Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Holy Spirit School

Private | K-8 | 413 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Louisville

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $137,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $650.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 23, 2012

We have been at Holy Spirit for 5 years. Our children have had great academic success at this school. It is large enough to have 2 classes per grade but small enough that the principal and teachers know our kids names and grade levels. The teachers would call me at home or come to my car at carpool with concerns they had. ( I encouraged communication to address things quickly). The students go to mass weekly and in 2nd grade there is a focus on faith and First Communion. There is a preoccupation on football and trophies with quite a few parents, although the principal is not interested so much, which I liked. This year they had some great after-school camps such as "Harry Potter potions" and creative art for the Holidays... Great school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2007

We were new to Holy Spirit last year after transfering from another Catholic school in Louisville. Holy Spirit is a godsend to our family. The principal is spectacular. She is very involved and energetic. All of the teachers have been very impressive. We love the small, friendly feel of Holy Spirit. Discipline is handled appropriately and parents, for the most part, are not ridiculously competitive. The administration does a beautiful job of keeping parents involved but not letting them take over by running the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2007

The Blue Ribbon Award is based on a set formula of complaince. Holy Spirit along with some other area (Catholic Schools only qualify) schools received this award. It is somewhat misleading. While greateful that Holy Spirit does assist children with special needs, it does seem to fail to assist children that are brighter than average, leaving them ill- prepared for high school. We compete in AA league of sports not AAA. There is day care program after school. Teachers vary as far as quality, most are average. Extra activities include sports, scrapobooking and photography for older kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2007

Holy Spirit was just given the honor of a Blue Ribbon School - which puts it in a class all by itself. We are thrilled to be a part of such a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2007

The carpool seems to always be in transition, always changing. They offer basic sports and play in the smaller league not the top league. The offer football basketball swimming volleyball. They really do not have an Arts department but have art class and music class. They are able to accomidate my child that requires an IEP (Individual Education Plan) for some learning deficiances, that is the main reason we are there. A lot of Catholic Elm. schools will not bend for that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2007

Overall disappointed. However, they will work with children with learning differences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2007

Parents are a problem here. They can cause a lot of problems for teachers and other parents without warrant. Parents do not allow children to be repremanded. Teachers are not backed by administration.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 3, 2007

Holy Spirit was definitely the right choice for my son. The community feel, wonderful teachers, and a fabulous principal make Holy Spirit a prime example of quality education. The best part is my son loves it! The future is bright for our children at this exceptional school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2007

We love Holy Spirit. This is our fourth year here and we are very happy with the teachers, principle and parents. The teachers in each grade may have different styles, but they are all great. The parent involvement is great. You can be as active or inactive as you choose. I give a big thank you to all the staff and parents I see day in and day out. You give so much time and energy to make HS a great school. I really appreciate it. Our principle has done great things for our school. Our enrollment is up, the parents feel welcome and, most importantly, our kids are doing great. Keep up the great work Holy Spirit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2007

We have been a part of the Holy Spirit Community for over 5 years now. We love it! Our teachers have been beyond our expectations so far. Our principle is genuinely concerned for the well being of all our children. We are a large parish with a small parish feel. (almost everyone is friendly) We have moved since joining the parish and we live closer to 3 other catholic schools. We considered moving parishes due to the distance, but couldn't bare to leave all the great friends our family has made. If you are looking for a great school, with great teachers and families, come check us out!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2007

Our family has been at Holy Spirit for three years and each year it gets better. There is a true sense of 'family' at Holy Spirit. We looked at many schools before joining Holy Spirit and truly feel blessed that we decided on this fantastic school. Thanks to the hard working, loving teachers, principal, and staff who make our kids school experience so positive and exciting. And, congratulations on the Blue Ribbon Award!! You deserve it!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 85%
Asian 2% N/A
Black 1% 11%
Hispanic 1% 3%
Two or more races 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Louisville
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

322 Cannons Ln
Louisville, KY 40206
Phone: (502) 893-7700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT