Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Ascension School

Private | PK-8 | 215 students

Small class size, athletics, parent involvement, technology,cross fit kids

 
 

Living in Louisville

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $135,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $720.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 12 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 18, 2014

The curriculum, even in Kindergarten, challenged and motivated my young learner. I am amazed at the pace of his development. Love this school and the community/family it has become!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2014

My daughters educational development since entering Ascension has improved dramatically. When she has to miss school for holiday breaks, weather, or illness she is truly upset. I love that she looks forward to school every day. It is comforting to see how respectful all the children are to each other, and passing adults. They greet each other with respect, and hold doors for one another. I cannot imagine a better experience for my daughter. Looking forward to our future at Ascension!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2014

I am an administrator for the public schools and understand all that goes into education. Ascension has nailed it! The curriculum is challenging and the teachers are responsive. There are so many innovative programs and my fifth grader comes home happy and motivated!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

Ascension Catholic School is a small school with a big heart and wide open opportunities. We are one of the few Catholic Elementary Schools in the Louisville area that is using ipads in the classroom. Next year the plan is to integrate them more fully in the classroom. We have a phenomenal learning environment that is enhanced by our commitment to remaining a small school. Each child gets more individual attention and has a greater chance for success. We are a great school!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 9, 2014

Ascension school provides an excellent education while fostering my children's sense of community and self. It is a small school that embodies the spirt of family. Class size is small, allowing teachers to spend individual time with all students and really get to know the parents. I would highly recommend Ascension School to anyone looking for a quality education for their child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

My son's school is awesome. Close nit, family environment. Great education, high test scores, great sports programs (multiple city championships this year).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

I have 3 children in public schools. My husband and I decided to place our youngest at Ascension this year because his entire family attended years ago. We could NOT have chosen better! This school provides a top notch education that also focuses on building meaningful relationships, learning about Christ and responsibility. Every day I am amazed at what my child has learned in pre-K. He knows all 50 states! The class sizes are small enough for one on one attention. The teachers are genuinely caring and friendly. The parents are involved and very welcoming. They are one big family. I truly feel that my child will be ready to accomplish anything and will be ready for what life will throw at him with this type of education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

I am thrilled to have my child starting off her education at a great school with great educators! I've been impressed with the use of technology and experiential learning exposure. This is a great school and a great community to be a part of!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

My oldest daughter moved from her previous school to Ascension this past year. We also decided to enroll our 4 year old in the Junior kindergarten program. We have been thrilled with our experience!! The teachers and staff are so dedicated and amazing. Emails are answered promptly which is a huge change from our last school. The change from schools was effortless and awesome and my youngest had a smooth transition into school. We are so happy to be a part of the Ascension family!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

I went to Ascension many years ago and now my youngest child is now attending. The education, sports programs, and community activities are hands down the best in the city. Just the atmosphere and faculty make you feel like you belong . Keep up the great work and GO LONGHORNS !!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

My son studies in this school was the best decision my husband and I made. We are residents permanents here, my son first language is not English but I can see how much my son improved in all areas specially in reading. I never saw my son be so happy and enthusiastic with any other school here in Kentucky as he is happy at Ascension. Great people, great learn!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

Ascension was the answer we were looking for as we searched for a school and community for our family. The curriculum is innovative and focused on the individual students need to succeed. Ascension understands that for students to be successful they need the appropriate tools-Ipads, SmartBoards, PE pockets, CrossFit for Kids program, successful athletic programs..the list goes on. The school spirit is evident in the excitement of the students, staff, and principal. The community is welcoming to all families with opportunities to participate, socialize, and lead if that is your interest. Ascension has provided more than we asked for and our kids are thriving educationally, spiritually, and socially.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2012

My children and now my grandchildren are/have attended Ascension. I have always been impressed with the strong accademic standards, moral values and comunity spirit. The interaction between students, teachers and parents is amazing.


Posted June 11, 2012

We have been at Ascension for six years and I love it. It is small enough so everyone knows your name but large enough to challenge my children. There are plenty of extra activities - great music programs, fabulous art teacher, plenty of sports to choose from, Quick Recall, Robotics, Minds in Motion, etc. Plus our test scores are always great. We have been very happy here. Most of the teachers and staff are great and truly enjoy working with the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2009

Our family is new to Ascension this school year. Before we came we attended another catholic school and we were not pleased with the education. Ascension is simply awesome, the students are challenged, but the teachers are fair. The sports programs are okay, but the people are very welcoming and very kind. Go Longhorns!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2009

My three children go to school here and Im very happy with the education they are getting. Ms. Soeder is a very excellent teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2009

Ascension is an excellent school. The principal and teachers are outstanding and the parish community truly supports the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2008

My son just started this school in Novemeber and we cannot say enough wonderful things about it. We are very pleased with the quality of work that he is doing and with the compassionate attention that he receives from teachers and staff. My husband and I would reccomend this school to anyone. We are so appreciative to have this excellent school in our neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2008

This is a terrific school. The principal and teachers are very innovative and are always looking for ways to keep the school top notch. The school has the largest band in Catholic Schools, Minds in Motion Program and Singapore Math to name a few. My son graduated from here and was well prepared for high school. I now have a niece and nephews attending here and they are getting a great education also!


Posted October 15, 2008

Ascension offers an excellent education to all three of my children. Besides academics, Ascension also works on developing caring and conscientious individuals in a spiritual environment. Ms. Ellis is an excellent principal and role model.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 81%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
Hispanic 1% 4%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 11%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Music
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Girls on the run
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:55 am
School end time
  • 2:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 2:30 p.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Terrence Mullaney
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (502) 451-2535

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Hybrid
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Music
  • Religious
  • Service learning
  • Social justice
  • Special education
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Louisville
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Community service
  • Girl scouts
  • Girls on the run
  • Student newspaper
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Catholic
Daycare
Public

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$4000 - $10000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
CEF

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Catholic
Private
Public
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4600 Lynnbrook Drive
Louisville, KY 40220
Website: Click here
Phone: (502) 451-2535

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


The Brook-Dupont
Louisville, KY




Meredith-Dunn School
Louisville, KY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT