progress over the past couple of years but has not addressed the discipline issue as strongly as they should. Why not move troubled kids who do no want to be at school and do nothing but disrupt class and keep other kids from learning to the trade school where they can be taught a trade where they can get a job immediately after graduation. Some kids just plain do not want to sit through english classes nor have any desire to go to college! Why take away from the kids that do want to be there by allowing the minority rule to disrupt teaching!

Christian County High School 5

Posted March 19, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Christian County High School 1

Posted February 22, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Christian County High School 1

Posted December 10, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Christian County High School 4

Posted November 03, 2009
- a student
Many parents will complain about Christian County's test score and feel their children are not safe. The parents have not done anything to help the problem. Our test scores at CCHS are far better than the other schools in the county such has Hopkinsville High School and University Heights Academy. We are just second to Heritage Christian Academy. Our scores are far better than HHS. There are many students that try to score above average. Many teachers at CCHS care about the students and want their students to succeed. Even though we have rift raft in our school it is a small percent. You cannot compare the small percent to the whole school. To quote many teachers here you cannot compare apples to oranges.


Christian County High School 2

Posted October 27, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Christian County High School 1

Posted August 01, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Christian County High School
220 Glass Ave, Hopkinsville, KY  42240
(270) 887-7050
Last modified Christian County High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Christian County High School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top