Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public
Lexington, KY
Students enrolled: 1,935

3 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


27 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lafayette High School 4

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
Very nice teachers and many good activities. My daughter likes it so much that she refuse to move.

Lafayette High School 1

Posted May 24, 2013
- a parent
This school does not provide an education - it teaches mindless conformity. The teaching quality is very poor, especially in the English Department. The administrators don't advocate for students, but rather defend even unethical and unjust actions taken by teachers.


Lafayette High School 5

Posted February 25, 2013
- a parent
More impressed with Lafayette with each passing day. I have two kids in both the engineering and performing arts magnet programs and have found this school to exceed my expectations in academics, arts programs, and student behavior/discipline. English, foreign languages, math and sciences (stellar chemistry and AP chem) have all been extremely strong and both of my kids truly enjoy enjoy the teachers. This school is very middle class and thus gets overshadowed by some of the newer, wealthier schools in the district but recent grads have headed off to Princton, Yale, Duke, Vandy, etc... It is very possible to succeed here.

Lafayette High School 4

Posted February 18, 2013
- a parent
My son is a sophomore at Lafayette. He is attending the pre engineering program. As with any school there are teachers that I would like to skip but overall we have had a great experience. The leadership is strong and the counselors are top notch, There are extensive amounts of clubs, sports and more for any student to find their niche.

Lafayette High School 4

Posted August 01, 2012
- a parent
My child has been a student at Lafayette for two years. She is in the pre-engineering program and her math and science education to date has been second to none. I would argue that she is receiving as good if not better an education than if she were in Dunbar's MSTC program. Mrs. Waespe (pre-calc) and Mr. Matson (chemistry) are both excellent teachers. She will graduate high school with the necessary background to pursue any field needing and advanced math and science preparation. However, the Pre-Engr program does not deliver on other promises made by the coordinator in his talks to recruit middle schoolers that being bringing in engineers from industry to talk to students about careers, field trips and the like. So much more could be done and without money. ALso, I wish the school administrators would do more to promote the academic achievements of the students. SCAPA tends to dominate all the news coming out of Lafayette and SCAPA parents tend to run the school on SBDM and PTSA. It's not that they should not be recognized, it's just that there are more kids at the school then just SCAPA. This group tends to create an elitist mentality among the students in the program.


Lafayette High School 3

Posted February 22, 2012
- a community member
This is school is okay. I went here for 3 years. I dropped out my senior year because I walked into an advanced criminal justice course and they were watching Napoleon Dynamite. There are some really great teachers here, there are also some really bad ones. Good for the arts, bad for math/science students.

Lafayette High School 1

Posted October 28, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Lafayette High School 5

Posted October 08, 2009
- a parent
This is the best school ever! My child loves going here. They have the best teachers available that meet every childs needs. They also have a great library, with 30 updated computers and a printer and copy machine available to all students. They buy new books weekly, my child loves it!!!!


Lafayette High School 0
no rating

Posted September 18, 2009
- a parent
I graduated from Lafayette High School. Great teachers, great sports, great band!

Lafayette High School 2

Posted September 30, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lafayette High School
401 Reed Ln, Lexington, KY  40503
(859) 381-3474
Last modified Lafayette High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lafayette High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top