Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Margaret Mary School

Private | K-8 | 721 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Louisville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $202,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 4, 2011

I went to St. Margaret Mary, a Blue Ribbon School of Excellence, from kindergarten to 7th grade. I transferred to Crosby for my 8th grade year, biggest mistake ever. I loved SMM, our school spirit was phenomenal. The curriculum was much harder and challenging at SMM then Crosby. I actually had to study hard to get an A on a test. The teachers are AMAZING. They made class a fun learning experience. It was the perfect size. The parents and even grandparents were involved. Parent's can even eat lunch with their children. I now go to Trinity, and I also love it.


Posted July 11, 2008

I find St Margaret Mary to meet and to exceed my criteria for what makes a school a very special one. I will have 6 grandchildren there next year. They are all doing exceedingly well in school and in life. They are challenged by SMM to become the best they can be


Posted July 9, 2005

My three children will attend St. MM this year for our 5th year here. I attended this school as well, when I was a child. The academic programs are outstanding, and there are a number of options and help available if that is needed as well. The arts program is outstanding with the best of the best teachers to teach in each area of expertise. Parents are always involved in school, church and outside of school as well. It is a wonderful community of caring educators and families and I could not imagine going anywhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2005

This is an excellent school! They achieved Blue Ribbon status. The staff are caring and creative. The extracurricular activities (art, music, PE, spanish, computer, drama and sports)are wonderful. The accelerated reader program is great. Not only the parents but the entire church communtinty is encouraged to be involved with the school. Our child loves school! The children are continually challenged and supported to become better students and better people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2004

My three children have attended St. Margaret Mary School for a total of 14 years thus far, with 3 more to go. That says a lot right there! The total educational experience is what makes this school outstanding. Not only are they more than prepared for high school by the time 8th grade graduation comes around, but they have turned into the kind, caring, respectful people you would want them to be. Our peacebuider program is a big reason for that, along with the teachers who implement that philosophy every day. Our religious education is incorporated in the entire day, not just religion class. I have just learned yesterday that our school has been awarded the highest award any school can be given --- The Blue Ribbon School of Excellence Award! I am happy to be a part of this family here at St. Margaret Mary School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2004

My child has attended SMM for two years. SMM is a catholic, private school and provides not only an outstanding education but also outstanding religious instuction. The teachers and administration at SMM work hand in hand with parents and view education as a partnership between parent and teacher. SMM is a peace builder school and asks all students to be and act like peace builders when they are in and out of school. SMM is not only giving my child the education she needs, it is giving her the building blocks for life. It is a great school with caring teachers and a quality administration! My child loves reading, she loves learning and she enjoys going to school. For her school is fun. I believe the biggest compliment a school can receive is for a child to view it as fun...waiting anxiously to see what her teacher will do next!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 98% 85%
Asian 1% N/A
Two or more races 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 11%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Louisville
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7813 Shelbyville Rd
Louisville, KY 40222
Phone: (502) 426-2635

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Lowe Elementary School
Louisville, KY


Ascension School
Louisville, KY


The Brook-Dupont
Louisville, KY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT