Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Louisville, KY
Students enrolled: 608
Before care: No
 

4 stars
Based on 39 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Greathouse Shryock Traditional 5

Posted June 06, 2015
- a parent
We just finished our first year there with our son in kindergarten and my wife and I couldn't be more pleased. Mrs. Davis runs a tight ship just as someone in her position should. She's a no-nonsense leader and I have the utmost respect for her and the way she runs this school. There is a time and place for everything and schools must be a place of discipline and respect. We've had many conversations with other parents and they were all equally as pleased as we are with Greathouse. As soon as our son graduates from there I wouldn't strongly suggest Mrs.Davis for superintendent of Jefferson Co.

Greathouse Shryock Traditional 5

Posted October 16, 2014
- a parent
Greathouse is a great school! My fear after my daughter was accepted into Kindergarten was that it wasn't going to be fun, but it is! Yes, it is pencil to paper, but it is also hands-on and creative and interactive. It is a traditional school, so there are definitely rules. Not every child will thrive at the school, but you will know it after orientation. Parents must be involved to make it a successful journey for your child(ren). The staff and teachers that we've encountered are wonderful and supportive. I am so happy to basically be saving thousands and thousands of dollars that would have otherwise gone to a local private school - for the same education and atmosphere!
5 people found this helpful


Greathouse Shryock Traditional 5

Posted September 29, 2014
- a parent
My son is in his third year at Greathouse and I couldn't be more pleased with the results. I have zero complaints.
2 people found this helpful

Greathouse Shryock Traditional 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
Greathouse is great...simply the best! Runs like a well oiled machine. The teachers have high expectations and they expect parents to do their part at home. We were told up front at orientation what exactly to expect.
2 people found this helpful

Greathouse Shryock Traditional 5

Posted January 27, 2014
- a parent
Greathouse is a dream school! Our daughter is in the first grade and thriving! She comes home with so much to tell me each day. Although it is strict, that doesn't mean they don't have any fun. She has had many "hands on" activities to learn. The staff is wonderful--I appreciate that so many of them know my daughter by name. They also have a very involved PTA, after school activities, and several evening Family activities each year. My daughter tells me all the time that we better not ever move because she wants to go to Greathouse clear through 5th grade and wants her younger brothers to go there, too. We are waiting to hear if our son will be selected to be a Kindergartener next year and are praying he gets in! We love Greathouse and couldn't ask for anything better!
2 people found this helpful


Greathouse Shryock Traditional 5

Posted December 12, 2013
- a parent
I have two kids and Greathouse both polar opposite. For those that have knocked the school and taken their kids out...good riddance. It is challenging and offers great structure and a learning environment. It does not offer "AP" classes but the gifted are grouped and taught at their level. I'll take the free public education Greathouse offers over any paid private school or anything else Jefferson County has to offer.
2 people found this helpful

Greathouse Shryock Traditional 5

Posted October 27, 2013
- a parent
My third child is still at this school-both older ones already went through. We did not have any issues whatsoever with this school. We got what we told we were going to get (the principal told everyone at orientation and she doesn't mix words or play around) We got a free public education that could give any of the private or parochial schools in this area a run for their money. My kids were extremely well prepared. I do not understand why some people let little things build up rather than addressing the issue. If you don't get something from PTA that you paid for then for heavens sake have the good sense to speak up and ask where it is! We have found over the years, and we've been here for a decade now, that those who don't "fit" are the ones who don't have the commitment to making academics the #1 priority in their home. Yes, you have to work and study to meet the high expectations in this school but the end result is worth it.
1 person found this helpful

Greathouse Shryock Traditional 1

Posted October 18, 2013
- a parent
This school gets great test scores because they only want a certain type of student - those who do not fit their mold are forced out. My child had great academics but a big personality and was marked down on behavior so much that he was labeled a behavior problem. He was even called out for asking questions appropriately! Other teachers started calling him a "bad kid". There are plenty of other schools that have great teachers, good scores and encourage well rounded personalities while respecting differences in learning! Also had massive problems with the cliquish PTA!! Gotta love when the PTA steals money from you and never delivers t-shirts and sweatshirts! Glad we are out of there!!!


Greathouse Shryock Traditional 2

Posted October 03, 2013
- a parent
Your child will be forced to learn at this school and their statistics are great, however keep in mind that they get the test scores they get, not through a nurturing supportive system but one of fear of being "exited" from their program. Incidents of violence or bullying are not reported and handled poorly internally. Several children in my child's class were attacked physically and verbally and then were only "talked to" by the guidance counselor, who will tell you there are no problems with these things at Greathouse. Middle of the road kids who do not mind hours of unnecessary homework will do great in the environment here, but if your child is gifted or struggles this is not the school for them. I personally loved the structure of the rules, however they are inconsistently and prejudicially enforced.
1 person found this helpful

Greathouse Shryock Traditional 5

Posted August 07, 2013
- a parent
Great place for children to learn and grow? Our third child is attending now! I am hopeful that our 3 year old "wins the lotto" and is admitted in two years.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Greathouse Shryock Traditional
2700 Browns Ln, Louisville, KY  40220
(502) 485-8259
Last modified Greathouse Shryock Traditional is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Greathouse Shryock Traditional Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 39 reviews. Top