Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Lady Of Lourdes School

Private | PK-8 | 454 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Louisville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $219,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 6, 2014

From the past reviewer I've noticed that they do not know how to spell very accurately and that I think that needs to be addressed very quickly. My kids go their and we plan to leave soon because the principle is very poor on handling bullying situations. My husband and I are taking our kids to St. Francis of Assisi because we've heard that bullying is not a problem at St. Francis of Assisi. I've also heard that SFA has a great science, spanish, and math curriculum. If your a parent and is looking at going to Our Lady of Lourdes I would not suggest to enroll.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2014

I went to Lourdes K-8 and I hated it. Everything was fine until Jr. High. If you are advanced they will to nothing about it. If there is an issue the principal and teachers will sweep it under the rug. No matter what the principal will always side with the teacher. We are treated in a way where we should be seen not heard.


Posted July 31, 2009

My second grader has been here from the beginning, and I could not be happier with his education. The school offers a friendly, christian-based atmosphere for child to learn and grow. The techniques used by the teachers offer a wide range tools and curriculum. I encourage any one interested, to take a tour and visit OLOL.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2008

i lve it and it got a blue ribben aword it's realley fun the teachers are nice and my friends are nicd=ce it's awsome!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 17, 2008

My child goes to Our Lady of Lourdes and he loves it there. The school offers a good catholic foundation which will foster respect, love, understanding and a caring nature in a child. I have to coment on one of the reviews where the person concerned has a problem if children are restrained from handling money. I personally think this restriction is required to help instill in a child the importance of obedience. If a child needed help, approaching the teacher with that concern would have solved the problem. Correcting a child constantly for doing something wrong is what is expected from a good educational institution since the foundation of a good future starts here. We love OLOL and will send all our children there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2008

My child went to Lourdes. I can say that they do prepare your child well for high school, however, the leadership there is a problem. Students are not listened to, they are expected to be seen and not heard. I wouldn't say that is a great example of a Christian education.


Posted June 3, 2008

Only send your child to Lourdes if: 1) you want a good Catholic education 2) you want teachers to have high expectations for your child and 3) you want your child to be held accountable. Our Lady of Lourdes School offers each student the opportunity to reach their full potential. Lourdes students who have applied themselves are well prepared to enter high school.


Posted April 3, 2008

After making the decision to place my child in this school I have regretted it ever since. The children are taught not to help others. Some get detentions for giving money to a students who forget their lunch, for sharing paper, pens, etc. Several children have left the school this year due to this problem. They are constantly trying to catch the children doing wrong. I thought my children would learn good morals by attending Catholic schools. Now I wish I would have made the decision to place them in public schools where this would not take place. My child will not be returing next year. --Before placing your child here, do your research and ask other parents their opinions.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 99% 81%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Black 0% 11%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 4%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Louisville
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

510 Breckenridge Lane
Louisville, KY 40207
Phone: (502) 895-5122

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Friends School
Louisville, KY


The Brook-Dupont
Louisville, KY


Holy Spirit School
Louisville, KY


Walden School Corporation
Woodlawn Park, KY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT