Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Lewisport, KY
Students enrolled: 468
 

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hancock County High School 3

Posted June 20, 2013
- a student
To be fair, the teachers are great. Its just that students are pushed to attend community college, where subsequently most of them teach at. And by push, I mean they actually advise students who make private school level grades to go there instead. Students aren't given many college talks, about how to pick a good college or which ones would be best suited. There isn't much prep for the future. Sports are more of priority, which is a common problem in small town schools. AP classes are moderate in number. Its a very average school that has declined in age.

Hancock County High School 5

Posted December 07, 2010
- a student
This schools is kept very clean and tidy by its dedicated staff and is always ready to help its students in any way it can. Good job Hornets!


Hancock County High School 5

Posted April 15, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Hancock County High School 5

Posted February 02, 2009
- a student
this is the first school i've stayed at for along time and i wouldn't change the school for anything, the teachers and staff are awesome...they respect you and treat you like an adult. The sports there are the best the coaches are awesome and push you to do your best.

Hancock County High School 3

Posted June 12, 2006
- a parent
HCHS has a lot going for it. The teachers are above average for such a small area. The schools weakness is that they do not do a great job with the brightest students. Many of the top students have trouble going off to college and are finding they are not as prepared as they should have been. Once the superintendent decides to focus on this, I believe the standards will improve. The teachers have the capability.


Hancock County High School 4

Posted February 16, 2005
- a former student
I'm not a parent, but I am a college student having graduated from HCHS two years ago. Because it is so small it is very cliquish and there is great favoritism towards select groups. However, the teachers are talented and were often a lot of fun. The extracurricular activities and accelerated academic opportunities were acceptable when I was there and have expanded somewhat since my graduation. If you want your child to grow up attending a small public school where they can feel safe and excel in both their academic and extracurricular activities, HCHS is the place to be.

Hancock County High School 5

Posted February 06, 2005
- a former student
i really enjoyed going to Hancock County High but there was a lot of trouble there also. Teachers and staff liked to play favortism and stuff and i was not all about that. But myself i looked past that to a certain extent but i also had some input in it to. you have to look past that part and look at the good things. i learned a lot. just remember there are times when things get rough and you get in a bind.. there are people at HCHS help you and to talk to that will give you GOOD advice..believe me i know i had a few i talked to and it worked. it is overall a good school!

Hancock County High School 2

Posted January 04, 2005
- a student
The academic programs at HCHS are at a moderate standard. For the teachers they bicker as much or some even more than the students. There is absolutely nothing wrong with the extracurricular activites and sports, this seems to be one of school top priorties. There is little parent involvement in the school.


Hancock County High School 2

Posted August 26, 2003
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hancock County High School
80 Stateroute 271 South, Lewisport, KY  42351
(270) 927-6953
Last modified Hancock County High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hancock County High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top