Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-12
Private
Louisville, KY
Students enrolled: 537
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Highlands Latin School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 04, 2015
- a parent
Every teacher that we have had has done an excellent job teaching. They are very organized and truly want to help the students learn. The school only hires the very qualified teachers.

Highlands Latin School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 04, 2015
- a parent
Not too much, not too little. I can't complain about the homework. The work is meant to simply review. It is not busy work and doing things over and over just for the sake of doing it.


Highlands Latin School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 04, 2015
- a parent
My own children have tackled difficult tasks that are assigned with confidence. I am often amazed at what my children can learn, if only challenged to do so. The students work very hard, and usually because they want to.

Highlands Latin School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 04, 2015
- a parent
Based on what I see among the classmates of my children, they are genuinely concerned about each other, encourage each other, and if anyone is seen as being rude, unkind or bullying, then the teacher quickly deals with it in a loving, biblical way.

Highlands Latin School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 04, 2015
- a parent
I know that my child has noted when another student wasn't honest, and the school dealt with it in a very fair way. I have never seen anything in the school that made me question it's integrity.


Highlands Latin School 5

Posted June 04, 2015
- a parent
Our two children have been at HLS for 3 years now. We love the school. Their academics can't be beat. And it is definitely one of the more affordable private schools in Louisville. It does have a Christian emphasis, in that the Bible is taught and scripture is memorized. The school does not evangelize the students...as this is to be done in the home/church (which is what we believe, also). My children are definitely challenged, but they enjoy being at school and are confident learners. The highly qualified teachers are loving, caring, and encouraging. If you are looking for a classical, Christian education, then this is one you should consider. Most families that are at the school would agree with me (from what I have heard).

Highlands Latin School 5

Posted November 20, 2014
- a parent
Highlands Latin has the best academics in the city with a Christian culture. Love it !!!

Highlands Latin School 1

Posted June 06, 2014
- a community member
The admissions director is not warm and friendly and she doesn't listen or let you talk. She's actually very off putting. When checking out schools, an admissions director is the first person that gives you a feeling about the school. At other private schools in the area they are incredibly welcoming, cheerful, and sincere. I have talked to three other potential hls families that were immediately turned off at this school because of the admissions director's demeanor.


Highlands Latin School 5

Posted May 04, 2014
- a parent
My kids have been at Highlands Latin for three years. No school is perfect, but it has been great for us. They have had caring teachers and wonderful classmates. The small class sizes are a big plus. The admissions process was a little intimidating, because I knew there was a long waiting list for kindergarten. Highlands Latin is Christian, which we wanted. They say they don't evangelize specific doctrine, and I have generally found that to be true. This fits our family, because I want doctrine to come from home and our church. The academics are second to none. The school has great test scores, and when we took our first tour, we loved that every class was engaged with the teacher and working. My kids don't ever come home and say they spent 2 hours watching a movie at school. I was a little worried that the kids might not like the hard work, but when we took took a tour, it was obvious that the students are joyful and happy. Like anything, you feel good about yourself when you are working hard and accomplishing something. Athletics is not a big focus. This is fine for us, but may be worth considering if competitive sports are really important.

Highlands Latin School 5

Posted March 19, 2014
- a parent
Great school. My children go there and we love it. When the kids are at school, they are learning the entire time. There aren't any movies or all day field trips. They have a terrific focus on academics.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Highlands Latin School
2800 Frankfort Ave, Louisville, KY  40206
(502) 895-5333
Last modified Highlands Latin School is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Highlands Latin School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top