Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
596 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

The Lexington School has a unique vitality that you won't find anywhere else. Class sizes are small, so kids are known and understood. They can trust their teachers, so they stretch and challenge themselves in a way that allows for mistakes which leads to greater learning. TLS is academically rigorous but in a way that provides an active-learning and multi-sensory approach so kids learn how they learn best, and they take away skills that work for them long after the content has faded. These skills are most important as students grow towards jobs that don't even exist yet. At TLS, we teach courage to try new things, to not be perfect, to learn from our experiences. Here kids learn to be curious, creative, resilient, and collaborative. It is the most innovative learning environment in central Kentucky, and our student go on to high school extremely prepared for where ever their passions lead them next.
September 28, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Lexington School 5

Posted January 15, 2016
- a parent
As a parent who went through the public school system, I sometimes question whether or not the sacrifice and expense are worth it. In addition to my own child’s happiness and love of his school, this independent ranking validates that TLS is a place of exceptional academic standards. It also affirms that, yes, a private school education at TLS is worth it.

The Lexington School 5

Posted January 08, 2016
- a community member
Our daughter is in her first year at TLS and we already see a positive change in her confidence and self-esteem. The school has top notch teachers and creates an amazing sense of community that welcomes new families. I can't say enough wonderful things about the environment that the school provides, the education they provide and creativity they encourage!


The Lexington School 5

Posted November 02, 2015
- a parent
I cannot imagine another school in the country where kids adore their teachers like they do at TLS. Mr. Johnson and our son are lifelong friends for sure! What a privilege it has been for us to watch their relationship grow and flourish. It is a special place.

The Lexington School 1

Posted October 19, 2015
- a community member
I have a negative view of this school. I would not recommend this school to anyone, there are better options.

The Lexington School
Grateful to: no rating

Posted September 28, 2015
- a school leader
It is the entire community that is to thank for creating this vibrant school. From the parents to the students, teachers, staff members, it takes each and every positive constituent to make this institution what it is. This year we had 97% retention and the largest enrollment in the history of the school. Good stuff is happening here or those stats would not exist. It isn't just one person who can make that happen. So thanks to everyone at TLS!


The Lexington School
Teacher effectiveness: no rating

Posted September 28, 2015
- a school leader
The school's professional development focus is likely the best offered in Lexington. The professional development committee is well-funded, and we send teachers to conferences and PD experiences throughout the year. Our teachers also present at national conferences. We are leaders in education, innovative and professional, and we host as much professional development as any other educational institution in the region.

The Lexington School
Amount of homework: no rating

Posted September 28, 2015
- a school leader
We want all children to be well-rounded children, yet we do believe that time management is an essential 21st century skill. Homework is appropriate to grade level, moderate, but most importantly, it is effective. No busy work allowed, TLS students learn from work at home.

The Lexington School
Develops grit: no rating

Posted September 28, 2015
- a school leader
We Teach Courage is our mantra. Our mission and philosophy speaks to resilience directly. Our nurturing environment creates a trust between students and teachers that in turn allows teachers to ask more from each individual student. From trying the playground zip line for the first time to standing up and delivering the capstone speech in front of the entire student body, each moment of a child's time at TLS is about creating opportunities for growth through challenge. It is through these challenges that mistakes are made, and we certainly hope for those moments of imperfection as that is where the learning happens. Through mistake making, children learn, and in overcoming mistakes and challenges, children gain confidence. This is the definition of resilience.


The Lexington School
Develops empathy: no rating

Posted September 28, 2015
- a school leader
Service Learning is a school-wide philosophy and program. Every single grade level from three years old and up participates in service whether it is preschoolers collecting mittens and hats for disadvantaged children or 5th graders recycling for the entire community, each child participates in giving time or treasure frequently throughout the school year. As a sister school to an inner city public school, our students provide clothing and birthday presents to every single student at that school. We are good friends who care.

The Lexington School
Develops honesty: no rating

Posted September 28, 2015
- a school leader
Treat everyone with courtesy and respect. That is the discipline mantra of The Lexington School. If courtesy and respect happens, then no other problems will result. When mistakes are made, each mistake is dealt with in its own way, and each mistake makes way for a teaching moment of its own. The resolution is an opportunity for growth.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Lexington School
1050 Lane Allen Rd, Lexington, KY  40504
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. (859) 278-0501
Last modified The Lexington School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top