Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


44 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Scapa At Bluegrass 5

Posted April 07, 2014
- a community member
I have known many students at SCAPA and I assure you they were admitted on their skill. There have been many applicants that were moderately talented, but came from wealth, influential families and were not admitted. It is comforting to blame one's rejection on factors other than one's skill and believe that those of privilege have an advantage. That IS NOT the case for SCAPA. Anyone who honestly evaluates the application process and looks at the resumes of those that are accepted will see this is accurate.

Scapa At Bluegrass 5

Posted April 06, 2014
- a parent
SCAPA is an amazing school, with wonderful and passionate teachers. My daughter is challenged academically and in her arts area. We cannot say enough about the program, and feel very blessed to have the opportunity.


Scapa At Bluegrass 5

Posted January 19, 2014
- a parent
I love this school!. My daughter is not a legacy. We do not have a lot of money and I am a single parent, so there has never been any lessons. My daughter is a drama major there and I have watched the staff encourage every student. There are no favorites. The other parents and staff have went out of their way to make sure that my daughter is able to get to all of the activities if I don't get out of work in time. She had never picked up a violin before going to this school, but 2/3 of the way through the school year she was able play simple songs properly. She is also able to read notes. There is a very high standard for academics. they encourage thinking for themselves and that there is not necessarily 1 way to solve the problem. It is true that most of the families have money, but the staff and other students/families do not treat us as if we are inferior. The students go out of their way to encourage each other. Parents are very involved at the school

Scapa At Bluegrass 1

Posted August 12, 2012
- a parent
It is not a true ARTS School. Arts training has to come from private lessons, that tend to be very expensive. There is a great deal of favoritism. There is a limited amount of staff resources so they decide who they will invest their time in. It has nothing to do with legacy families they just PICK who they like and they work them the most.. Of course these children will end up being better because they get more attention. If you complain at the school level your child will get blackballed.

Scapa At Bluegrass 1

Posted June 09, 2012
- a parent
Academically a good school. As far as arts teachers go, the teachers there aren't well trained in their particular area, aren't required to have a masters degree. The teachers there, like the students, are hand picked for their spot as teacher because they are well connected in the community, not necessarily the best person, or best trained for the teaching job. No syllabus is required from the teacher as to what they will cover each year. Not the place to get good arts training, even though as an arts school that is what they claim. The school doesn't offer a great education for all students, only their favorites, or the students that are part of legacy families--the families that have had multiple children attend the school.


Scapa At Bluegrass 5

Posted October 24, 2010
- a parent
SCAPA is like another home to my child. I love it! The teachers are more than willing to help any student and are very friendly.

Scapa At Bluegrass 2

Posted April 14, 2010
- a parent
The school academics or so so. Some teachers grade hard but are not necessarily good teachers. They get good scores because they had pick smart kids who are well educated before they get there. It is a elite school paid for by tax payer dollars. Very very political. They don't care about the individual child they care about the reputation of the school and the egos of the staff. The gifted children who go there get in because they have the best private teachers money can buy who prepare them for the auditions. Usually teachers kids get in because they have access to the good private teachers. Every now and then they will take a minority kid to show that they do that but usually the child has a hard time fitting into the school because the kids are all from different social economical backgrounds.

Scapa At Bluegrass 0
no rating

Posted November 04, 2009
- a parent
This school opens up the lives of its students to new worlds. After her first day of school there, my eight year old daughter came home and said 'Dad, these kids are just like me!'


Scapa At Bluegrass 0
no rating

Posted November 04, 2009
- a parent
SCAPA is so innovative and encouraging of children's thought process.

Scapa At Bluegrass 0
no rating

Posted October 15, 2009
- a parent
My daughter enjoys her days at SCAPA, never dreads going to school. SCAPA is what schools should be, small and caring.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Scapa At Bluegrass
400 Lafayette Parkway, Lexington, KY  40503
(859) 381-3332
Last modified Scapa At Bluegrass is a Public school that serves grades 4-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Scapa At Bluegrass Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. Top