Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Assumption High School

Private | 9-12 | 886 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Louisville

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $200,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $720.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

546 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 6, 2009

Assumption was one of the greatest experiences of my life! It was so much fun to attend such a wonderful school where you really learned to be yourself!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

assumption not only taught me academics, but how to apply them in my life. i learned not only what to study, but how to study through the psp program. the teachers and other staff were always there when i needed help in a subject, even when that subject was my own life. the values and morals that were upheld by the staff and passed on to the students are still valuable in my life today. i enjoyed the opportunities provided and the environment. i made life long friends at assumption, and our bonds were strengthened by the yearly retreats we went on and the class spirit that we shared through walks and other events. i hope to one day have children who will enjoy and learn through their high school experience as much as i did.


Posted November 6, 2009

I could not have imagined high school to be any better than what my Assumption experience was. The teachers fully prepared me for a higher level of education, and the friendships I made I am sure will last the rest of my life!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 6, 2009

Assumption provided a safe and nurturing place for my daughter to learn about life. Ms. Berry, Ms. Baughman and Ms. Fieldhouse are awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

Assumption provided an environment where I had no obstacles to learning. It also felt like home from day one. My four years there were fantastic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

I graduated from Assumption High School last year and I love everything about the place! I recommend Assumption to every girl I know. When I have kids my daughters will definitely be attending Assumption.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

Assumption has student-faculty relationships that are especially close and help the growth of all involved. It's relaxed, but very much academically centered. Great place to be, and the longer I've been gone the more I realize how much it has helped me grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

AHS was a place where I got to become myself. I was able to grow into who i want to be with no strings attached. It was a financial struggle for my parents, but they tell me all the time how they wouldnt have changed a thing, it was the best money they had ever spent. I would go back and teach in a heartbeat :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 5, 2009

I would never regret going to Assumption. This place changed my life and has introduced me to people that I will be friends with for the rest of my life. Asummption is just plain ol awesome! I'm glad my sister is there now since I graduated! Assumption deserves this opportunity!


Posted November 5, 2009

I have volunteered with several of the young ladies from Assumption & I'm very proud of them for always making a positive difference in our community!!!


Posted November 5, 2009

AHS gave me the confidence and support to reach for my dreams. I love this place!!!


Posted November 5, 2009

Assumption did an awesome job, in helping my daughters become confident young ladies!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

Assumption has been fabulous for my daughter!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

I don't think that any other school has pep rallies where they make the teachers ride around on motorized toilets. AHS is a one-of-the-kind environment where they students and faculty bond and life-long friendships are formed, all while students get a wonderful education. I graduated two years ago, but still miss it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 5, 2009

Assumption High School provided me with a secure, loving environment in which to spread my wings and discover what it truly means to 'be real' to myself and others. Not only is the academic program excellent, but the extracurricular activities provide ample opportunity for each and every young woman to expand their horizons and reach out to others. The community of Assumption became my second family. Class of '07


Posted November 5, 2009

Two daughters graduated from Assumption, one daughter currently attending. Both daughters that graduated, graduated with honors, very involved, both were Governor's scholars and both are very involved with their college community, involved with their schools and are making straight A's. Assumption did a fantastic job preparing them for college and for life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

I never had to shave my legs! Assumption provides a close community focused on empowering and educating young women and encourages them to be confident, beautiful leaders.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 5, 2009

Wonderful teachers, retreats, and students get a quality eduacation and a chance to learn and grow among their peers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

Staff is caring and has high expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

I like Assumption High School because of its outstanding academic classes. In addition, the teachers were caring and dedicated for the better well being of every young girl.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 81%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Black 2% 11%
Hispanic 2% 4%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • All girls
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (502) 454-8411

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Louisville
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2170 Tyler Lane
Louisville, KY 40205
Website: Click here
Phone: (502) 458-9551

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Atherton High School
Louisville, KY


Brooklawn
Louisville, KY


Boys Haven
Louisville, KY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT