Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Lexington, KY
Students enrolled: 2,120

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Paul Laurence Dunbar High School 5

Posted March 23, 2012
- a parent
This school has a great teaching staff - for the most part they are very committed and involved - we have several very exceptional teachers! The opportunities for student involvement are great.

Paul Laurence Dunbar High School 5

Posted September 05, 2008
- a parent
Great academics, great atmosphere, solid instructors, great extracurricular programs.


Paul Laurence Dunbar High School 5

Posted August 28, 2008
- a community member
I am proud to say that I am a graduate from Paul Laurence Dunbar High. This school opened several doors for me allowed me to achieve in areas where it did not seem possible. The faculty and staff interact with the students and are there for students if they need them. Students are labled- which allows children to feel proud about who they are and their preferences. One should expect to be challenged in the classroom. I can say that everyone whom I have ever encountered who has attended or is currently enrolled has pride in PLDHS. Props to my former school, teachers and staff. Continue doing an excellent job*:)

Paul Laurence Dunbar High School 5

Posted August 16, 2008
- a student
I love it, the sporting tradition is huge. Im proud to be on the football team

Paul Laurence Dunbar High School 5

Posted August 03, 2008
- a parent
Top academic programs, excellent althletic programs, music department one of the best in state and nation.


Paul Laurence Dunbar High School 1

Posted March 13, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Paul Laurence Dunbar High School 5

Posted November 15, 2006
- a former student
I attended Dunbar from 1996-2006, and my youngest brother is now a freshman at Dunbar. The quality of education at Dunbar is excellent; students are challenged both academically and extracurricularly to excel.

Paul Laurence Dunbar High School 4

Posted May 08, 2006
- a former student
I graduated from Paul Laurence Dunbar in 2004 as a member of the MSTC program. I am currently at Stanford University. Many of the students in my class attended the top universities in the nation, and I really attribute it to the great MSTC program, and Dunbar in general.


Paul Laurence Dunbar High School 4

Posted December 12, 2004
- a student
You will recieve a great education at Paul Laurence Dunbar H.S., but they are very strict with rules. Like being are suspended for having to many tardies. They also have very friendly teachers.

Paul Laurence Dunbar High School 5

Posted August 10, 2003
- a parent
I had two children at this school. Both graduated and went to Washington University in St Louis. Both have done extremely well there and the eldest is at law School in Washington DC. My children went through private schools until they went to Dunbar and I found this school to be exceptional.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Paul Laurence Dunbar High School
1600 Man O' War Blvd, Lexington, KY  40513
(859) 381-3546
Last modified Paul Laurence Dunbar High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Paul Laurence Dunbar High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top