Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cassidy Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 540 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 8, 2012

Strong parent involvement, excellent teachers and great facilities are just a few of the things that make Cassidy a great school. Our daughter loves it!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 12, 2010

There is a million Great things I can say about Cassidy Elementary. The front staff, while they might not remember your name they know what Child you belong to, which amazes me. They are big on parent involvement and encourage you to come to their school for lunch or plays or just to help out. I had two nieces (until I got my sister to switch schools) that went to another school in Lexington, that you had to give 24 hours notices just to go to lunch with them. Which made me a little wary. Cassidy always has an open door policy and I have never been made to feel that my questions or concerns weren't important to them. I know from experience that if a child is struggling they do everything that they can to bring them up to speed, my two nieces that came from a title one school, just started this year and they have a lot of teachers helping them. Without them feeling like they are being singled out. I feel very lucky to live in the Cassidy school district so that my kids can go there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

My son has always loved learning & Cassidy not only has met his needs to be challenged, but also maintained the enjoyment and fun learning can be for him as well as all the children there. The faculty and staff are outstanding in there dedication and investment in the succes of every child walking thru the halls & the cooperation & support of the students families for the school's success is amazing! I can't imagine feeling more secure that my child is in the right school & learning the best foundation for his education at any other school in Lexington (public or private) - I love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2009

We moved from Florida close to a year ago now and my son had a hard time catching up since the schools are so rotten down there. But his teacher and the principal here at Cassidy took such a personal interest in his well-being and education that he is now 1 point above grade-level! My son can read now and I'm so happy! I've tried phonics and all sorts of things at home, but I'm no teacher and I had no luck supplementing the shoddy education he received in Florida. Cassidy is a wonderful, wonderful school and each student is given individual attention. I wish he could go there forever and it's actually made us put off purchasing a house because we know that we can't afford any in that area and we'll have to move out of the city .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2007

My child has attended Cassidy for this year, and she won't be going back. Communication between parents and teachers is 'iffy' at best, with the exception of class newsletters. While my child has made some progress at this school, she's miserable, and the progress she has made has been due to being taught at home. We'd rather move out of the area than send her back to Cassidy for next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2006

I couldn't be happier with Cassidy. I have 3 children there and they love it. The teachers are fabulous and parent involvement is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2005

My grandson recently transferred to Cassidy. It has not been a pleasant experience for him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2005

My daughter came to Cassidy in November 2004 and she just loves this school. The teachers are great and they dont weigh the children down with homework which is great especially for a working mom and dad like my husband and I. Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2004

My son has been at Cassidy for almost half a year, and I am absolutely delighted with the school. It's an old building, for sure, but well maintained and very charming. His teacher is wonderful, and so are the other people running this school. After school activities are plentyful and very nice. Unfortunately the housing costs in the neighbourhood are rising rapidly, perhaps due in part to this excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2003

I have two children currently at Cassidy. It has an open atmosphere and the principal and staff are always open to parent suggestions and make you feel like a true partner in your child's education. Cassidy embraces the 'No Child Left Behind' policy, every child will leave Cassidy better educated, more well-rounded and have a enlighted sense of responsibility not only to oneself but to his/her community. Children leaving Cassidy will be more than equipped to enter middle school and better able to handle circumstances that will face them as a middle student.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 54% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 49% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 47% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
67%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 59% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 36% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students68%
Female72%
Male64%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities30%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students75%
Female81%
Male68%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students78%
Female78%
Male78%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities36%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students73%
Female70%
Male76%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities18%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students74%
Female74%
Male74%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities36%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students85%
Female83%
Male87%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities55%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
Female83%
Male75%
African American40%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students75%
Female83%
Male68%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Social Studies

All Students84%
Female98%
Male73%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students57%
Female74%
Male45%
African American20%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 81%
Black 7% 11%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 1%
Hispanic 6% 4%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 24%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1125 Tates Creek Rd
Lexington, KY 40502
Website: Click here
Phone: (859) 381-3018

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Fayette Private
Lexington, KY


Able
Lexington, KY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT