Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lagrange Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 563 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 2, 2011

My children have been attending Lagrange since early this year (2011). I have not been happy with my older child's teacher (4th grade) since we moved here. Recently the teacher has been bullying my child in front of the other students. She thinks it is appropriate to allow my son to go without snack while the other kids get their snack. She has also asked the other students in class if my son should be allowed to do things. This teacher needs to be fired because she obviously doesn't know how to run her classroom appropriately. When I talked to her on the phone she had the nerve to tell me how to parent my child! My younger child started the 1st grade this fall. There was a shortage of 1st grade teachers this year so they hired a new teacher. This new teacher is a great guy but he is from Ecuador and his English speaking skills are not good enough to be teaching first graders who are still learning how to speak properly themselves. My son already has speech issues so having a teacher that can't speak clear English is not good for him. Overall I am very displeased with Lagrange Elementary and I will be removing my children from the school as soon as I meet with the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

Very positive, nurturing environment. Great academic foundation for my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

Very happy with LaGrange Elementary School! Wonderful principal, teachers and support staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

Awesome and dedicated teachers, support staff and PTA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2010

My daughter is in 3rd Grade at La Grange Elementary. We are very pleased with her education and could not ask for a better school!! I am amazed at how many hours the teachers put in, espeically outside of school. (This includes weekends and summers!) They are very dedicated and I must say that I have never seen a group of people work harder in their profession than these teachers do! You will not find a group of people that care more for students than Dr. Finch and the teachers at La Grange Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2008

My boys started K at LaGrange Elementary with me being very apprehensive. They stayed there through the 3rd grade & the only reason they left is because of the rezoning. I wish that they could stay until middle school but that is how it goes. I absolutely LOVE this school, staff & especially the teachers. They are top notch!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2007

I waited out the school year to write my opinion so I could be fair in my assessment. I was very concerned about sending my children to LaGrange Elementary. One of my children was in a 5th grade class in the cafeteria with 39 other kids. But after a year at LaGrange we have been more than pleased with the school. I agree there are many teachers and staff that dress very inappropriately, and that the classrooms are overcrowded, and the lunches are horrible. BUT Principal Finch is very dedicated to making sure that all children feel like they can achieve greatness. And all the teachers I dealt with, although not always professional in dress, were more than qualified in their teaching, and loving in their approach. We will look forward to returning in the Fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2007

LaGrange Elementary is an outstanding school! I was a little worried that my children wouldn't receive the education I was offered growing up in Louisville but I was wrong! If anything, I wish I had the same opportunities that they have by attending LaGrange Elementary. I would highly recommend LaGrange to any parent interested in their child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2006

The school is overcrowded (5th grade classes are held in the cafeteria), teachers dress to risque for an elementary school--for any school! There are many safety issues. Other elementary schools have snack time. This one does not. The standards are low compared to our last district. Really disapointed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2005

This school is top-notch in my opinion. My daughter loves to go to school, her teacher is very creative and comes up with new and exciting ways to keep the children interested in learning. It's a family like environment and has many extracurricular programs for the children. I was worried since it isn't the top scoring school in the district, but I am glad I made the decision to send her here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2005

The teachers at LaGrange are very caring. They put there all into teaching. The atmospher at LaGrange is a place of warmth and caring. When you walk into LaGrange you noticed that this is a place where learning is happening.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
19%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
38%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 54% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
40%
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 49% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 47% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
51%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 59% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 36% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
35%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students26%
Female30%
Male19%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic0%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White31%
Economically disadvantaged13%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learners0%

Reading

All Students44%
Female50%
Male36%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic0%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learners0%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students38%
Female49%
Male28%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic0%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White46%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students26%
Female24%
Male28%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic0%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White32%
Economically disadvantaged12%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students39%
Female43%
Male35%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic0%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White48%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students58%
Female62%
Male54%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic0%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students49%
Female54%
Male43%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities39%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students51%
Female50%
Male51%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities46%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Social Studies

All Students64%
Female63%
Male64%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities39%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students36%
Female48%
Male26%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic20%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White40%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Students with disabilities8%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2011.

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2011.

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
68%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
56%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
49%
of schools in the state are Average
29%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20141What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20142What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 K-PREP and EOC results from the Kentucky Department of Education.

2 This rating is based 2012-13 median growth percentiles from the Kentucky Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 81%
Hispanic 16% 4%
Black 4% 11%
Two or more races 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

500 West Jefferson St
Lagrange, KY 40031
Phone: (502) 222-9454

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. Mary Academy
La Grange, KY






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT