Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Middletown Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 18, 2011

We just LOVE Middletown Elementary. Our child will be entering the 2nd grade this year. The staff, parents and volunteers is what makes Middletown a great school! We are looking forward to a new school year.


Posted July 17, 2011

My oldest just promoted out of Middletown and my youngest is getting ready to start . Due to the age difference of my kids, I had the advantage of six years at Middletown before having another child in school. The principal, teachers, and staff are the best, They do the best they can every single day. Any issues or concerns that I have had, have been addressed either by the principal, teacher, or counselor in as timely a manor as possible. I am thrilled to be there another six years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2010

I am a teacher and spent a lot of time visiting several schools before deciding on Middletown. Hands down, Middletown implements best practices in reading and writing and teachers are very knowledgable. I am so impressed with what my children are learning in science and math as well! Love this school and very happy with our decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2010

I couldn't be happier with my children being at Middletown. From the moment we walked in I felt like my children would be loved and cared for, and my instincts have not been wrong. All the teachers are warm and friendly, there is art work all over the school and the PTA are extremely active. I am very happy with my kids progress at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2008

We chose to have our children attend Middletown after we found out that they were finally approved in 2005 for an official JCPS advanced program. The school offers plenty of extra programming which - as in any school - is only limited by parent volunteers. The teachers our children have had only continue to exceed our expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2008

After touring several other elementary schools, we knew immediately that Middletown was a perfect fit for our two children. Both of our children have thrived at Middletown & the teachers & staff our wonderful. We have award winning teachers & high parent involvement - Just a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2008

My child has been happy at Middletown. Some of the teachers have been very warm and supportive. When we experiences a need for extra help, the response was slow. All in all a good experience, but could use some improvement in responsiveness.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2007

The teachers here are hit or miss. When you miss, you really miss. If you get lucky the teacher might be somewhat competent. They do not cater at all to any children who might need a little extra help. Numerous attempts to have conferences and meetings are usually just ignored. The teachers, counselors and principle will not work with you. If you have concerns they will blow it off and at most try and pacify you with an empty promise or two. My child's education and development suffers and they could care less. His behavior is wonderful yet he needs some special/extra attention with his class work and they don't have the credentials or the care to help. Just sad. Stay away from this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2007

Great School, we have 4 kids that are there now or been thru the school from K thru 5th.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

Have had children at Middletown for 6 yrs. now and can say nothing but positive things about the school. Have had experiences at three other elementary schools in Jefferson county and Middletown soars above the rest. With award winning teachers, an accredited advance program, great school activities, high parent involvement, and an outstanding principal, we couldn't ask for more for our kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

I have had three kids at Middletown in the last 10 years. I've seen lots of changes, positive ones. Ms. Holladay has been a gift to the school! It's a caring community school with a great PTA and lots of parental involvement. WE are now an AP school. The teachers truly help make Middletown Great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

I was apprehensive about sending my only child off to Kindergarten, especially since she is so afraid of new places and people. The staff, teachers and PTA at Middletown immediately made her feel right at home and she has been thriving there every since! I was amazed at all she learned in Kindergarten!! And I have found millions of opportunities to get involved and be a part of the school. It offers a very welcoming environment, pleasing to both students and parents. I would HIGHLY recommend Middletown Elementary to ANY child who wants a jump-start to their accademic career!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

I've had three kids at Middletown for a total of eight years and counting. I've been always been favorably impressed with the academics, special areas, and extra-curricular activities and all three of these continue to improve. I am grateful that the district has now designated Middletown as an official AP school, and that the school is flexible enough to work with kids of all abilities and backgrounds academically. I really love all of the extra-curricular offerings; I've had kids in scouts, chess, academic teams, soccer, choir, technology program and other programs and they have, without fail, enjoyed the activities and found them enriching. The faculty and staff are excellent, and the parents too are active and involved with the school. I'm often amazed at the number of things the PTA accomplishes. Put all this together and you really get an overall feeling of community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2005

This is an excellant school. After moving from Florida during the middle of shcool, my kids were made to feel right at home. The teachers are wonderful and go that extra mile!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2005

Middletown Elementary has high academic ratings. It is a 'Rewards School' and an official Advanced Program school. Each classroom is wired for Internet access. Hands on mathematics, orchestra, band, Spanish, problem solving, quick recall, student chosen enrichment classes, the YMCA Childcare Enrichment Program, Early Childhood Head Start Program, Advanced Program, 4th and 5th Grade Student Council, Extended School Services, student produced WDOG broadcasts, and an Accelerated Reading Program are but a sampling of the many programs and academic enhancements afforded Middletown s student body. Middletown is fortunate to be supported by a strong, caring and involved PTA. Parents have generously volunteered their time as classroom tutors, and room helpers as well as serving on School-Based Decision Making committees and the SBDM Council. Visit www.middletownelementary.org for further information.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

I am very happy with the education that my children havereceived/are receiving at Middletown. I am pleased with Ms. Patty Holladay and her staff. They make working with the school a pleasure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2005

This is a great school. Other child at other school in area. This is the far superior school. Great Pricipal in Patty Holladay. Wonerful, knowledgable teaching staff. Very responsive administative staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2004

My daughter had an excellent kindergarten teacher, Ms. Lana Thomas. We participated in many of the PTA/School activities. She was chosen to be in a third/fourth grade advanced class, but the structure and attitude of the teacher didn't work well. The new principal wasn't responsive, so we decided to move her to another school. Since Middletown does not have an accredited advanced program, we found another school in our district that does. Our daughter is thriving in her new public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2004

We struggled with the decision to send our kids to Middletown, Hite, or Greathouse. I'm fully confident that we made the best choice for us. Although middletown does not have an official AP program, they have separate classes geared toward advanced students. Our son participated in this and is moving on to middle school with excellent test scores. Dont be fooled by just comparing avg test scores. Middletown's overall scores may be lower than some schools but they also have a larger % of at risk students than some other east end schools. Middletown also has a sense of community that cant be beat, active parents, and caring teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2003

i went to middletown as a student. i am now in high school and still remember what a positive influence middle town had on my life.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 54% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 49% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 47% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
56%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 59% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
55%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 36% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
34%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students54%
Female44%
Male68%
African American40%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disabilities43%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students52%
Female46%
Male61%
African American37%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities29%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students61%
Female68%
Male55%
African American48%
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities47%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students68%
Female70%
Male67%
African American38%
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities41%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students62%
Female66%
Male59%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilities53%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students71%
Female68%
Male75%
African American38%
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities59%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students65%
Female72%
Male60%
African American30%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilities38%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students59%
Female65%
Male54%
African American26%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities38%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Social Studies

All Students70%
Female74%
Male67%
African American35%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities38%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students50%
Female70%
Male33%
African American22%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilities31%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2011.

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2011.

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
53%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
48%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 81%
Black 29% 11%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 1%
Hispanic 5% 4%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

218 North Madison Ave
Louisville, KY 40243
Phone: (502) 485-8300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Hite Elementary School
Louisville, KY


Holy Angels Academy
Louisville, KY



Maryhurst
Louisville, KY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT