Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
461 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Martha Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted December 07, 2015
- a parent
They have great resources in the faculty who have greater intent on making an impact with the students than most teachers at the school.

St Martha Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted December 07, 2015
- a parent
Homework is insane at this school. My student has at least 2 hours worth of work every night at a minimum. That is way too much on average.


St Martha Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted December 07, 2015
- a parent
The school will work with you if you student has some issues to address. However, the teachers are quick to assign RVF's (behavioral forms) left and right even for the littlest of things. Most will deem this acceptable at a high level, but when you are as intimately close to the situation as I, you will understand it to be annoying. My student yawned in class and received a RVF for being disruptive... yawned.

St Martha Elementary School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted December 07, 2015
- a parent
The school does strive to promote honesty, integrity, and fairness. They are on the stricter side when it comes to promoting these qualities. One flaw of the school is that they expect all students to fit into the same cookie cutter shape. If you do not fall within the "norm" your experience will be hectic. There is little tolerance for kids with any level of energy above a sloth.

St Martha Elementary School 3

Posted December 07, 2015
- a parent
The best quality that come with this school is the community. The social aspect of this community is awesome. There are tons of adult activities to get involved with and usually the parents are accepting of newcomers and blend well in the mix. The kids will have plenty of activities to enjoy, and the sports program is good (as long as you escape the hidden agenda of political figures). However, the education is average at best. Way too much emphasis placed on homework and vocab. Not enough placed on the quality of classroom education. Some teachers better than others, obviously. They have recently made some changes to the faculty to address this issue, and much improvement has been made in the past few months with the new incumbent principal. However, there is a lot of parental/faculty politics that drive certain key decisions. Politics are heavy in this school amongst the Parochial leaders, both with the school and sports program. If you step on their agendas, you might as well transfer. As long as you steer clear of the long tenured family names, and simply enjoy the social scene, you and your family will have a good experience.


St Martha Elementary School 5

Posted June 10, 2011
- a parent
My daughter has been a student here for 4 yeras and my son just completed pre K. I cannot say enough about how amazing and wonderful and loving the school staff and allf the parents are. I attended public school and am blown away by how much better the Catholic school environment is. It is worth every penney that we spend on tuition!

St Martha Elementary School 4

Posted May 04, 2010
- a parent
My children attend St Martha, and we have really enjoyed our time here. Most of the staff are wonderful, although there are a few that seem to just be going throught the motions - I guess that is a problem at any school, though. Many opportunities for sports, art, and academics. A little too much emphasis on the amount of homework rather than the quality of what the homework will provide to underscore the lessons. Overall, a very positive experience and a warm and accepting environment for the kids. Great job, St Martha staff!

St Martha Elementary School 4

Posted September 08, 2008
- a parent
I like the academics at St. Martha. My son has gon there since pre-K and is now in 2nd Grade. They teach Spanish now and have a new playground. I do not think they give too much homework - it is the right amount for the age. The after school program is not quite I expected - a little below par. Some staff members are awesome and some are lacking. I do not like that students can't play school sports until 3rd grade. Over all a good school. All schools have their issues and room for improvements.


St Martha Elementary School 3

Posted August 05, 2008
- a parent
The biggest problem St Martha has is the principal. While she is a very good person, she is not good with any conflict and would prefer to sweep unpleasantness under the rug rather than deal with it. There are a couple of teachers about whom there have been complaints year after year, but nothing is addressed. Most of the teachers are great. They need to address the large class sizes, offer foreign language at a younger age, and work on making school a fun exciting place to learn rather than so much rote work. Far too much homework at very young ages!

St Martha Elementary School 4

Posted October 12, 2007
- a parent
St. Martha is a very good school. My daughter is in 5th grade & has been at here since kindergarten. She has learned much more at each grade level than I did when I went to public elementary school in Louisville in the 70's. There are cliques (students & parents) at this school, just as there are at most schools. There are many opportunities for art, music, & sports at this school. They did just get a new playground (this was an issue for quite some time & I think the problem was getting the principal to agree to it). They also have a good after-school/summer childcare program. Of course no school is perfect and someone can always find something to complain about their school, but overall we are pleased.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Martha Elementary School
2825 Klondike Lane, Louisville, KY  40218
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (502) 491-3171
Last modified St Martha Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top