Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Lexington School

Private | PK-8 | 545 students

We are best known for maximizing a child's potential.
 
 

 
 

Living in Lexington

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $120,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $540.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 23, 2013

I have 3 kids at TLS, and I think it is wonderful, one of my kids at ADHD (attention and non-attention) and TLS created a learning plan for her, and she is doing well. My oldest is in 4th grade having left public school due to some behaviors, and disciplining techniques I didn't approve of; TLS has none of those problems and my kids love the school, even my oldest who was very pessimistic about being the new kid.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2013

I am a former TLS parent whose child is now in high school, and I couldn't be more pleased with her transition and success. The Lexington School is an extremely nurturing environment where she felt loved and cared for, and where teachers, in small classes, were able to know her individually and help her maximize her potential. Additionally, while there were many opportunities for challenge and competition, the atmosphere at TLS was not all about winning and competing. Instead, it was about being a part of a team and doing your best. Although she enjoys high school, she misses her years at TLS. It was the best investment we have ever made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2012

While some people perceive private schools to be elitest, nothing can be further from the truth at The Lexington School. The community is wonderful there. Loving teachers and a family of parents who all value the same thing: providing the strongest educational foundation they can for their children. I am from a small town and I am a middle class person who has never felt anything other than acceptance and love at this school for my entire family. It is the best of both worlds--strong academics, courage building, and a nurturing, diverse community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2011

While TLS is extremely strong academically, it definitely has its shortcomings. It's a difficult place to be if you're not competitive (in really every aspect of life). It is a challenging environment, but certainly not a nurturing one. The students can be fairly snobby and aren't welcoming to those who are a little different. If you go here, you will most likely come out a strong and motivated student; however, you'll probably also be unprepared for social environments at any normal school.


Posted December 19, 2010

The benefits of TLS cannot be explained...it must be experienced. There are so many things about the school that are awesome! TLS proves that if you expect great things from Children, they can and will deliver! The teachers truly care and want your child to learn to be a successful in life, not just in a subject area. Visit the school...it is worth a look.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2009

My grandchildren attend TLS and I am amazed at what they have learned at such a young age. They love the school and I believe being a sudent at TLS will prepare them for a great future when they enter the workforce. I also wish it went to 12th grade instead of just 8th grade. As far as price, you can not put a price on your children's education and future. Our family is middle class and they attend TLS.


Posted April 30, 2009

The Lexington School has a mission and philosophy that is different from most schools. The philosophy relates to giving children the opportunity, in a safe and nurturing environment, to take some risks. Ultimately in taking risks and challenging oneself, there is a chance that a child will make a mistake, but it through the mistake that most often the greatest learning takes place. I have found for both of my children that this philosophy has led them to develop a true self-confidence, courage, and curiosity that will be with them for the rest of their lives. My children are not rocket scientists, but I truly feel that their individual potential has been recognized and maximized at The Lexington School. Some parents don't want their children to feel discomfort; they want to fix it all for them. I want mine to make wise choices and TLS is helping them accomplish this goal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2008

i am a current student at tls and i love it. all of the students will welcome you in, and everyone has great friends. though the tuition is high it ic completely worth it. acedemically tls is very noteable. all of the teachers are very nice and really care about every indivisual. Just going to tls and making average grades put you ahead of most other schools(i am an a student!). TlS gives gres=at oppurtunities for all of its students and really helps prepare you for highschool. I still attend Tls and am looking forward to next year. Again the only downside is that the tuition is high and that it increases yearly. I love TLS
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 11, 2008

The academics at The Lexington School are challenging and your child will be expected to do a great deal of work. If your child is an A or B student, they should do fine. However, a child that isn't highly motivated should probably stay away. As a parent, the only complaint I hear about academics is about the quantity of work given. The most common complaint I hear is about the administration. Paying $16,000 a year for tuition (which goes up 6% minimum every year), most parents feel they should have some input at the school. Unfortunately, this is not the case. Teachers and administrators who receive numerous, serious complaints year after year remain in their positions. The administration makes the parent feel important in order to get donations. Parents have absolutely no say in what happens at the school. If you can deal with that, then go for it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2006

The Lexington School is one of the most academically enriching elementary schools in the city. One of the greatest benefits of the school setting is the small class size, which is highly beneficial if you have an active, easily distracted child. My son's experience at Lexingont School has been extremely positive and has enhanced his love for academics. Tuition for the school is lofty, however if you can make the financial sacrifice, the rewards in the end are worth your efforts. A few concerns: a lot of 'breaks' and days off, which is difficult for the working parent, and 2) many mothers are 'sta at home' mothers, and several activities are centered around timeframes for people who do not have a particular work schedule. Other than that, I've been extremely pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2005

The unequivocal leader in elementary edcation in Fayette County, KY. From leadership to ancillary staff, TLS is exceptional. TLS is the best investment we have ever made. Period.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

The Lexington School's academic reputation in this community is well deserved. My child may have struggled through the years to 'keep up' with her more brilliant peers, but her efforts were well rewarded time and again by the challenges presented to her in the classroom. The ability to do research and write a reflective paper on any given subject, to analyze a novel, to solve analytical problems, and to speak with authority and confidence on current affairs are just a few of the lessons learned in the classroom. To also view with compassion and understanding the needs of people in her community and make good choices reflecting a commitment to serve others are values reinforced by TLS's mission statement. I only wish my child could have completed a full 12 years at TLS, but I am confident that the years spent at TLS have given her the discipline and academic foundation necessary to be a productive citizen of the world!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 85%
Black 5% 11%
Asian 2% N/A
Hispanic 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Everyday Math School of Excellence (2007)
  • Nationally Benchmarked Top 20 Independent Elementary School (2011)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Math club
  • Recycling club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Clubs
  • Cooking club
  • Gardening
  • Girls on the run
  • Yoga club

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Clubs
  • Debate
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Chuck Baldecchi
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • admission@thelexingtonschool.org
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
  • Other Montessori
Fax number
  • (859) 278-8604

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Independent Study
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Montessori
  • Project-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Archery
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Ultimate Frisbee
Girls sports
  • Archery
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cooking club
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Gardening
  • Girl scouts
  • Girls on the run
  • Math club
  • Recycling club
  • Yearbook
  • Yoga club
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$3000 - $18000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Lexington Catholic High School
Sayre School
Henry Clay Liberal Arts Academy
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1050 Lane Allen Rd
Lexington, KY 40504
Website: Click here
Phone: (859) 278-0501

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT