Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-12|Private
537 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Highlands Latin School 5

Posted January 31, 2016
- a parent
Classical education , lots of homework. Students are polite and respectful! ALL graduates go to college.

Highlands Latin School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted January 31, 2016
- a parent
Mr Wheatley and Mrs Booker are sincerely wonderful and the Lowe family is extremely generous


Highlands Latin School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted January 31, 2016
- a parent
Many teachers are actually professionals in their respective fields and not career academics. Many teachers are also parents of the students

Highlands Latin School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 04, 2015
- a parent
Every teacher that we have had has done an excellent job teaching. They are very organized and truly want to help the students learn. The school only hires the very qualified teachers.

Highlands Latin School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 04, 2015
- a parent
Not too much, not too little. I can't complain about the homework. The work is meant to simply review. It is not busy work and doing things over and over just for the sake of doing it.


Highlands Latin School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 04, 2015
- a parent
My own children have tackled difficult tasks that are assigned with confidence. I am often amazed at what my children can learn, if only challenged to do so. The students work very hard, and usually because they want to.

Highlands Latin School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 04, 2015
- a parent
Based on what I see among the classmates of my children, they are genuinely concerned about each other, encourage each other, and if anyone is seen as being rude, unkind or bullying, then the teacher quickly deals with it in a loving, biblical way.

Highlands Latin School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 04, 2015
- a parent
I know that my child has noted when another student wasn't honest, and the school dealt with it in a very fair way. I have never seen anything in the school that made me question it's integrity.


Highlands Latin School 5

Posted June 04, 2015
- a parent
Our two children have been at HLS for 3 years now. We love the school. Their academics can't be beat. And it is definitely one of the more affordable private schools in Louisville. It does have a Christian emphasis, in that the Bible is taught and scripture is memorized. The school does not evangelize the students...as this is to be done in the home/church (which is what we believe, also). My children are definitely challenged, but they enjoy being at school and are confident learners. The highly qualified teachers are loving, caring, and encouraging. If you are looking for a classical, Christian education, then this is one you should consider. Most families that are at the school would agree with me (from what I have heard).

Highlands Latin School 5

Posted November 20, 2014
- a parent
Highlands Latin has the best academics in the city with a Christian culture. Love it !!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Highlands Latin School
2800 Frankfort Ave, Louisville, KY  40206
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. (502) 895-5333
Last modified Highlands Latin School is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Top