Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Assumption High School

Private | 9-12 | 886 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Louisville

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $200,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $720.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

547 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 16, 2014

Assumption was by far the best decision I have made this far in my life and you are free to be yourself here. Teachers are wonderful and really want you to succeed. I was more then prepared for college by the time i graduated. Small class sizes and block scheduling so you have time to study and do homework within two days. Definitely felt at home and loved by everyone. So many things to get involved with and you really find friends here who love you. love going back and visiting.


Posted September 24, 2013

I graduated from Assumption ten years ago. The athletic programs it offered led to a full scholarship in college, and it's academic programs prepared me for higher education and my career. When I entered my freshman year, I was shy and not confident in myself. Leaving, I was outspoken and possessed leadership qualities. I am still in close contact with many of my friends from AHS, and I would absolutely recommend this school to anyone!


Posted October 24, 2011

Assumption is an excellent school that challenges their students. They offer a variety of class levels and electives. I transferred my sophomore year from a public school and was amazed by the differences in the school's facilities. The teachers and counselors are amazing, I can actually say I love going to school everyday. The AP program is one of the best around, and I love my schedule. My teachers actually challenge me, unlike my old school. The care and love seeing us reach our highest potential. The student's here are welcoming to new peer's, I was greeted with open arms. They offer great tuition aid, without it I wouldn't be able to go here. I truly ache for others who aren't as fortunate and don't get to go here. When comparing Assumption's ACT average to JCPS, it's like night and day. I never want to leave this place, it's like home to me.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 9, 2009

Assumption High School is an amazing place where the girls are respected and are provided an outstanding education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2009

i loved assumptoin. it was a great community of people and they really prepared you for the future! Go Rockets.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2009

My sister goes to Assumption and absolutely loves it. She has alot of friends and enjoys almost all of her classes!


Posted November 7, 2009

Two of my daughters previously went to Assumption and my youngest is currently attending. I could not be more pleased with AHS for preparing my daughters to be educated, independent women. My money was well spent!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2009

Assumption was the key for my daughter to become a strong, independent, confident young woman. They nurture the heart, soul, and spirit of their girls, not just their minds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2009

Extremely pleased with the way AHS nutures the minds and spirits of these girls and gives them the courage and confidence to succeed when they move on!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2009

Just an outstanding school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2009

excellence in academics and a genuine desire, expressed in numerous ways, to nurture its students so that they become the best they can be as women who care about themselves and others
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2009

High standards in a nurturing, family-like environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2009

My daughter went to assumptions with a very opinion of her self came, when she graduated she knew that she was on top of the world and could become whatever she wanted to do!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2009

I was surprised at how Assumption strives to make sure each student finds there own niche. My daughter's growth both educationally and as a person has been great. Assumption has made that happen. It was the perfect fit for her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2009

I love its strong academic program. I know my daughter will be well prepared for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2009

Assumption High School has been the most wonderful school for my girls. I am so happy that we choose this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2009

Assumption is a great place because it provides a wonderful enviroment for girls to allow them to become successful young women.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2009

The faculty and staff are people who truly care about the girls.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2009

the teachers are great and i always feel welcomed
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2009

It was the best 4 years of my life. I wouldn't be the same person if I had not gone there. I would go back in a second if I had the chance!!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 81%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Black 2% 11%
Hispanic 2% 4%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • All girls
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (502) 454-8411

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Louisville
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2170 Tyler Lane
Louisville, KY 40205
Website: Click here
Phone: (502) 458-9551

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Atherton High School
Louisville, KY


Brooklawn
Louisville, KY


Boys Haven
Louisville, KY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT