Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Ss Peter & Paul School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Lexington

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $142,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $670.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 28, 2014

TOP 10% BLUE RIBBON SCHOOL. (Re -certified Fall 2013) New building 2010. Faculty/staff changes, due to Catholic Diocese budget adjustments seems to be mellowing and continuing Blue Ribbon Status -No Child Left behind, is a great restart,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2013

SPPS is a wonderful school, the school has had some issues in the past couple of years, but since the new administration started Fall of 2012, this school has exceeded my expectations as a parent and a teacher. My kids have been there for 4 years and I fall more in love with the school and the people every year. The Fine Arts program is great, they get exposed to band, choir, drama, dance and many other activities. The most important to me is the Catholic Faith, the kids are being very well formed. The teachers are very caring and will do whatever it takes for your child to succeed. They have a reading and a math specialist plus a resource teacher . This school has it all!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2011

This school is on the decline. They might be in a shiny new building but the most important items get an F. Spoke to the principal (Fall 2011) and received the same song and dance. Shame they over spent on a building and lost sight of what is really important. We have had our child there for 7 years now, and she is as disappointed as are her parents. Teacher and principal turnover is unreal, and has become a problem. School has no technology/computer teacher (Fall 2011) and that is definitely a problem this day and age. Unacceptable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2010

My daughter is in 1st grade and loves her school. After only one month at SPPS, her reading and writing have improved greatly. One gets the sense that the teachers and principal care greatly about the students. Even at 7:30 in the morning everyone has a smile on their faces!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2010

the teachers are wonderful and really warm. however the parents are another story. there is not much community here and parents tend to get into little cliques. this overflows into the kids and the kids tend to do the same.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

I could not be happier that my children attend Sts. Peter and Paul School. They have made my children feel welcome and even accommodated my child who is very ill. The principal and staff are truly wonderful and mass is done at lunch time so many parents can attend. This school has been a blessing in our lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2009

I'm a retired teacher & grandmother of. Student ratios of 15-1 teachers is great, any more & teachers tend to become babysitters, as well as educators. I strongly recommend that St.s Peter & Paul make strident efforts to make this a reality once more. I have had three people ask me about my grandson's school & remarkably, the first question they ask is about student-teacher ratio, rather than scholastic quality! I do emphasize this in our conversations, but ALL THREE have felt the 20 - 25 students per instructor (esp. in Gr. 1-6 is unacceptable for their child. Thak you for your time in reading this review. Jane S Johnson


Posted May 17, 2007

This school has it all. The teachers are fabulous. They are very caring and knowledgeable. The principal and the office staff are exceptional. Every event from celebrations to weekly informational mailings are well thought out and executed professionally. The curriculum is well planned and the children are challenged but not intimidated. The Catholic faith is well celebrated by honoring holy days and weekly mass.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2007

This school has been nothing but wonderful for my son. The academics are wonderfully high and the teachers are excellent. I cannot say enough good things about SPPS. My second child will start there next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2007

It is a fine school that pushes kids to achieve. Parents are also expected to volunteer and become highly involved. It has the feel of an Ivy League school for young kids. It lacks the modern facilites, but lacks not in academics or compelling ways to learn. Please visit and see what you think. I have 2 kids there and could not be happier! My 4 year old was reading!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2007

Though SPPS is considered among the top ten percent nationally, I found the pre-school program sorely lacking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2004

S.P.P.S. is a wonderful little school. If you are looking for an excellent education with teachers who are warm, caring, experienced and committed to your child, then this is the school for you. My two children have absolutely thrived at SPPS and they are light years ahead of their public school peers academically and socially. We are so happy we made the switch. It was the best decision we ever made in regards to our children's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2004

Teachers at Sts. Peter and Paul School laid the foundation for my children who went on to excel in high school and public and private colleges and universities.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 81%
Black 6% 11%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
Hispanic 3% 4%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Lexington
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

133 Barr Street
Lexington, KY 40507
Phone: (859) 254-9257

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Sayre School
Lexington, KY







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT