Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-12|Private
108 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Valor Traditional Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 14, 2016
- a parent
Each teacher my child has had so far genuinely cares for their students and wants the best for them.

Valor Traditional Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 14, 2016
- a parent
Speaking for elementary grade levels, children will have weekly test to study for(spelling/math/etc.), occasional workbook pages or projects. Generally, homework has not been given on Wednesday nights or weekends unless a special project is assigned. Students reading at home is also a focus.


Valor Traditional Academy 5

Posted June 14, 2016
- a parent
The small class sizes mean more 1-on-1 with the teacher. Maximum class sizes are 14 kids. Elementary grades are taught Bible lessons, do prayer request and pray as a group each day. Great for developing Christian character. My child just took a standardized test at the end of the school year and had excellent scores when comparing to the national average. I believe my child has received an excellent education at Valor and has been given the opportunity to make great friends in a place that promotes Jesus and the Bible. Very pleased!

Valor Traditional Academy
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted December 13, 2015
- a parent
You must develop grit to survive this school. Daily children are challenged with unfairness inappropriate action for age levels.

Valor Traditional Academy
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted December 13, 2015
- a parent
Tattle telling is encouraged. Teachers punish for minor things like whispers in the hall and do not punish for stealing toys or playground equipment.


Valor Traditional Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted December 13, 2015
- a parent
They do not participate in anything for the community. They are isolationist. Fundraising is for school only. No giving for needy.

Valor Traditional Academy
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted December 13, 2015
- a parent
Children lie because teachers are so horrible at classroom management. Tattle telling is encouraged. Children never learn to problem solve because teachers intervene.

Valor Traditional Academy 1

Posted December 13, 2015
- a parent
The Headmaster believes there is only 1 way to learn. Children will adapt or fail, quote. Timed assessment every subject twice per week, run out of time, blanks marked wrong. Few if any teachers are certified. The main reason this is a concern is they have zero training in classroom or behavior management. No positive discipline, only negative and punitive. Test scores far below what he states in interviews. Violates students Confidentiality on a consistent basis and should be sued. Business license issued under false pretense of what school is. Do your research and trust your judgment. This man is not an educator.


Valor Traditional Academy 5

Posted January 19, 2015
- a student
My name is Serenity. I was a student at Valor from fifth grade to twelfth grade. I am graduated and the older I get, the more I realize how lucky I was to have gone to a school that helped me excel in all areas of my life so much. The teachers are wonderful and the students feel like family. I have to admit that after I got over complaining about high school, I really do miss the place. Valor's staff and students truly made an impact on my life.

Valor Traditional Academy 3

Posted October 29, 2013
- a teacher
My school is a very small school. We are currently collecting Box Tops to help raise money to buy a Laminator for our teachers. Our school is privately funded therefore, we have to raise all of the money for everything we buy including books, carpet, and maintenance for our school. $5,000 would help out very much! We just had to replace all of the carpet in the school and last year our AC unit broke while drained our funds dramatically. Please help our school to get more money for funding.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Valor Traditional Academy
11501 Schlatter Rd, Louisville, KY  40291
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. (502) 239-3345
Last modified Valor Traditional Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Top