Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Dixie Elementary Magnet School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 19, 2015
- a parent
I would like to thank all the teachers at Dixie because they are all terrefic and go way above and beyond for each student however I wish to especially thank Ms. Fox, Ms. Schweitzer and Ms. Bealer for all they've done for our granddaughter and continue to do each day. Thank You!!!

Dixie Elementary Magnet School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted December 19, 2015
- a parent
Our student has had three teachers (Ms. Fox, Ms. Schweitzer and Ms. Bealer) and all three have been fantastic.


Dixie Elementary Magnet School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted December 19, 2015
- a parent
Fortunately or unfortunately depending on your stance, I have always been of the opinion that school time should be school time and home time should be home time and the two should not infringe on the other. Children are in school all day working hard so when they get home, I believe this should be their free time to simply be kids, no homework.

Dixie Elementary Magnet School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted December 19, 2015
- a parent
We have been extremely impressed with student/teacher integrity and moralistic behavior. Our grandaughter loves this school and all the teachers she has had to date.

Dixie Elementary Magnet School 5

Posted December 19, 2015
- a parent
This is the third year our granddaughter has attended Dixie and during those three years (K,1,2) there has not been one single negative that we or our granddaughter has experienced. The teachers are phenomenal and go way beyond their normal job duties to ensure each child the very best education possible. Our granddaughter has excelled and just in reading (nationally) is reading in the top five percentile. We are very pleased with Dixie.


Dixie Elementary Magnet School 4

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
The teachers really are invested in the children that they work with. Moved from Bowling Green to Lexington last year and my boys teachers went above and beyond their regular responsibilities to help my boys adjust. They still don't like how early they have to go (neither do I), but they do like the school.

Dixie Elementary Magnet School 5

Posted February 29, 2012
- a parent
My son goes to school here currently, my daughter will start next year. I am a local real estate broker and deal with school buying decision with client all the time, we specifically chose this school because we heard so many great things about it and we strongly believe in public schools. Luckily we got in. My son is learning things that I learned in 4th or 5th grade. He simply loves his teachers, the facilities are excellent, the staff is friendly. We really like the individualized attention and the small groups based on student learning level, they give to the students. I would stress more of that for my son. At this point I have nothing bad to say about this school. They could possibly get more parent involved, but we are probably as guilty of not participating in PTA and other events. We are extremely happy and feel lucky both our children go here.

Dixie Elementary Magnet School 4

Posted December 09, 2004
- a parent
Both of my grandchildren have attended here for three years. The individual attention my older student received was instrumental in getting her to read superbly and with understanding after the failure of her previous school to address this important issue. Both students have thrived in the respectful learning environment, and teachers have been more than willing to address any issues that we brought up concerning behavior and learning. There is ample opportunity for them to use the current technology, and I can't imagine sending my grandchildren to any other school! Additionally, all staff, especially the principal, were friendly and helpful at all times.


Dixie Elementary Magnet School 5

Posted October 25, 2004
- a parent
Our fourth child is now attending Dixie Magnet Elementary school. We are very happy with the student teacher ratio, and with the help our children receive if they should need extra help. We like the positive atmosphere at Dixie and the positive role models our children encounter on a day to day basis. Dixie has several teachers who have been at Dixie for 15-20 years.

Dixie Elementary Magnet School 5

Posted March 08, 2004
- a parent
Dixie is awesome! I love the parent/teacher interaction! Independent learning is the magnet which allows for each student to move along at their own pace! The open classrooms (which is usually perceived as a 'bad' thing) works well to provide for easy transition for students! I just can't say enough wonderful things about this school...Keep up the great work!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Dixie Elementary Magnet School
1940 Eastland Parkway, Lexington, KY  40505
(859) 381-3116
Last modified Dixie Elementary Magnet School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Dixie Elementary Magnet School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top