Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Chancey Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 718 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Friday, April 18, 2014

My boys attend Chancey, the administrative staff have been very helpful, being new to the area. The teachers are caring and the principal is working to get the students to reach higher levels academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

I am a father of two Chancey students. We are very happy there. Everything from the Chancey garden, daddy-daughter dance, pilgrim's play all give my children a better than great experience. I feel education is important, but it's not just a school concerned with numbers on standarized tests but identifying the needs of the students. The principal is wonderful!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2014

Chancey is an awesome school. Great teachers, administrative staff and wonderful parent involvement. I couldn't be happier. The teachers really care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

I have 2 kids that are students at Chancey Elementary. My olderst child is a 5th grader this year and she been attending Chancey ever since she was in kindergarten. My oldest child has a learning disabilityr and Xhancey has been great in helping her to achieve and to have confidents in her seld and now shes in the 5th grade i have confides thats shes able to do her work without second guess. She loves Chancey and i do too. My youngest child is going to the 2Nd grade this school year and hes so excited to go back to school knowing hes going to be in a higher grade and that he was going back to Chancey to see his friendsand teachers from last year. He loves Chancey as well as i do. LETS GO CHANCEY! Lets have a wwonderful school year!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2010

my daughter attends chancey,we love the environment.She is in the first grade and the teachers she has had up to this point has been phenominal.I am glad did we not place her in private school,the diversty that she has encountered at chancey will her succeed later in life in an diverse america.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2010

We love Chancey! Our son has a speech issue and their program is phenominal. He loves school and his teachers. Best of all he can take the bus or I can take him and it is very convienent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2009

Great School.....Mrs. Hill is a fabulous teacher for your kindergarten children.....we loved her
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2008

We love Chancey! Unfortunately, we're moving out of state and have one primary student left. We've been there since the beginning, and it gets better every year. You will not be disappointed sending your child here. There is not one bad review on this site. No school is perfect, but Chancey is close. There is art, music foreign lauguage, technology, basketball, cheerleading, health club, chess club, science enrichment, great teachers, organized learning, great and personable staff, award winning PTA, awesome leadership . . . I just can't say enough. We'll miss it dearly. Go Chancey Cardinal Champions!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

We have been at Chancey for 5 years. We have a 2nd and 4th grader. The school is very bright, cheerful, and clean! Wonderful library! Great PTA! The teachers are excellent! Our children have been very successful at Chancey Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

We too have been Chancey Cardinals since the school opened (in fact, that's my son in the little red pants on Chancey's homepage...he's a 3rd grader now!!) Chancey is an awesome school, fabulous teachers, wonderful PTA. Mrs. Cosby, the principal, is the best...very personable, affectionate with the kids AND stern! We love Chancey.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2005

I have a 11 year old son that attends Chancey, and he Loves it! We had just moved here from Centerville, Ohio, which had an excellant school district and I was worried about putting him into a new school. I was very impressed with Chancey!!The staff is so courteous and friendly! The school is so well kept, and very up to date with computer technology, in the class room and throughout the school. My sons teacher was great in keeping me well informed on how well he was doing in his studies. Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2005

I have 3 children atttending Chancey from Preschool, Kindergarten and third grade. The school is very clean and the staff is courteous. The teachers and staff have always gone out of their way to help my children out. I have one child who is in the Gifted and Talented program and he is thriving at Chancey where he was not at another local school. They have an emphasis on respecting others that surpasses all other schools that I have observed. Their preschool program is warm cheerful and a great plus!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2005

I have a frist grader and have been at Chancey for two years. We are VERY happy with the school, the faculty, the quality of the programs and technology. It just keeps getting better! In addition to the academics, the school is so new,clean, bright and cheery! All the children seem very respectful and well-behaved. I have been pelased with the parental involvement and the extra curricular activities as well. The techers that we have had have been excellent and I could not have asked for more in a teacher or the leadership of the school. We love seeing all the chilren in uniforms. It brings such unity and tidyness. The children all seem to really get along and care for each other with a very good diversity in students cultures and backgrounds. I have really been impressed with the quality of the education!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 54% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
43%
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 49% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
44%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
28%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 47% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
55%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 59% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 36% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
40%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students49%
Female43%
Male54%
African American26%
Asiann/a
Hispanic20%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students51%
Female43%
Male59%
African American22%
Asiann/a
Hispanic30%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students53%
Female61%
Male48%
African American40%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities23%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students51%
Female49%
Male52%
African American38%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities39%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students52%
Female58%
Male48%
African American38%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities54%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students60%
Female63%
Male58%
African American44%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities46%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students39%
Female37%
Male40%
African American18%
Asiann/a
Hispanic27%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students47%
Female46%
Male48%
African American29%
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Social Studies

All Students61%
Female58%
Male63%
African American43%
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities10%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students29%
Female40%
Male19%
African American18%
Asiann/a
Hispanic18%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White41%
Economically disadvantaged16%
Students with disabilities10%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2011.

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2011.

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
62%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 43% 82%
Black 40% 11%
Hispanic 7% 4%
Asian 5% 1%
Two or more races 5% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 51%N/A57%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4301 Murphy Ln
Louisville, KY 40241
Phone: (502) 485-8387

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. Aloysius School
Pewee Valley, KY






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT