Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
202 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
5 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St James Catholic School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted October 31, 2015
- a parent
Ms R is really kind. She does a great job with wild kids, and it's a crazy environment for sure. She often talks about her children too, which should never be discouraged, ever.

St James Catholic School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted October 31, 2015
- a parent
My son still talks about how great the teachers and assistants are. They left a really good impression on his 5 year old brain. Occasionally a teacher/assistant will reach out to see how he is doing, I am very impressed with that (thanks Ms R.!!).


St James Catholic School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted October 31, 2015
- a parent
No homework in Pre school. Tons of activities during the day though. One thing I didn't like is that there was a lot of TV in the after school program, but my son usually got most of his energy out. And in all fairness, they watched PBS, I am fine with that.

St James Catholic School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted October 31, 2015
- a parent
My experience is with pre school, so not entirely applicable here. The students I saw on an everyday basis seemed very nice, well spoken, and polite.

St James Catholic School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted October 31, 2015
- a parent
The teachers helped my crazy hyper young man to learn boundaries and respect. Not an easy talk considering how wild he is. He is at a different school now and talks about St James all the time. He loves the teachers and other students. However, that wasn't enough for us to stay there.


St James Catholic School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted October 31, 2015
- a parent
From my experience, yes. (pre school specifically). The teachers are second to none. They really care about the kids and try to help them understand the confusion of everyday life at their particular age.

St James Catholic School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted October 31, 2015
- a parent
It's a great school. Hopefully they need to understand the balance between education and their catholic roots.

St James Catholic School 5

Posted July 18, 2015
- a parent
St. James School is more than just a school. It's a family. Because of it's small size, the entire faculty gets to know each child -- and each child feels truly special! My daughter is excited about going to school AND excited about learning. As a public school teacher, I can personally say that is a rarity.


St James Catholic School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 18, 2015
- a parent
The teachers at St. James go above and beyond to meet the needs of EVERY child -- whether it's enrichment or remediation. This a rare find where other schools attempt to get every child to fit in a specific mold. We are blessed to have found St. James for our two daughters...one of whom needs enrichment and the other a bit of remediation. :)

St James Catholic School 1

Posted April 25, 2014
- a parent
This school is supposed to be diverse, but it really isn't and children aren't really learning; they are simply following instructions. Save your children's time and send them to a better school

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St James Catholic School
1818 Edenside Avenue, Louisville, KY  40204
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. (502) 454-0330
Last modified St James Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top