Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Francis Of Assisi School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Louisville

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $200,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $720.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 13, 2014

I am a parent of a Saint Francis of Assisi student. I continue to be impressed with the school, especially with the new principal. The vast majority of the faculty are extremely passionate about and engaged in developing the minds and hearts of the SFA students. Thank you to the faculty and staff of SFA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2013

St. Francis of Assisi has several excellent Science and Math teachers for the middle school and the third grade teacher is wonderful. Daily Spanish classes prepare the children for high school foreign language. However, the other teachers are mediocre. Several of the teachers have been at SFA for many years and appear to be coasting until retirement. Reading scores for K-2 are sub par. There is an issue with bullying and the Principal will not address the issue. The Principlal does not listen to parent concerns. The school participates in the Peacebuilders program however the Principal and several of the teachers are not shiniing examples of compassion. I have had two children attend this school and some aspects are wonderful but there are many issues that should be addressed. Unfortunately, the Principal is not willing to change. This may not be a good value for the money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2011

Love that the school offers art, drama, music, Phys Ed and daily Spanish. Love the small school atmosphere and the community that is developed. They have a wonderful and active social justice program and have the Peacebuilders program in place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

St. Francis of Assisi School is an amazing school with dedicated and supportive teachers. I can not imagine my child in a more supportive and loving environment. We chose St. Francis because we wanted a faith based education where she would be nurtured academically and spiritually. We could not be happier. After being there for 3 years, we have had the opportunity to see graduates that are prepared for the world of High School. We look forward to our child growing and maturing in the same way because of the love and concern of the community. The administration sets a positive tone that is upheld by the staff members, parents, and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2008

It is a good school. My children go there and it is amazing. I love the teacher they are so nice to the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2008

It is a great school. It has the best qualities and everyone looks out for each other. The science program is my favorite it is amazing!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 22, 2007

There is no doubt about St. Francis! The science curriculum is unbelieveable, advanced, but the teacher is like magic and the kids get IT! Have you ever heard of 14 year olds doing cancer research? They do at St. Francis. The school is dedicated to peace education also in every grade. Sure, some teachers are average, but average at St. Francis is a cut above most schools. They interact with the local Jewish Community and study the Holocaust. My younger kids love the second grade ( warm, fun, a rich learning environment) and the the kindergarten was PURE JOY! The sports are ALL FREE! I agree with the other author, lack of hot lunches is not a plus, but it is minor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2007

I totally agree with a previous review... the Science curriculum is outstanding and the school has really supported the Peace-Builders program. Another great feature of SFA is a full time Spanish teacher that spends time with all of the classes. Parents are very involved with the education process and booster club. SFA does try to field teams in every sport, but some sports (Football) are combined with other parishes. Young Authors, Book Bee and Science-Fair are only a few of the available academic activities. SFA is a small school with a lot of spirit and community consciousness. We love it there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2006

The atmosphere and environment of this wonderful school made it my number one choice when looking for a place for my daughter to begin her education. The teachers are fantastic, Mr. Whittaker;(science teacher) and Mrs. Kate; (kindergarten). I can't imagine my daughter in a better, more caring school. We love it!! The one point I was only slightly disappointed in was the absence of a playground, however, plans for a new, safe, and fun playground are in the works and should be completed before the next school year starts! We are looking forward to all of the fun and excitement the next seven years will surely bring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2005

An AMAZING School! A quiet secret in the Highlands. It offers an AMAZING science curriculum ( very advanced for Junior High) and a wonderful Peace education program. There are however, NO hot lunches served and of course, like may catholic schools, they require uniforms.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 81%
Hispanic 5% 4%
Black 2% 11%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Louisville
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1938 Alfresco Place
Louisville, KY 40205
Phone: (502) 459-3088

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


The De Paul School
Louisville, KY


St Agnes School
Louisville, KY


Peace Academy School
Louisville, KY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT