Advertisement
Advertisement

Holy Family School

Private | K-8 | 206 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Louisville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $110,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $660.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 14, 2013

Best school and the friendliest teachers ever! As long as you apply your self you will be very smart. Since it has smaller class sizes Holy Family truly is one big family!


Posted December 4, 2011

Holy Family School is the perfect school for your child to attend. It is not a huge school, but we all know eachother. The teachers are challenging and fun at the same time. Our teacher and staff try to help to students move with confidence into the world. I love the junior high program, it feels like high school. We switch classes and have different teachers. Our wonderful principal has organized many fun things to do with the whole school as a family. We do a lot of service and charity work. We collect cans, toilet paper, easter baskets, hats, gloves, board games, scarves, etc. WE ARE SMALL, BUT MIGHTY!!!! GO BEARS :))


Posted April 22, 2010

Tremendous staff! Small classroom size-great attention to students. A+
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2006

I go to Hoyl Family, and I'm in the 7th grade. I absolutly LOVE it! We have very good teachers, and many extra activities. We focus a lot on Stewardship. A couple years ago, 3 teachers actually wrote a book about it. We always do a lot of service. This year for the can drive, we had around 3,000 cans! I really enjoy the enviroment. It's not one of those huge schools, everyone knows who you are. I've always enjoyed playing sports. We have one 3 City Championships in the last 2 years. Two in volleyball, and one in track. We also have 2 runner-ups. I was one 2 of the City Championship teams, and both the runner-ups. The teachers are amazing. They can help on almost everything. I love this school, and I will miss it when i graduate!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 16, 2006

Holy Family-the name says it all! We've been blessed to be a part of Holy Family for 3 years now. The teachers & staff extend their hearts to the children and their families. The minute you walk through the door you feel the sense of unity this school brings. My daughter loves going to school, not just to see her friends, but is excited about learning. Her test scores prove that. The Spanish, Art and Music programs are outstanding. She is actually teaching me Spanish! The teachers have this ability to bring out the very best in the children. They have taught my daughter that learning is fun. I have the comfort of knowing that my daughter is cared for and learning at her highest potential. Any function you attend-you will always see smiling Holy Family parents there lending a helping hand. You truly are 'Family' here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2004

In our 76th year, Holy Family School is a relatively small Catholic school with a rich tradition. We have an dedicated faculty and staff who inspire our kids to be the best they can be. Our test scores show the high standards our teachers set. We have lots of co-curricular programs that are sometimes absent in much larger schools; programs such as Spanish, art, music, library, p.e., and computer, as well as divorce support, self-esteem, peer mediation, many clubs, and sports, just to name a few. Our parent involvement is second to none. Holy Family is just like an extended family to those who attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

The best jewel in Ky ! This is a small school with big things to offer! The principal is a dedicated, hard working person, always thinking of creative ways to make learning fun. The staff are faith-filled people who truly care about each and every student and wants to see them succeed. The teachers are the best I have ever seen. The primary grades have very dedicated and energetic teachers that get the kids excited about learning. The middle school is outstanding, with brilliant teachers who have a lot of experience to offer, and truly prepare the students for high school. Holy Family is one of the very few schools in the city that offer so much to students. I watched my kids along with the rest of the school in a Christmas program this past year, and it was unbelievable! The kids put on a flawless performance with hand bells and they did a beautiful job! Holy Family has an accomplished music director who believes that every child has something to offer to music and has instilled that confidence in all students. In addition to the outstanding music program, there is a wonderful Spanish teacher who is really from Spain! She has taught the kids not only the language, but about spanish speaking cultures all over the world. I don't think there is any one more knowledegable or patient to be teaching kids of this age this subject. The art program is also an outstanding creative outlet the kids have learned so much about. Then there's all the extra cirricular activities offered at the school. I know there is a max of words accepted here - so I will only advise you to contact the schold for more about this great little jewel in Louisville. I have 3 children, one who graduated from Holy Family 3 years ago, one about to graduate 8th grade this year and one in 2nd grade. There is not a better school around!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Two or more races 51% N/A
White 46% 85%
Hispanic 2% 3%
Black 1% 11%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • ACE
  • NCEA
  • NIPSA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Louisville
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3934 Poplar Level Rd
Louisville, KY 40213
Phone: (502) 458-4531

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Peace Academy
Louisville, KY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT