Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8 & Ungraded|Private
130 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 37 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Community Montessori School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 22, 2015
- a community member
The teaching methods at CMS not only develop honesty, integrity and fairness in their students, they make students WANT to improve these facets of themselves!!

Community Montessori School 5

Posted July 26, 2015
- a parent
This is an excellent school with over thirty years of producing quality students that excel in the transition to both public and private high schools. They have an excellent student-to-teacher ratio, well trained AMI Certified staff, and the school sits on a marvelous 13 acre campus with an active stream, student maintained crops and chickens.


Community Montessori School 5

Posted November 23, 2014
- a parent
The teacher to student ratio fits the Association Montessori Internationale standards. Adolescent guides are highly specialized in math, science, and humanities. The atmosphere is one of diversity, kindness, and academic progressiveness.

Community Montessori School 5

Posted November 22, 2014
- a parent
This is an amazing school. Teachers and staff are amazing, my kids love it there. Wouldn't be anywhere else.

Community Montessori School 1

Posted November 09, 2014
- a parent
Our one year there showed how little administrators cared about parents, teachers or kids in the middle school. A disservice to all that Maria Montessori stood for. Shame. Luckily, there is far better in lex now.


Community Montessori School 5

Posted November 04, 2014
- a parent
My children have attended Community Montessori they were 3. My oldest daughter is in the 6th grade and scored above the 90th percentile on her standardized tests. My second daughter hasn't taken her standardized test yet, but I expect similar results. I believe in the power of a Montessori education and would encourage anyone interested to come to CMS and observe the classroom. I think you will find that the staff and teachers truely care and are passionate about providing a quality Montessori education.

Community Montessori School 5

Posted September 15, 2014
- a parent
Amazing Montessori school! My children have thrived here. I can't imagine them being anywhere else!

Community Montessori School 1

Posted July 27, 2014
- a parent
CMS IS NOT UNDER ATTACK BY ANYONE OTHER THAN THEMSELVES!!! The board and only the board has let this circus go on far to long. By the way there are board members whose children or grandchildren have left this school. Do your homework!! Ask questions about how a experimental combined classroom of 50 4-6 graders with one teacher for 1 year of the 2 years failed miserably. Only the children lost in that one with standardized test dropping 30% or more. Was this AMI approved ? Ask how many teachers have left in the past 5-6 years Ask why the middle school collapsed and every teacher including the secretary left. Ask if it is AMI approved that 4-6 graders should be in the same school as middle schoolers. CMS has ONLY themselves to blame. Make the right choice for your child and go elsewhere.


Community Montessori School 1

Posted July 09, 2014
- a parent
"Riding on the coattails of their reputation" is a good way of summarizing CMS's ability to turn a blind eye to numerous problems that have been brought to their attention countless times. They love to quote their 43+ years in Lexington, however when all the trained and quality teachers leave year after year, something is wrong! Truthfully, it WAS a wonderful place when my two siblings and I graduated from there years ago, and I was excited to send my children there to follow in my footsteps. When their wonderful teachers left, we followed suit, seeing for ourselves the poor leadership, unqualified and questionable replacement teachers, deteriorating environments, and the staffs complete disregard for concerns brought to them by parents. It may be toted as a "parent run" school, but really all they want is your checkbook, they care nothing about your ideas or concerns. Do not send your children here, there are numerous other quality Montessori schools in the area where your money and your time will be much better spent.

Community Montessori School 1

Posted July 08, 2014
- a community member
Do your research on all of the CMS staff members. Ask for enrollment numbers 2011 - present, including the number of middle school students enrolled for the 2014-2015 MMSK school year. What happened to all of the MMSK teachers? Why did they ALL leave? Grace and courtesy? They should look into practicing what they preach.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Community Montessori School
166 Crestwood Drive, Lexington, KY  40503
(859) 277-4805
Last modified Community Montessori School is a Private school
Community Montessori School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. Top