Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8 & Ungraded
Private
Lexington, KY
Students enrolled: 130
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 27 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


28 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Community Montessori School 5

Posted November 23, 2014
- a parent
The teacher to student ratio fits the Association Montessori Internationale standards. Adolescent guides are highly specialized in math, science, and humanities. The atmosphere is one of diversity, kindness, and academic progressiveness.

Community Montessori School 5

Posted November 22, 2014
- a parent
This is an amazing school. Teachers and staff are amazing, my kids love it there. Wouldn't be anywhere else.


Community Montessori School 1

Posted November 09, 2014
- a parent
Our one year there showed how little administrators cared about parents, teachers or kids in the middle school. A disservice to all that Maria Montessori stood for. Shame. Luckily, there is far better in lex now.

Community Montessori School 5

Posted November 04, 2014
- a parent
My children have attended Community Montessori they were 3. My oldest daughter is in the 6th grade and scored above the 90th percentile on her standardized tests. My second daughter hasn't taken her standardized test yet, but I expect similar results. I believe in the power of a Montessori education and would encourage anyone interested to come to CMS and observe the classroom. I think you will find that the staff and teachers truely care and are passionate about providing a quality Montessori education.

Community Montessori School 5

Posted October 20, 2014
- a parent
This is an excellent school with over thirty years of producing quality students that excel in the transition to both public and private high schools. They have an excellent student-to-teacher ratio, well trained AMI Certified staff, and the school sits on a marvelous 13 acre campus with an active stream, student maintained crops and chickens.


Community Montessori School 5

Posted September 15, 2014
- a parent
Amazing Montessori school! My children have thrived here. I can't imagine them being anywhere else!

Community Montessori School 1

Posted July 27, 2014
- a parent
CMS IS NOT UNDER ATTACK BY ANYONE OTHER THAN THEMSELVES!!! The board and only the board has let this circus go on far to long. By the way there are board members whose children or grandchildren have left this school. Do your homework!! Ask questions about how a experimental combined classroom of 50 4-6 graders with one teacher for 1 year of the 2 years failed miserably. Only the children lost in that one with standardized test dropping 30% or more. Was this AMI approved ? Ask how many teachers have left in the past 5-6 years Ask why the middle school collapsed and every teacher including the secretary left. Ask if it is AMI approved that 4-6 graders should be in the same school as middle schoolers. CMS has ONLY themselves to blame. Make the right choice for your child and go elsewhere.
1 person found this helpful

Community Montessori School 1

Posted July 08, 2014
- a community member
Do your research on all of the CMS staff members. Ask for enrollment numbers 2011 - present, including the number of middle school students enrolled for the 2014-2015 MMSK school year. What happened to all of the MMSK teachers? Why did they ALL leave? Grace and courtesy? They should look into practicing what they preach.
1 person found this helpful


Community Montessori School 1

Posted June 24, 2014
- a parent
There are just too many things wrong with this school to list them all here. If you decide to send your children here after seeing all of the warnings posted by families who have suffered, then unfortunately your children will suffer from your choice. Do not go to this school. If you want Montessori there are several other options in the central Kentucky area. For the price you pay in tuition for any of them, it is worth the drive. I wish I could give zero stars and get back the tens of thousands of dollars we have spent before realizing our grave mistake and witnessing the only good teachers leaving year after year. Only one teacher remains that taught at CMS two years ago.
1 person found this helpful

Community Montessori School 5

Posted March 18, 2014
- a parent
I have two children at Community Montessori. We have been very pleased with this school. When I was searching for a school for my children, I went to observe in a classroom for children ages 3 through 5. I was amazed to see the order in the classroom with such young children. Children are allowed to choose their work based on their interests. My oldest is now 7 and in the next level classroom, and we have continued to be impressed with her academic achievement and pursuits. It makes sense that having the freedom to study that which is of interest to the student makes a big difference in the depth of learning that occurs. This school is a part of the Association Montessori Internationale, which is quite rigorous, requiring review every three years. It is my understanding that it is the only school in the city with this distinction. I feel that my children have been nurtured at this school by a community that truly cares for them. I have no doubt that the love for school that my children have is because of this wonderful learning environment. If you are looking for a school for your children, observe a classroom here. I am willing to bet that you will look no further!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Community Montessori School
166 Crestwood Drive, Lexington, KY  40503
(859) 277-4805
Last modified Community Montessori School is a Private school
Community Montessori School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top