Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Louisville, KY
 

5 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ascension School 5

Posted June 17, 2015
- a parent
Transferring my son to this school has been such a blessing. He has been thriving in this environment with small class sizes and an education that focuses on mind, body and soul. This place has become an extended family for us. There are a lot of sports and extracurricular activities, as well as appropriate academic rigor. The emphasis on the arts, technology and physical fitness is why this school is making great strides. Go LONGHORNS!

Ascension School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 17, 2015
- a parent
The school uses big buddy programs and groups students into families. This promotes a greater sense of belonging, especially for the younger students. The older students look out for their little buddies, and they all get to know one another rather than just the peers with whom they share a classroom.


Ascension School 5

Posted April 15, 2015
- a parent
We LOVE Ascension and are thankful for the new Principle, Mr. Mullaney. He has set the standards high when it comes to technology and interactive learning. I love that my child is growing and learning within a Catholic environment. I've seen tremendous growth in my child! The Ascension community is really awesome overall. We all look out for each others kids, help drive carpool, make meals when tragedy strikes, build a community garden to support the new salad bar (helping kids make healthy choices!) - the list goes on and on. And I too am baffled by the comments about Mr. Mullaney. He has been nothing but outgoing, fun-loving and friendly to not only me, but my child as well! I've witnessed first-hand him interacting with the students, high-fiving them in the halls and I couldn't imagine him not being friendly. We specifically chose Ascension after touring almost all of the Catholic schools in Louisville partially because of how inviting Mr. Mullaney was! He was one of the only principals that actually toured the facilities with us himself! If you haven't seen Ascension before or if it's been a while, you should definitely stop by for a visit and see what's new!
3 people found this helpful

Ascension School 5

Posted April 14, 2015
- a parent
I could not be more pleased with Ascension! My daughter has attended for 6 years and absolutely loves it! She's thriving both academically and socially and hates to miss a day of school. I am shocked by the review regarding the new Principal and kids leaving. I know I speak for MANY parents in saying that my experience has been the exact opposite! Our Principal is extremely friendly, approachable & completely accommodating to both me and my child. In his short time at Ascension, I have seen nothing but positive changes including INCREASED enrollment and a new level of energy among the staff and student body. While change is often difficult, he has worked hard to improve communications and be available to those with questions. I see families becoming more engaged--not leaving--and parents volunteering more than ever to help make our school community stronger. I credit this to Mr. Mullaneys' constant encouragement and obvious commitment to our children's education. His positive energy is contagious and he promotes a happy, fun, learning environment! I'd advise anyone looking for a great school to stop by and witness this first hand!
3 people found this helpful

Ascension School 5

Posted February 27, 2015
- a parent
The school location is perfect for my situation and family. My kids love their teachers, and the secretaries Mrs. Thomas & Mrs. Jaggers are the best, they are wonderful, so nice and friendly. There is a family environment. However, there is a huge discontent among several parents with the new principal, Mr. Mullaney. He is not the friendliest Principal ever. Among other things, he might walk by you yet ignore you, not even a smile or "hello" and this makes parents uncomfortable so little by little they are moving their kids to other schools. My kids have been there since they were little and some areas of the school have improved tremendously since then that I can say in overall the school is good. My kids have good grades and have developed great friendships with their classmates and it would be hard for them to leave Ascension but if things don't change with the Principal, sadly, I might have to move them too. If parents are not comfortable and they don't feel welcome then it doesn't matter is this school is the best one in town.
3 people found this helpful


Ascension School 5

Posted July 18, 2014
- a parent
The curriculum, even in Kindergarten, challenged and motivated my young learner. I am amazed at the pace of his development. Love this school and the community/family it has become!
1 person found this helpful

Ascension School 5

Posted April 16, 2014
- a parent
My daughters educational development since entering Ascension has improved dramatically. When she has to miss school for holiday breaks, weather, or illness she is truly upset. I love that she looks forward to school every day. It is comforting to see how respectful all the children are to each other, and passing adults. They greet each other with respect, and hold doors for one another. I cannot imagine a better experience for my daughter. Looking forward to our future at Ascension!
1 person found this helpful

Ascension School 5

Posted April 12, 2014
- a parent
I am an administrator for the public schools and understand all that goes into education. Ascension has nailed it! The curriculum is challenging and the teachers are responsive. There are so many innovative programs and my fifth grader comes home happy and motivated!
1 person found this helpful


Ascension School 5

Posted April 09, 2014
- a teacher
Ascension Catholic School is a small school with a big heart and wide open opportunities. We are one of the few Catholic Elementary Schools in the Louisville area that is using ipads in the classroom. Next year the plan is to integrate them more fully in the classroom. We have a phenomenal learning environment that is enhanced by our commitment to remaining a small school. Each child gets more individual attention and has a greater chance for success. We are a great school!!
2 people found this helpful

Ascension School 5

Posted April 09, 2014
- a parent
Ascension school provides an excellent education while fostering my children's sense of community and self. It is a small school that embodies the spirt of family. Class size is small, allowing teachers to spend individual time with all students and really get to know the parents. I would highly recommend Ascension School to anyone looking for a quality education for their child.
2 people found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ascension School
4600 Lynnbrook Drive, Louisville, KY  40220
(502) 451-2535
Last modified Ascension School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Ascension School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. Top