Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Holy Trinity Parish School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Louisville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $219,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 19, 2014

There is no way to sugarcoat this or say this in a politcially correct/polite way so I'm just going to lay it out there: If you are considering sending your child to this school, do NOT DO IT. I graduated from HT a few years ago and have first hand experience with the faculty, staff, and students. The girls are into cliques and if you aren't in with the "popular" girls, you don't even get the pleasure of being invisible or unnoticed. No, you are talked about both behind your back and to your face. I had a lot of self esteem issues solely because of this. When I sought help from counselors, they did nothing because the bullying wasn't "physical" and many of these bullies had parents who gave money generously to both school and parish. For boys it isn't much easier: If you are not into sports or on the BEST sports team (again, you won't get on one of those unless you have money or know the coach), then you are again, picked on and considered an outsider. Marching to the beat of your own drum is largely discouraged by both students and staff and it leads to a non diverse environment. If you're looking at this school, I would strongly recommend looking somewhere else.


Posted October 11, 2010

My daughter loves it at HT and the communication with parents is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2009

This school will pick at every little thing they can. I would not reccomend sending your child here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2009

Holy Trinity Is An awesome school! i think every kid should go there the teachers are so educational!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2007

I think the recognition as a National Blue Ribbon School speaks many words for the academic quality you'd find at Holy Trinity. A perfect environment, no. But when you look at the other local affordable alternatives, you'll be hard pressed to beat this as the best choice out there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2007

I think Holy Trinity is an excellent school. They teach the kids right from wrong and how not to back-talk. The teachers have been there for 15-20 years but always do new things for the students. They can play games but learn at the same time. It is a blue ribbon school and 58% of people get academic scholarships compared to other schools who only have about 15%. Holy Trinity prepares all students for High School and everyone who went to High School said since Holy Trinity was strict it makes High School a breeze. I am proud of Holy Trinity and they also have P.E.P. classes for kids after school. This helps them if they are struggling or want to do a fu activity. I recommend Holy Trinity to everybody because it is the greatest school around!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2007

It's a really big school where you could be considered just a number. Comparable to Holy Spirit in academics, which are not great. There is bus service so that is the only reason we stay.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2006

I have been at Holy Trinity for 8 years now. I read a few of the other reviews and could not disagree more about the staff. We transferred frrom another parish and were welcomed with open arms. My son who was making the transition during junior high ws made to feel as if he were the most important student they had. I never have walked into the school that I am not greeted with a hello and how can we help The educaton has been second to none. My son went on to St. X and excelled. We can never thank this school enough for all it has done for all our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2006

My daughters have been attending Holy Trinity Parish School for seven years and have loved every minute of it. My three daughters have had positive academic and social experiences throughout their schooling at Holy Trinity Parish School. The administrative staff has always been welcoming and their leadership has been outstanding. The school has always welcomed parent involvement and I have taken this to heart by being an involved parent. I have been in the classroom helping with each of my daughters in many different areas; writing centers, reading centers, holiday parties, etc. The teachers have always welcomed parents and believe the foundation of the school is partly based on parent involvement. The open door policy at Holy Trinity has always impressed me. I am a proud parent of three daughters who love Holy Trinity Parish School and wouldn't have it any other way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2006

I attended Holy Trinity and then went to public school where I did not learn anything new until junior year! They are ahead of the game. I am now a sucessfull local resturaunt owner. Did not like school then but must now recomend.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 20, 2006

I went to a catholic grade school in louisville and was very excited to send our child to holy trinity school. It was a very dissapointing experience. The staff was not very inviting or friendly, our child was not learning or enjoying going to school. We were very unhappy about the overall experience and would not recommend it to anyone looking for a loving environment for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2006

Holy Trinity is a school that is great in academics but lacking everywhere else. The staff is very unfriendly and not very helpful to parents or students. The overall experience was horrible and we would not recommend it to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 98% 81%
Hispanic 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Black 0% 11%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Louisville
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

423 Cherrywood Road
Louisville, KY 40207
Phone: (502) 897-2785

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Walden School Corporation
Woodlawn Park, KY




Holy Spirit School
Louisville, KY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT