Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
257 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (6 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (5 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (4 responses)
characters left.
There are 53 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Francis Of Assisi School 5

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
SFA truly helps develop students into well-rounded young adults. The values of respect, honesty, diversity, and inclusiveness are included throughout the curriculum and in all the activities at SFA. A liberal arts education, starting at Pre-K !

St Francis Of Assisi School 5

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
SFA is a small school with a big heart! They really do live up to their motto. Students are educated, not just about justice but FOR justice! It is a wonderful community of families.


St Francis Of Assisi School 5

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
This is our first year at St. Francis and we couldn't be happier. I don't think we could have chosen a better school for our daughter. When we went for the tour, we were pleasantly surprised at how the middle schoolers were so helpful, polite, and knowledgeable about their school. It's consistent too, I've had many of the middle schoolers go out of their way to help me bringing in items to the school or just holding the door open. We love that all of the parents are so involved and extremely helpful. Our daughter's teacher, Mrs. Shanks is wonderful, as well as Ms. Jill and Ms. Jaso! It's a fast paced class and they are learning so much. We also LOVE the aftercare program and the staff are all great people. The big buddy program is also amazing - my daughter absolutely loves her big buddy and her buddy is such a great girl. I love that she can have a great role model to look up to.

St Francis Of Assisi School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
I believe the principal sets the tone for the whole community to work together and be involved - staff, students, parents, etc.

St Francis Of Assisi School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
I think many parents of elementary and middle school aged children are amazed at the amount of homework students have today compared to 20 plus years ago. I do feel that some grades have more homework than others. I also believe this associated with the jump in curriculum and expectations at pivotal grades (3rd and 6th in particular).


St Francis Of Assisi School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
Without a doubt compassion and caring in and among its students is a trademark of SFA.

St Francis Of Assisi School 5

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
Aside from the academics, which are terrific, we very much appreciate the community itself. As a parent, you really know your children's classmates' families. It really feels like everyone - students, parents, teachers and staff - are looking out for one another and care for one another. Certainly one of the most diverse student bodies for any private school with children from a variety of ethnic backgrounds. Every school has its pros and cons but without a doubt, the pros of St Francis of Assisi greatly outweigh any cons. I would note that over the past couple years, the new principal has expanded upon and encouraged the children and staff in so many ways.

St Francis Of Assisi School 5

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
SFA is a great school. The Big Buddy program is genuine - when the little buddies see their big buddies out in public and the big buddies talk to them, it lights up their day. The daily Spanish is a huge asset, many of our students test out of several years when they get to high school. The middle school Committee on Conscience program is unlike any other in the city and I have been so impressed with how the teachers prepare compassionate listeners to really get involved in the community and help others. The middle school science program is top notch - many of our students get into Manual and place at regional science fairs.


St Francis Of Assisi School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 29, 2015
- a parent
There's no other school in Louisville with such a rich, integrated program and philosophy of social justice in its curriculum. I think any other Catholic school in Louisville would agree that St Francis sets the standard in this area.

St Francis Of Assisi School 5

Posted August 29, 2015
- a parent
Our kids have gone to SFA for several years, and I can truly say the school gets better every year. I read another comment on this site and yes, a few teachers have been at the school for quite a while. That was written a couple of years ago. With our new principal's leadership; a couple of new, dynamic teachers; and the addition of technology (170 ipads and laptops and a full-time Technology Coach--unprecedented for a school its size!), every teacher has "upped her game" significantly. The proof of positive change is SFA's Terra Nova scores which have been Top 15% in the nation two years consecutively. As a result of these scores, SFA qualifies to apply for the Blue Ribbon Schools designation. Beyond academics, SFA is producing kids who have confidence, are well-rounded, and comfortable standing up for their beliefs. If you ask people why they chose SFA for their kids, nearly all will say "because I was so impressed by the middle- schooler who gave us a tour--his maturity, ability to talk to adults, and positive things he had to say about his school experience."

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Francis Of Assisi School
1938 Alfresco Place, Louisville, KY  40205
(502) 459-3088
Last modified St Francis Of Assisi School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
St Francis Of Assisi School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 53 reviews. Top