Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Providence Montessori School

Private | PK-6 | 260 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Lexington

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $95,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $600.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 1, 2013

It's our second year at Providence and I could not be more pleased with not only the academic quality of the education but the respectful, nurturing environment that is demonstrated in every aspect of this school. If you educate yourself about the Montessori method and then go see its flawless execution at Providence, you will wonder why anyone chooses a traditional school. I look forward to watching my children continue to blossom not only as academic beings but as well-rounded, responsible human beings and stewards of the Earth. The Montessori method fosters children's desire to learn instead of extinguishing it in the way traditional schools do....and we do it without homework which means less stress at home and more focus on family time. Providence is also competitively priced and is a downright bargain when you consider the superior education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2012

Our daughter has been at Providence for 2 years, now, and our son is finishing up his first year. Although it is a huge financial sacrifice, I wholeheartedly believe there is NO better school in this town!!! Not just the academics (which are amazing, really, when you allow it to work the way it's designed to) but also the people...students AND staff! This is the most loving, respectful educational environment I've ever witnessed. And it is truly reflected in the way these children grow & develop; these are simply the best kids!!! Yes, we can go to a free public school, even a good one, and save our money for wonderful vacations....but you get MORE than what you pay for at Providence; it costs same as most private schools around here & yet is light years ahead of anything I could ever expect. They actually teach these kids HOW to THINK!!! ...and how to get along with others, respect & give back to their community, etc etc. You just need to take a tour to even get a glimpse of what it's like. Or speak to one of the attending parents. There's just too much to say in a review.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2008

We have two children enrolled at Providence Montessori. It is an excellent school, the environment is warm and loving and the campus is lovely. I highly recommend Providence!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2007

Providence is a phenomenal school! We are parents of a sixth grader and a five year-old in the Primary program. Our older child has attended there for seven years now. The director, staff and teachers are committed to achieve excellence like no other school we have ever seen. Teachers willingly do everything within their power to see that each child excels at his or her own pace. They work well with the brightest of children and those who have more difficulty and succeed with both types of students. Mutual respect and care for each other, the environment and the world around us are the cornerstones of this institution. What more could you ask for your child?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2007

Our three children have thrived at Providence.The atmosphere there is one that is very difficult to put into words.The mutual respect between the children and the teachers is prevelent. Just this one important factor , I feel,sets the stage for an incredible amount of learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2006

We have two children at Providence Montessori in grades five and six. They have attended since age four. The academic program is excellent. Our children are above grade level in most subjects. Best of all, they are well rounded people with a strong sense of environmental responsibility, social responsibility, and a genuine interest in working together with their peers. Our music program is average. The art teacher is excellent, with an advanced degree and training in sculpture. The children have PE twice a week and play outside on a beautiful five acre campus. Field trips are superlative with trips to 4-H camp and an Appalachian settlement school. The school is parent owned and there is a high level of parent involvement from inside the classrooms to the school board.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2006

Outstanding school experience in every way- the school itself, the community, the teachers and the ethos. The Montessori philosophy is a very important part of the school- let go of what you think you know about schooling and your child will soar to heights you never imagined. Your children will be prepared for any middle school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2005

We can not say enough about the quality of education and developmental nurturing that our daughter has received at Providence. They stress each child's ability to be strong and independent, as well as emphasize that each child progresses differently. We are so happy that we chose to send our daughter to Providence and would highly recommend them to any parents looking to place their child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2004

This is my third year with two attending primary(ages 3-kinder)and how grateful I am to this community of teachers and parents that care about kids and watching the children love learning. Go observe the peaceful environment for learning in the classroom and gentle touch of a montessori teacher! Makes me want to be a better parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 81%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 1%
Black 2% 11%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Hispanic 1% 4%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS
Fax number
  • (859) 253-0886

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1209 Texaco Road
Lexington, KY 40508
Website: Click here
Phone: (859) 255-7330

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT