Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8 & Ungraded
Private
Lexington, KY
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Community Montessori School 5

Posted July 26, 2015
- a parent
This is an excellent school with over thirty years of producing quality students that excel in the transition to both public and private high schools. They have an excellent student-to-teacher ratio, well trained AMI Certified staff, and the school sits on a marvelous 13 acre campus with an active stream, student maintained crops and chickens.

Community Montessori School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 26, 2015
- a parent
All toddler, primary, lower and upper elementary teachers are required to be certified by Association Montessori International standards. There are many teachers and some assistants with teaching certificates and public school experience.


Community Montessori School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 26, 2015
- a parent
Homework is not done on a routine basis until the student reaches middle school. However, there are special assignments, such as researching desired topics and writing a paper or presenting a presentation in the child's area of desire.

Community Montessori School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 26, 2015
- a parent
The attributes of honesty, integrity, and fairness are the basis for true Montessori instruction. Caring for others, supporting the community, and independent thought are also taught, and underpin the first three.

Community Montessori School 5

Posted November 23, 2014
- a parent
The teacher to student ratio fits the Association Montessori Internationale standards. Adolescent guides are highly specialized in math, science, and humanities. The atmosphere is one of diversity, kindness, and academic progressiveness.
1 person found this helpful


Community Montessori School 5

Posted November 22, 2014
- a parent
This is an amazing school. Teachers and staff are amazing, my kids love it there. Wouldn't be anywhere else.
1 person found this helpful

Community Montessori School 1

Posted November 09, 2014
- a parent
Our one year there showed how little administrators cared about parents, teachers or kids in the middle school. A disservice to all that Maria Montessori stood for. Shame. Luckily, there is far better in lex now.

Community Montessori School 5

Posted November 04, 2014
- a parent
My children have attended Community Montessori they were 3. My oldest daughter is in the 6th grade and scored above the 90th percentile on her standardized tests. My second daughter hasn't taken her standardized test yet, but I expect similar results. I believe in the power of a Montessori education and would encourage anyone interested to come to CMS and observe the classroom. I think you will find that the staff and teachers truely care and are passionate about providing a quality Montessori education.
1 person found this helpful


Community Montessori School 5

Posted September 15, 2014
- a parent
Amazing Montessori school! My children have thrived here. I can't imagine them being anywhere else!
1 person found this helpful

Community Montessori School 1

Posted July 27, 2014
- a parent
CMS IS NOT UNDER ATTACK BY ANYONE OTHER THAN THEMSELVES!!! The board and only the board has let this circus go on far to long. By the way there are board members whose children or grandchildren have left this school. Do your homework!! Ask questions about how a experimental combined classroom of 50 4-6 graders with one teacher for 1 year of the 2 years failed miserably. Only the children lost in that one with standardized test dropping 30% or more. Was this AMI approved ? Ask how many teachers have left in the past 5-6 years Ask why the middle school collapsed and every teacher including the secretary left. Ask if it is AMI approved that 4-6 graders should be in the same school as middle schoolers. CMS has ONLY themselves to blame. Make the right choice for your child and go elsewhere.
2 people found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Community Montessori School
166 Crestwood Drive, Lexington, KY  40503
(859) 277-4805
Last modified Community Montessori School is a Private school
Community Montessori School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. Top