Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12 & Ungraded|Public district
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bryan Station High School 1

Posted April 05, 2016
- a parent
The one year that we were there, the leadership at that school leaves a lot to be desired. My daughter did not learn anything at that school, except how to fight.

Bryan Station High School 5

Posted March 22, 2011
- a student
I graduated from the Spanish Immersion Program at Bryan Station (a K-12 program in Fayette County where students graduate fluent in Spanish). The diverse student population has prepared me for the real world, and the academic program has prepared me for college. I was admitted to seven great schools, including Georgetown University, William and Mary, and Davidson College. What is truly great about Bryan Station is the lack of cliques, everyone gets along and interacts, which is truly rare at the high school level.


Bryan Station High School 1

Posted August 20, 2010
- a community member
As an alum of BSHS, I can say with certainty that this school is an embarrassment to Lexington and the state of Kentucky. Racism among students is rampant, fights are alarmingly frequent, and most students have absolutely no respect for the teachers or other students. Although I didn't seek violence, I was involved in eight altercations. I strongly advise parents to send their children to any of the other schools in Lexington, where their children can receive a far better education. There is a reason why BSHS is always last among Lexington high schools in terms of academic rating. With the exception of a handful of teachers, this school is an unmitigated disaster.

Bryan Station High School
no rating

Posted June 16, 2009
- a parent
My daughter came to this school from a small rural high school. I was concerned because of the negative comments I had heard around Lexington about the safety and academics at Bryan Station. So wrong! She has had a wonderful 2 years here and is starting her senior year with many opportunities she wouldn't have had in a rural setting. She has experienced a rich cultural diversity and has grown as a person. She has taken many advanced and AP classes and been exposed to art, culture and science in the school and on field trips. She achieved a top leadership position at the school and scored distinguished in all content areas. The school has a community atmosphere and the administration are warm and approachable. The teachers my daughter had have all been wonderful with few exceptions. My only complaint - parents need to be more involved at the school.

Bryan Station High School 4

Posted June 15, 2009
- a parent
Bryan Station is a gem that many just don't know about. As parents of students in a learning community who chose to attend this school, we are pleased with the opportunities provided to students in a small and caring environment. The diversity at Station is broad, and yet there is a special cohesiveness and respect by most! State-of-the-art school building, no doubt, but it's the sports and extra-curricular for most students who want to join that I am impressed with. Academics? Right up there with the rest! Who knew? This school does not get the publicity it should. My child took all the honors and AP courses offered at other Lex high schools, graduated at the top of the class and was admitted to list of private colleges - including Ivy League - all with merit scholarship. Kids are the better prepared for life from the unique BSHS experience!


Bryan Station High School 5

Posted November 22, 2008
- a student
This school is my everything it taught me everything i didn't know and more. i taught a lot of negative thing about Bryan Station but there just myth which every school was them but wat da hey we do wat we want to and nobody can stop us we do our wrk but u dnt have to pressure us into dong it cuz we wont but i love Bryan Station High School we rock!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Bryan Station High School 5

Posted June 22, 2008
- a student
Racial diversity... room to grow... beautiful new facility... excellent teachers... recipe for success!

Bryan Station High School 3

Posted April 29, 2008
- a parent
To the Dec 29 poster. What racial violence? All the Lexington schools face the same issues regarding race. One fight in a hall is not an outbreak of racial violence. My daughter is a student at Station. She had a few academic issues this semester. I have worked closely with my daughter's teachers to remedy the situation. They have bent over backwards to help my daughter improver her grades.


Bryan Station High School 1

Posted December 29, 2007
- a parent
This school has been nothing but a nightmare for my family since the start of the school year. With all the racial violence that has been down played in the media and by the school administration. Any parent that really cares for the safety and well being of their child will steer clear of Bryan Station Senior High.

Bryan Station High School 4

Posted August 03, 2007
- a student
Bryan Station was a school that gave you every opportunity to excel in whatever you want to. The extracurricular activities that I did while I attended school gave me the motivation and determination that I never knew I had. It was a great experience and true diverse. BS allowed me to overcome a lot of obstacles that other schools didn't have. It truly taught me a lot. The teachers there are there because they want to be. I truly would support BS if I lived back in Lexington again!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bryan Station High School
201 Eastin Rd, Lexington, KY  40505
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (859) 381-3308
Last modified Bryan Station High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top