Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Stonewall Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 27, 2014

Stonewall has a lot going for it. It's in a great neighborhood, has a charismatic principal with a long tenure, and an above average degree of parent involvement. As the parent of several children who attend, the weighty disappointment to me is the lack of "individuality" for unique learning strengths and challenges. I suspect this is due in large part to the budget constraints placed on educators. Still, our children only get one chance to learn the skills they acquire in the elementary years, upon which they build a lifetime of knowledge. There seems to be more emphasis on pushing students through curriculum than in ensuring they actually learn it. In our desperation to engage students, have we forgotten about challenging them? Teachers (at least in some cases) seem to take the easier approach of using trendy literature as the primary textbook for certain courses of study. Perhaps this is becoming common across the board. Nevertheless, I would love to see this school take the lead in collaborating with parents -- teachers working to engage families AND students. I see a promising mix of faculty, staff and students that just might be the ones to take on the challenge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2014

We have been at Stonewall for a year, after attending two other Lexington elementary schools. Stonewall is by far the best! I was first amazed by the amount of communication between the teachers, parents, principal and PTA. I have never seen a more caring principal - the kids and parents love him! I joined the PTA this year, and I can attest to the fact that these parents are very involved and are always trying to find more ways to motivate the students. I'm sad that one parent had a bad experience, but I completely agree with the others that Stonewall is a wonderful place to send your kids. We'll be here for a total of 11 years, and I wouldn't want to send my kids anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2014

The previous review is simply not true. I've already had one child go through stonewall and another on their 3rd year. This person sounds like a disgruntled person in general. The teachers are good and kind. You are always going to get one or two here or there in any school that aren't the friendliest. The principal knows the children by name and knows the families. This is a good school and don't think because of one person that it's not. This school has a small town school feel even though it's not a small school in a small town. That's a good thing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2013

I think people should know that Stonewall Elementary has been a big disappointment compared to a few other school experiences in Lexington. There is a statement below by a teacher that says "every decision is made is according to what is best for the kids." Ridiculous statement coming from this school. While with some individual teachers this may be the case, it is certainly not the case for the school in general...and hasn't been the case with the leadership of this school. I have even had other parents point out pathetic tendencies within this school. The adults here, in general, are in great need of "customer service" skills before they should be granted the responsibility of teaching our children. Basic common courtesies would be a great start!! Perhaps it is complacency...perhaps a part of the system...and this is a shame. There are indeed some great teachers in this school system and I can think of a few older teachers and administrators at Stonewall that could use some job shadowing with those others...and remedial courses in manners and respect...and some attitude adjustments would go a long ways. I suggest you avoid this school if you can!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2012

Stonewall Elementary is a wonderful, caring school. I want to give an exceptional thank you and a God bless you to Mrs. Murphy who taught my grandson in First grade this year, 2011-12. He is ADHD but very loving. Mrs. Murphy saw his uniqueness and provided a him wonderful experience throughout the year. He came away from his first grade year of elementary school loving everything, especially Mrs. Murphy. Thank you, Mrs. Murphy!! I wish that T could have many more experiences with you as his teacher and I pray that he has many more teachers as wonderful, compassionate, understanding of his "special need"as you have been in this one year at Stonewall Elementary. His mother, father and his grandparents wish you the very best because you are truly an amazing, talented, creative teacher who cares for her students!! We wish you the very best!!


Posted August 1, 2011

Stonewall is a school that values community. Each and every student is unique and important. The principal knows each student by name which doesn't always happen in public schools. Along with a strong focus on academics, they focus on the whole child. My children have made amazing progress and great friends. This a place where our whole family feels welcome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

Not as good a school as it used to be. Apparently. Short staffed. Poor lunch menu (county wide). Have a tendency to NOT listen to parental concerns. Even worse, disregarding and covering up issues w/ some students to prevent involvement by authorities (at least in the recent past - according to a staff member). There is at least 1 teacher (Mrs. Lansden) which is ruining the 1st year of school for Kindergartners. Just cause a teacher has "tenure," is no reason to keep them when they're not doing a good job and providing a positive and enriching learning experience for children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

The math teachers are really nice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

Every decision is made according to what is best for the kids.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 3, 2009

Principal Gatliff and his staff of teachers are one of the most dedicated teams I have come across. My child has been at Stonewall 3 years and have been delighted with her teachers and with the wonderful office staff. I am grateful for this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2008

Stonewall is an excellent school located within a quiet suburban neighborhood. The principal is excellent and really cares. There is a lot of focus on learning and personal growth. My daughter is going to be in second grade next year and loves Stonewall!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

My wife and I love Stonewall, our Kindergartner has done very well this year. we are pleased with the class size and the Principal is excellent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2006

They can expect a lot, but the Federal standards require a minimum learning requirement. They must meet those requirements. Finally, in all fairness, I have a child who has come home distressed because they can't get their work completed because of multiple children in their class not focusing, getting up and down, etc. The behaviour of each child effects all the others. The teachers have a responsibility to protect the learning environment for all the children in their class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2005

Our son is in kindergarten. He's our one and only ,so we were scared stiff on his first day of school. We were so glad that he seemed to love it from the start. He has learned so much just in the 8 weeks of school that it makes us proud to be stonewall parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 54% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 49% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 47% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
63%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 59% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 36% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students53%
Female50%
Male56%
African American20%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students66%
Female69%
Male63%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students77%
Female80%
Male73%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities70%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students64%
Female65%
Male64%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities40%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students75%
Female85%
Male61%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities70%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students85%
Female87%
Male82%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities90%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students49%
Female45%
Male54%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged10%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students68%
Female63%
Male73%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Social Studies

All Students84%
Female79%
Male90%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students57%
Female72%
Male37%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2011.

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
90%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
49%
of schools in the state are Average
29%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20141What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20142What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 K-PREP and EOC results from the Kentucky Department of Education.

2 This rating is based 2012-13 median growth percentiles from the Kentucky Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 81%
Black 5% 11%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 1%
Hispanic 4% 4%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 16%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Japanese
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Japanese

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3215 Cornwall Dr
Lexington, KY 40503
Phone: (859) 381-3079

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT