Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fern Creek Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 747 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 31, 2013

This school could be much better. Yes it is a large school with many students in each classroom. With that being said, according to my child there is little in classroom management skills. She is in Mrs. Ipock's room and says it can be loud. Also she states that some students come and go as they please. This is not a good environment. I am not sure if it is all the teachers fault. Perhaps there is no assistance from the administration with these issues or management skills aren't being taught to faculty at this school. I am sure glad that my time at Fern Creek Elementary is over. Last year was it and now my student has had to play catch up in middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

I'm just starting to know the school. My son is in Kindergarden. So far so good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2012

While one of the better schools in the public system, the leadership holds this school back. The Principal has a reputation for being abrupt and rude to teachers, students, and even volunteers. While I was skeptical at first this reputation was proven true after I spent more time at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2012

My child has not received an adequate education while at Fern Creek. My child has complained that two students disrupt the entire class almost every other day. The teacher (whom shall remain nameless) says it is out of her hands. When I visit the school it is very loud. I have heard yelling and screaming in the hallways. It seems there is no structure or organization to control the behaviors. Well the principal Mrs. Rigsby must be burnt out or just doesn't care. Well, I care and promise that you my child will be removed for the next year. If you want to know how the school is doing just look at the test scores. They have dropped for the past three years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2011

Mrs Mcdermitt couldn't help my ADD daughter and didn't seem to care to help with getting us the care she needed. When I asked her about other schools that she sent her kids to she responded, "my kids all went to private schools". We have no idea what that response meant. What is she teaching in the public schools for and didn't she feel the public system was good enough for her own children. That is very, very much being a hypocrite. I found her response and treatment very cold. We took our daughter out very quickly and sent her elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2011

My daughter started going there this year and she loves it, She learns so much at Fern Creek Elementary I would not want my child to go to any other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2011

me and my best friend went here it was ok. But when I went there there was a bullying issue so we left and the very next year it was on lockdown because of an incident at fern creek high school. I was ok but my parents where kind of insecure about it so I went to farmer the next year. Some of the teachers where too strict in my opinion. I honestly woulden't go here.


Posted October 11, 2009

My granddaughter has come out of her shell where we thought she would be ADD they worked with her and was very patient she is doing great now


Posted June 2, 2009

My daughter has attended Fern Creek Elem since kindergarten and will be in 5th grade in the fall.I LOVE this school!! The teachers are great and they definitely quit treating kids like babies starting in 4th grade.I think that it will be very beneficial that my daughter will have an idea of what to expect when she enrolls in middle school for the 2010 yr.I appreciate the way Mrs.Rigsby(principle) handles the children and any incidents.I have nothing negative to say. Also, Mrs. Blessinger is still a great teacher after all these years.We were grateful my daughter had her in 1st and 3rd grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2008

Overall I have been pleased with this school. My only complaint is that for the past two years my son has been pulled from one class and moved to another due to too many kids in one class. I would rather him stay where he was initially put. I absolutely loved Mrs. Boyd. She is the best Kindergarten teacher ever. My daughter talked about her all summer. She was very caring and enthusiastic. We'll miss not having her next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2008

Both of our children currently attend Fern Creek and are in the 1st and 3rd grades. We are very impressed with the parent/teacher involvement. Both are reading above their grade level. Mrs. Deana Blessinger is an exceptional teacher. We're proud to be Tigers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2007

My daughter was a 1st grader this year at Fern Creek Elementary and had a wonderful teacher, Mr. Josh Frank. He was very structured, enthusiastic and a stickler for order. He made learning fun. My daughter enjoyed his class and the school. However, I do have a complaint about their bus system. There are not enough school buses servicing Fern Creek with an enrollment of over 800 students. My daughters' bus had kids from Fern Creek and Bates Elementary on the same run which made for crowded bus rides. Fern Creek needs to request more exclusive school buses to service their students. Due to the overcrowding issue also came problems with children being bullied on the bus. I had to pull my daughter off the bus and make her a car rider. This shouldn't be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2007

This is my son's fourth year at Fern Creek Elementary and I am absolutely thrilled with the teachers and the Staff. Ms. Sheldon was a wonderful influence on my son. He has flourished and excelled at Fern Creek Elem due to the wonderful teaching staff. Most of all, my son is extremely proud to be a member of the Fern Creek Elementary school! I feel that the communication lines are always open with the teachers and staff at FCE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2006

My son currently attends Fern Creek Elem. in the 1st grade. This is his 2nd year and it's been wonderful. I have not one complaint about the school. The school work shows great improvement in the skill development of the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2006

My son was in Kindergarten at Fern Creek. He was scared to death and the teachers/administration did nothing to help. He's getting a much better education back here in Mississippi.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2005

The teachers are amazing, especially Mr. Paul Junk and Mrs. Deana Blessinger. I used to volunteer in her room and she always was interesting and her kids were always on task. Mr. Junk was my favorite teacher because of his positive attitude and his uniqueness. I love Fern Creek because of the new principal, but some members of the staff are very tempermental and need to lose the attitude.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 26, 2005

My son will be in 3rd grade this year. He has been there since k-garten. I have had some great experiences at this school and the teachers. I too have had a wonderful experience with Mr Junk and also Ms. Stillwell. THe only complaint that I had was the past principal. They got a new principal this past year and she seems to be pretty good. I hope she stays that way. The academics and teacher involvement is wonderful. I son is reading on a 5th grade level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2004

I too have had poor experiences with the administration of this school. I'm glad to see the leadership at this school is changing hopefully for the best when the new principal arrives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2004

I have had 2 children attend this school and what a wonderful experience they have had (and continue to have)! EVERYONE is on top of their job and concerned about children. I have been in many JCPS elementary schools with a job I had, and this is far and away the finest one out there! Cindy
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2004

My son attended Kindergarden at this wonderful school in 01-02. His amazing teacher was Mr. Junk. This teacher was beyond terrific! Great all around school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 54% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 49% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
48%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
27%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 47% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
41%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 59% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
45%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 36% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
28%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students42%
Female43%
Male42%
African American16%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Students with disabilities46%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students55%
Female66%
Male45%
African American26%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students48%
Female55%
Male40%
African American31%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Students with disabilities15%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students37%
Female36%
Male37%
African American17%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White46%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Students with disabilities31%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students45%
Female45%
Male45%
African American25%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilities31%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students50%
Female48%
Male53%
African American21%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Students with disabilities15%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students37%
Female36%
Male39%
African American18%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White48%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Students with disabilities30%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students51%
Female53%
Male49%
African American36%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities20%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Social Studies

All Students62%
Female63%
Male61%
African American47%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities30%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students44%
Female60%
Male27%
African American31%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White49%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities20%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2011.

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2011.

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
70%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
45%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 82%
Black 33% 11%
Hispanic 4% 4%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Asian 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 54%N/A57%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8815 Ferndale Rd
Louisville, KY 40291
Phone: (502) 485-8250

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Gabriel School
Louisville, KY





Whitefield Academy
Louisville, KY


Luhr Elementary School
Louisville, KY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT