Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Sayre School

Private | PK-12 | 399 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Lexington

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $142,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $670.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 16, 2011

Fantastic school to get your child off to a great start. We love the focus on academics and the equal emphasis placed on creating a well rounded child who learns to make a positive contribution to the whole community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

Small classes, green school,fantastic academics, arts and humanities emphasis, community service, mentoring, cross-curricular collaboration, health and fitness, plus a wonderful and caring faculty and staff. Sayre emphasizes compassion, wisdom and integrity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

Small classes, great relationships b/w students and teachers, great academics. All with an emphasis on compassion, respect and integrity.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 9, 2009

As a former student, i would highly recommend Sayre School to any parent. Their Upper School curriculum is challenging and prepared me for the jump to college. Sayre is a close knit community and and child would be lucky to go there
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 2, 2009

My kids have attended Sayre for seven years and we love it. It cultivates a great balance of academics, arts, citizenship and love for learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2009

I am a lifer at this school and I personally do not like it. I have gone through the Lower, Middle, and High Schools and have never been satisfied. The 'Sayre Community' is not what it claims to be, it is more of a judgmental group of people trying to out buy each other.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 22, 2008

A challenging curriculum, excellent student to teacher ratio, and caring faculty make this school the best in Kentucky.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2007

Sayre is a wonderful place. A true community, where every child is challenged, engaged and understood. From the Pre-K3 and Montessori Program through the 12th grade, Sayre is concered about the development of the whole-child. It has been an amazing experience for my daughter. She is confident and independent yet connected and inquisitive. She is happy every morning, and excited every afternoon. She sings in spanish and is beginning to read, and she is 4! Her favorite things in the classroom are the language lessons, making her map of the contenients, and reading in the Library. And beyond her own small little world, she is part of the larger Sayre Community, interacting with the other grades and older students. We are really a part of the school. It is nurturing her development and supporting me as a parent! Sayre was definitely the right choice for us!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 81%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
Black 3% 11%
Hispanic 1% 4%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

194 North Limestone Street
Lexington, KY 40507
Phone: (859) 254-1361

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT