Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Lexington, KY
Students enrolled: 549

3 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Deep Springs Elementary School 4

Posted June 01, 2014
- a community member
not really impressed this year with the school, they have alot of teachers that are totally qualified to do the job and they truly care about the children. some reteaches i have questions about, some of the kids that are in the classrooms don't belong in the same classes with the other children the language that some of these children use don't need to be said around other children, when it comes to awards at the end of the year i think they fail to realize how hard some children work and get they work done. when it comes to a child being talented in arts and can draw or paint they are not recognized i just find it astounding how it works and it really bother me. as far as rating the principal he needs to spend more time welcoming parents because that is one thing he has failed to do. the teaching staff is great. there is not enough attention on bullying and letting kids get by with saying mean things. excellent staff in caferteria, the vice principal, the librarian, the resources center, make the school more welcoming for parents---the pta is excellent at this school- great custodians, i truly thank the staff and teachers

Deep Springs Elementary School 2

Posted May 31, 2014
- a parent
I was not very content with many of the rules. For example, reteaches can be good when it is in regards to bullying or misbehaving, but for not putting things away "fast" in time is just dumb. Another example, restroom breaks, who in their right mind thinks a child could only have 3 restroom breaks, not even inmates have such tight leash on "potty time". And last but not least, verbally teasing, which I consider bullying, is not being treated equally. My child moved here from another state and much bigger school, even they had better ways to handle all these rules.


Deep Springs Elementary School 4

Posted October 09, 2013
- a parent
my school is great teacher work with their students, they work to develop ways to help students with their homework and to teach them the steps to learn

Deep Springs Elementary School 5

Posted August 14, 2013
- a parent
Adam Kirk and the entire staff is exceptionally attentive to our students. The improvements and forward thinking is amazing!

Deep Springs Elementary School 5

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
I've had such a positive experience with this school both times my kids were in it. The teachers are caring as well as the office staff. I haven't had a problem with anyone.


Deep Springs Elementary School 1

Posted February 01, 2012
- a community member
Mediocre school at best. Poor emphasis on academics. Focuses on "reteaches" as a discipline method. I have a grandson whose Kindergarten year has basically been a waste at this school.

Deep Springs Elementary School 1

Posted January 14, 2011
- a community member
Why is the school ranked so low overall? We are looking to buy a house near it.

Deep Springs Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted December 01, 2009
- a parent
Our child is in her third year with this school, when she started we had doubts about the leadership of this school. We have a new Principal as of 2009 school year and we are very pleased with the leadership and the future of our daughters education. He definitley puts the children's education first.


Deep Springs Elementary School 4

Posted September 11, 2008
- a parent
This school is a wonderful school! My childrens have loved going there and have excelled. The Principal has done a great job since coming to Deep Springs 4 years ago, test scores keep going up. The teachers and staff are doing great things here and the kids are happy.

Deep Springs Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 10, 2008
- a teacher
This school is one of the worst in the city. Bad administration and overall bad school climate.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Deep Springs Elementary School
1919 Brynell Dr, Lexington, KY  40505
(859) 381-3069
Last modified Deep Springs Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Deep Springs Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top