Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Lexington, KY
Students enrolled: 565

4 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


James Lane Allen Elementary School 5

Posted September 27, 2011
- a parent
Overall wonderful school with fabulous teachers. Kids are actively engaged in learning. Faculty, staff, and administrators all work together for the well being of the students.

James Lane Allen Elementary School 3

Posted August 08, 2011
- a parent
jla is a great school! The staff makes you really feeel comfortable when you come to the school. there are some really great teachers but I do think some of the teachers are too nice and the principal is sometimes a little too easy with the students. I mean its wonderful that they treat their students nice but at times they are a little too relaxed with the students. great activities. i think more parents can get involved. overall a good school.


James Lane Allen Elementary School 5

Posted April 15, 2011
- a community member
this is a great school because i go there and you do all sorts of thaings we have fun a nice techers thats all

James Lane Allen Elementary School 4

Posted April 07, 2009
- a parent
I have been consistently impressed with my son's teacher as well as the supporting staff. They are friendly when our family is visiting him at school. My son is always eager to go to school. They have a wonderful behavioral system so the children can earn special prizes and awards for good behavior. I do feel like they are trying to work with the parents/community to increase involvement within the school.

James Lane Allen Elementary School 5

Posted January 10, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


James Lane Allen Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted February 07, 2008
- a parent
the principal and the teachers are the best at working with the parents and children about any issue. they always return phone calls quickly. my children look forward to going to school every day

James Lane Allen Elementary School 4

Posted November 16, 2007
- a parent
Let me first talk about the great things. The children are wonderful. They are sweet and loving and only need the slightest bit of kindness and encouragement to be motivated to do great things. The principal is fantastic (as are the ap and psa). There are other great people there - I can't give every teacher a rave, but they are as good as other schools, it's just a style thing. What is wrong with the school? The buzz is that the school has been harmed, at least testwise, by demographics and redistricting. Parents do not participate and the overall sense is that they are not encouraged to participate in a meaningful way. In many other elementary schools around here, parents are in and out, reading, organizing, planning, but at this school I'm not fully convinced that teachers and others even want such a model. This school needs a boost.

James Lane Allen Elementary School 3

Posted October 17, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

James Lane Allen Elementary School
1901 Appomattox Rd, Lexington, KY  40504
(859) 381-3456
Last modified James Lane Allen Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
James Lane Allen Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top